We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pefkos Blue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pefkos Blue to your Saves list
Pefkos Blue
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pefki-Lindos, Pefkos, Greece (Formerly Dimitris Studios Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Pefkos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I would go back in a heart beat. 13 of us went in August 2013 for a wedding and it was amazing. Very thing about the holiday was fantastic but the hotel was the best thing. Gorgeous views, great pool/bar area. Yep it's at the top of a steep hill but it was fine even in 40c heat, get a taxi for €4 euro if you can't hack it ;) plus you don't get views like you do at Pefkos Blue without a hill. Every time it looked out of my balcony I said "wow". The 2 brothers who work there are a bit mardy but who cares, I wasn't on holiday to see them.
A very clean, well kept hotel. I wouldn't go anywhere else in Rhodes

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    43
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
94
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed in the dimitris apartments in Aug for my best friends wedding.
Pefkos as a resort is a family based resort, lots of lovely restaurants differing in price massively starting from as cheap as €10 for 3 courses to €10+ for a main meal.
The few bars that are doting between the restaurants are quite relaxed, with a special mention to the Palm Cocktail bar - service exceptional, staff made an extra special effort with us each night (especially as we was a large group). We was a mixed group if couples an friends aged 25 to couples aged 40+, throughout the night we would work our way down to eclipse an Pefkos by night for a bit more of a lively atmosphere, some nights it was very quiet which was shocking as it was mid Aug.
Money wise - we eat an drank a lot an spent a lot of money, drinks aren't cheap an you won't find any happy hour's or cheap drinks deals!!
So the hill, walking down of an evening was fine an a nice way to build up an appetite. In the day in Aug, I'm not gonna lie it's hard work working up is hard an becomes annoying paying for a taxis when you can't be bothered.
If there was a supermarket up the hill it wouldn't be so bad. But as people have previously mentioned the views you get are unreal an to die for.
Yes the hotel rooms are billy basic, but the grounds which the hotel is set in is perfection. The pool is great, not massive but big enough for the people staying, we never had to get up early for a sun bed.
The brothers at the hotel were great an treated us really well, the bar was well stocked- the food they served was ok, not the best but good enough for a hangover.
Lovely holiday an nice family hotel.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

