We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Stella Hotel to your Saves list
Stella Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pefkos Main Road, Pefkos 851 07, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Pefkos
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Recently stayed at the Stella apartments, 1st August to the the 16th. Its a great family environment, rooms are basic but cleaned daily by very friendly staff. The bathroom in particular really impressed us, there was a bath with a brand new shower and spotless toilet, sink and tiled floor. The pool area was great, (get down early and put your towel down if you're staying by the pool the whole day!) there is a small children play area and water slide too. Stella is located right in the midst of the very tame and family friendly 'strip' with a reasonable supermarket, pharmacy and cafe seconds walk away. The pefkos main beach is beautiful, not too great for snorkelling though as not much to see. Really recommend glass bottom boat, (20 euros each.) you must visit Lindos, (10 minute drive from hotel) lovely journey through the mountains. The beach is lovely - but sun beds pricey. It is a very touristy place but, has a few shops and donkey rides. Overall, pefkos is cool place to visit. Not lots to do, but great for a relaxing pool/beach holiday with the family. You need to get Air con, (50 euros something a week, but worth it.) temperatures are in 40-50 degrees in July/August. Very hot. A few tips: 'Pefkos by night' is a bar where you catch the public bus from to Lindos or water parks. Turn right as you leave the hotel and keep walking to the end of the strip, then you'll find the bar. Have a great holiday and enjoy Stella!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    107
    38
    9
    4
See reviews for
83
148
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I've just returned from a 14 night holiday at the Stella Hotel in Pefkos and thought I better do a review on it.
Most people do the best points first and then the bad points. I want to be different and do the bad points first.
The ONLY bad point is that the British guests have now decided to do what we have always accused the Germans of, They're out a silly o'clock just to get a sunbed! The pool opens at 8am and they come out at 6:30am. That's the bad point
Now the good points
1. Central in Pefkos
2. Opposite the taxi rank
3. Close to everything you need
4. Stella, Joy and the rest of the staff are fantastic
5. The cleaning staff work their backsides off to make sure the apartments are clean (I should say spotless!)
I agree with "Hayl1" about Lardos. Kiim got it wrong and she was extremely apologetic when I saw her after the 19th July. No one can blame the rep for 27th July as the locals had gone to celebrate a local saint 2 nights previous. Memories in Lardos made up for the 2 failed Greek nights anyway.
Finally, if you want a great day out. Go to Lardos Go-karts. 2nd biggest track in Greece and well worth the 25 Euros for 20 mins!

Room Tip: USE THE AIR CON! the 185 Euros for 2 weeks PER unit (€200 for both) are definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonypandy, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I agree with fifitot about the bar being a bit lifeless.we couldnt see much of a happy hour! Disappointed no snacks served after 2pm as stated in the apartment guide. However jasmine bar opposite has really nice snacks jacket spuds lush. Stella very clean inside and out. We also had trouble getting sunbeds as we like to have a lay in on our hols until 9 ish. Our rep told us in welcome meeting on the 19 July that a greek bbq night was taking place in the next village of Lardos and is only there once a fortnight. We went paid 16 euros return taxi plus 10 euros for drink in a bar in Lardos only to be told it wasnt on! We told our rep Kim who admitted she had date wrong and it was the following Friday the 27th July. Again went only to be told it wasnt that friday either. We now have a Thomas Cook complaint form. Cost us a lot of money in taxis and drinks in a bar when we could have stayed in resort. We were there 18 July to 1 August.

Room Tip: 3rd floor lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penzance
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was our second visit to the stella and didnt disappoint. Previously visited in may 2010 when i must admit it was far easier to get a sunbed. We visited from 18th july -1st aug, and if you wern't up and reserved a sunbed by 8ish you wouldn't get one till nearer the end of the day , but thats fine if you fancy using the pool after you come up from the beach. We alternated between the beach and the pool and i hate reserving sunbeds but it was a case of if you cant beat them join them i'm afraid! someone next to us had reserved sunbeds and didnt come and use them until 4.30pm when there were plenty of free ones by then!!There is no entertainment at this hotel but all you needed was to have a lovely refreshing cocktail before you went off to eat in one of the many,many restaurants ( Cocktails two for 6 euros in happy hour 6-8pm). One major advantage for me going this time of the year was that there were no mozzies around apparently too hot for them! I'm sure if you are about to visit this hotel shortly you will have a great time, pefkos is great!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have just returned from our family holiday to Stella Hotel, Pefkos. Having visited many Greek Islands, I was pleasantly surprised by the excellent apartment at Stella. Large bedroom with dressing table and wardrobe, and plenty of space for clothes storage. The two beds were in the main room, together with a small table and chairs. The kitchen was very well equipped with everything you would need, if you wanted to cook, including microwave and toaster.The maid service is most excellent with very frequent changes of bedding and towels. The aircon was 185 euros for two weeks and it really is a necessity at this time of year, July. The temperatures were mid 30's to 40's, even nights were very hot. The pool is a little on the small size for this hotel which has been extended in 2004, but there are plenty of sunbeds and brollys.Quite a few sunbeds were 'bagged' early with towels but this does seem to happen where ever we've been. The bar served a good English breakfast which we enjoyed on several occasions. Drinks and snacks were also served. The beaches are within easy walking distance, Lee beach being the main beach, there is a beach bar at one end 'Flyers', a lovely shady spot, Thomas beach is next, no beach bar, and my favourite, Plakia beach, the furthest to walk, but still only about 10 minutes. This was a sandy beach, gently shelving, with some rock pools. Also a beach bar at one end. All the beaches had sunbeds and brollys for 8 euros. Pefkos is one of the quieter villages, but has plenty of restaurants all serving good food for a reasonable price. Not so many shops though, mainly supermarkets. The one we found just up the hill from Stella was slightly better prices than the Stella supermarket even with the 5% discount and sold tasty pastries. The trips appeared to be all the same price, and that was quite expensive. We took a taxi to Lindos, 8 euros( the taxi park right outside Stella), approx 15 minutes away, well worth a visit. Also there is a free bus to the waterpark that leaves at 09.15 from the bus stop 5 minutes walk away. The waterpark is well worth a visit, especially if you have teenage boys, as we do. The entry fee was 20 euros, food and drink very reasonably prices inside. There is an excellent bus service, we took the bus to Glystra beach, just beyond Lardos. The only downside was the return night flight home but we were able to keep our room until midnight for an extra 35 euros, which was well worth the money, although there was a courtesy room available.

Room Tip: block 4 and 5 overlook the pool, and the sea in the distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Have just returned from the stella this morn after 2 weeks, felt i should write my first review as have never done before but this holiday was quite mixed feelings for me!

Firstly i'll start with the positives....the apartments themselves are great, far better quality than you find in most greek islands, fully equiped for a selfcatering hol, nice and spacious and the power shower was delicious after a day at the beach! the air con was expensive 185 euro for 2 weeks and not the best quality, but you cant not have it with two kids (8 and 5) in a sticky room when the temp at midnight is still 36degrees! the cleaner worked her socks off, lots of bed changes, fresh towels etc so that was a def plus!

Now for the apartments negatives i'm afraid! The staff werent the friendliest we found unless you bought lots of drinks, but to be honest the 'bar' was hot, boring and had absolutely nothing going on, we asked to book the bbq that was advertised, and they said nothing like that was being done anymore, i feel thats half the fun in greece when you can join in with other guests with some sort of hotel entertainment! The sun beds, OH MY GOD what is wrong with some people, we watched with great annoyance as the same culprits got up at 7am, reserved there beds, then strolled down at 11, we got 1 sunbed the first day at 830 after asking for someones spair one, after that we couldnt bear it, we watched 1 woman, reserve 5, reserve another 5, come down 2 hours later, and decided which she preferred!! Really is a pet peeve and was the same everyday as we walked thru to better pools!The kids pool was an adults pool for reading as far as we could see, so my 5 year got tuts on the first day for coming down the slide and splashing! The pool as many before have said is tiny but if you see the photos it was originally built for half the apartments, we counted 42 people in it, uve got no chance of swimming and its boiling by 12!
We took ourselves off to the colisieum pool up the road, massive, ice cold pool, massive kids pool, friendly staff and friendly people to be fair, we met lots of other disgruntled familes from our hotel there who felt the same! The beach was the other way we spent our days, sooooo gorgeous, we fed fish with bread, caught crabs in rock pools, 8euros for sunbeds, but money well spent!
Eating out was good, the two brothers is excellent, the brothers were lovely, saw us out and about always friendly and the food was delicious. Loved artemis too, very good food!
Our favourite bar was zig zags, Savvas is lovely and the blueberry vodka is a must! The wild west bar was fun too as kids got to dress up!

All in all, loved pefkos,so much to do, lovely restaurants, bars and people....the stella was a bit of a disappointment, it lacked a warmth i've usually experienced in greece, we would definately go back to rhodes but wouldnt stay there our faces didn't 'fit' i felt, but if your the sort to reserve sunbeds, spend all your money in a souless bar, you'll love it ;-) yammas!!

Room Tip: ask for a high room at front, the view over the sea is dreamy and breezy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Returned from Stella Hotel this morning (4.10am ouch!!) and I'm already missing it!! The hotel is pretty basic, however it really does have everything you need and more. We were checked in quickly and given directions to our room, which was up a great slope and could be very tiring on a hot day, but it's all good exercise! We were pleasantly surprised by how spacious our studio was, with two twin beds pushed together so there was lots of room on those boiling nights. The air-con is a standard price and you really do need it because temperatures do not drop much on a night! The kitchen facilities were great; fridge, microwave, toaster, hob, sink and plenty of cupboard space. We were also on a corner plot which meant that we had a lovely big terrace to sit out on!

The pool is fairly average and a bit on the small side for the size of the hotel but it was still a lovely environment and a much welcomed cool down when temperatures reached 40 degrees! There are plenty of sunbeds and despite coming down to the pool around 12ish everyday we almost always got two sunbeds with an umbrella. The poolside bar serves decent food and drink and isn't too expensive, which is good because water is a must!

The hotel is right on the mains strip of pefkos and a short trip from restaurants and bars, especially Enigma (our favourite and a MUST) and about a 10 minute walk to the beach.

We also had a late flight at the night and we were able to use the courtesy showers and toilets to get ready in which is an added bonus.

Room Tip: I would ask in advance for a room close to the pool with a sea or pool view. This means that you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Hotel

Address: Pefkos Main Road, Pefkos 851 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Pefkos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stella Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Stella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Hotel Pefkos, Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.