"Welcome to the Dimitris Studios" you'll hear when your arrive, well, I say hear hear, but I really mean, you'll arrive to find a hand written note on a blackboard with rough directions to your room. After you manage to find your, shall we say basic room (which I'll come to later), it would be nice to go down to reception or the bar to check in and grab some food. After travelling all day and finally arriving thirsty and hungry, this seems like a wonderful idea, until you find that the bar/reception/food place/information bit closes at 9pm, it's actually open from 9am-9pm. This being absolutely annoying if you don't know where you are and haven't had anything to eat or drink for ages. I can imagine this being a disaster for family's with children. Anyway we managed to find our way into Pefkos centre and grabbed some food and have a few pints. We read a review about Dimitris/Pefkos Blue being at the top of a nasty hill and some people nicknamed it "cardiac hill", this isnt the case, to get up the hill with relative ease, you must be super-fit and do about 20 tri-athlons a week or climb mountains for fun or possibly be Sir Ralph Finnes!
Anyway, on returning to your room for a shower or freshen up, the shower is powerful and does what it should do, which was nice. Maybe get some sleep or have a snooze, you'll soon find out that, sleeping ontop of one the cats you have to wade through to get to your room, will be alot more softer and comfy. Using an iPad for a pillow will be about the same as the ones provided, being that thick and soft!!! I hear you say, "why don't you get a spare one from the cupboard?", well, the rooms ammeanites are another story. For example, they supply a spare blanket for the bed, a blanket is quite tame considering this thing could keep a family of Eskimos sweating in sub zero temperatures, hardly the kind of thing you need in hot weather with warm nights. To counter the warm nights why not use the air-con, at an extra cost, that's only if you find anyone that works here to get it switched on!!!!
You wake to find, probably, the greatest thing about staying here, the view. It is spectacular and even better at sunset, if youre staying self catering, you may want to try and cook yourself and family some breakfast, this is fun. We we're provided with the very basics you may need. Plates, knives & forks, bowls, cups, a kettle, a saucepan and a frying pan (made from superglue!). Unfortunately all there is to cook on is two electric rings that are so small you can't use both pans at the same time, rings that take so long to heat up that it's better to leave your food on the balcony and let the sun cook it. There's no microwave or oven and the fridge doesn't know if it wants to be a fridge or freezer. By the time you've tried cooking and hopefully not failed, you could always walk down to the pool bar and grab some food from there. Pre warning you that if you go there in off season, they will not have any ingredients and probably just offer you chips!!! Any way, speak to the lovely two brothers that own the place if you want some information and just a drink. There so helpful that you might even get a nod or if you're really lucky "hello" might magically pass from there lips. Myself, being quite a friendly chap and will generally talk the hind legs of a donkey, managed to have a thrilling conversation with them. We actually got a "good morning" from them, that's it unfortunately it though. The bar is advertised as being open from 9am-9pm, this however is not the case. Everyday the bar/kitchen was opened anywhere between 9:30am and 10:30am. They then decided to close the bar/kitchen at any random time, sometimes 2pm, sometimes 6pm! This is a real pain when you would like some food, a beer or just a bottle of water to cool down. We would of complained to the rep but his schedule was by appointment only and there was no phone number. When checking out of the room on the last day, we came to find the bar completely closed and impossible to get a bottle of water or anything.
A short slide/hazard walk down "Mount Road-to-Pefkos" you'll find Pefkos village, this is a lovely, lively and friendly place with many trendy bars and restaurants. All of the locals working here are very friendly and helpful. The prices are all similar from bar to bar or restaurant to restaurant, eg a pint of local lager costing €3.30 ish. A meal for two with drinks being around €20-€25. there's plenty to choose from, traditional Greek, steaks, chicken, salads, burgers, Chinese, Indian etc etc. a short slope further down are four different beaches, to hire a couple of sunbeds and parasol for the day is about €6. I found that the various bar/cafe/ pool places are very nice. The pool and sunbeds are free to use and you can grab some nice food and drinks there too. You can purchase various national and international brand foods from the supermarkets dotted around, however some basics can be a bit expensive. These supermarkets also sell cigarettes, beer, wine and various nic-nacs for gifts etc. there some nice jewellery shops, some sell official merchandise ie Pandora, Ice Watches etc and handmade greek bits. You can also find all the fake brands, like Ray Ban sunglasses for €6!!!! 
This is a review at the end of the season so they were getting ready to close the hotel but we should of still received the same service as someone in peak seseason.
All in all it was a fantastic honeymoon/holiday. The only thing that let it down was coming to this hotel out of season, the service you receive is very poor. In peak season I've heard and read reviews, that this place can very good. Hopefully I'll never have another honeymoon, but if I did or just wanted another holiday, I'd defiantly come back to Pefkos, but, unfortunately, a different hotel. 

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Also known as Pefkos Blue. We visited in Oct 2013. It is a really peaceful location with clean rooms and good essential facilities (kettle, mugs, cups, glasses and bowls) - although we only made breakfast (tea and cereal!) because of the great restaurants close-by. Pool area appears clean and is very picturesque. Bar food was good and not too expensive. Only negative was a 10 minute walk up hill from the town and just under 10 minutes walk from the beach to town.

Small Supermarket close; but also down the hill.

Used Lindos Rent-a-car; 70 euros for 3 days for a small Hyundai (versus 115 from tour operator that was a special offer!). Marathon prices were also lower and cars seemed newer than Lindos.

Best meals were at Terpsis and Hellas Garden (next to each other); cost around 35 euro for 2 starters and main meals with 0.5 litres of house wine. Georges was also good. Can get 3 courses for 8.90 euros but quality is pretty poor.

Best trip was to Prasonisi, Rhodes Town and Lindos. Visited many beaches/resorts but Pefkos was the best one for us.

There are stray cats all over Rhodes; including in Pefkos.

Room Tip: New block and not on the ground floor seems the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 8 nights at the end of Sept/start of Oct. We booked four weeks before our travel date, through the Dimitris Studios website. This was for a superior room and breakfast was included. For 8 nights, it was 200 euros each. We booked flights with easy jet and used resort hoppa for our transfers (very reasonable prices. 1hr 25min to resort from airport)

On arrival to Dimitris Studios, the first thing that strikes you is the well maintained gardens and the view over the sea and nearby resorts. We had requested that our room was not located on the ground floor, but presumably the upper rooms were already booked out as our room was indeed on the ground floor. We were the farthest of the three low rise blocks. The other two blocks are for Thomson customers (air con at a price and no breakfast)

Our room was classed as superior but we could see into other rooms and they all looked the same. Our air con was included and we did use it. Room is fairly modern (my second time to Greece, I stayed in Zante before and Dimitris rooms more modern) Two hobs (only one seemed to work) kettle, fridge, hairdryer, tv, balcony, airer, safe and one little shower gel. As a previous reviewer commented, two single beds pushed together but this is quite common in Greece.

Big balcony overlooking the bay and it was lovely to watch the sun set every night. Bed linen was changed once, towels changed every couple of days. Shower gel not replaced. We walked down the hill and had a wander around Pefkos. Booked dinner at Kyma (reviewed seperately. Highly recomended) for the following night.

On our first night we ate at Dimitris Studios, right on the hillside with the lights twinking in the distance. I had cod, my girlfriend had moussaka. Tasty meals, reasonable prices.

The accomodation is off the main road, so very quiet at night. We had breakfast every morning from 8-1030. Fresh bread, eggs, ham, cheese, cake, greek yoghurt and honey. It was the same every morning, but suited our needs and we never got tired of the view!

The pool area is well maintained. We never had to fight for sun beds. The clientele were nearly all older returning guests. One family with two young boys, but they did not disturb the peace. The pool is pretty cold, but again maybe its a Greek thing. I still managed to get in it!

Bus stop 30 seconds from the accomodation. We used it for a trip to Lindos and also to Rhodes. The staff at Dimitris have timetables, but the buses were often busy and not running to time.We hired a car from Marathon for one day. Lovely lady in the shop, on the main route in Pefkos. 25 euros for a car for one day with aircon. Lindos cars a few doors down were going to charge me 40 euros!

We paid 9 euros each for the BBQ at Dimitris on the sunday night and had massive plates of food and a big salad. Well worth it. We enjoyed a meal at Terpsis (will review separately) in Pefkos on our last night.

The hill into Pefkos causes problems for some people, but for us it was fine. 10 min into Pefkos and some street lights.

There are A LOT of kittens/cats around! Neither of us are cat lovers...the kittens were cute but we never encouraged them. At breakfast they were at our feet and trying to climb up our chairs. Of an evening they would follow us back to our front door and try to dash in! They looked well kept but we just ignored them for the most part. The owners have a dog and when they had it in reception it was on a leash and tied up.

The room suited our needs, someone came in everyday and changed the bins/made the beds. However it was pretty clear that the floor never seemed to be cleaned. That, alongside the no refilling of the shower gel are my only criticisms. Nothing a brush and a mop can't rectify.

Ice creams/cold drinks are for sale in the bar, although all available cheaper at the little supermarket halfway down the hill on the left.

We tried to go to the water park one day and along with several others, waited for the (free) waterpark bus. However they had rain in Rhodes according to the driver and so the park was shut...even though it was sunny in Pefkos! Just be aware...

All in all we really enjoyed our stay here. We have a policy of not returning to the same place twice as it is a big world out there! But I would make an exception for Dimitris Studios!

Room Tip: All have stunning views. Maybe an upper floor would prevent the cats from trying to enter the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Having stayed in many Hotels during our life ,from basic B +B's, to one of the finest small Hotels in the world (not kidding). The Dimitris Appts or Pefkos Blue Hotel as it is branded now, should hold their heads up high.We stayed for three weeks in September and the Brothers and their staff were superb,never pushy but always available to any of our needs.
The food quality and presentation is of a high order,from breakfast to evening meal we were never left wanting,and prices were on a par with restaurants in the town.
I will not go into detail about the rooms or pool etc, as others have covered these in detail.
Just to show their attention to customer service ,we reported the hair dryer in our room not working one lunchtime ,when we returned a couple of hours later it had been replaced.
For a three star property ,you cannot go wrong.Five star service throughout.Give yourselves a pat on the back boys,you deserve it.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 109 and 110.Possibly the best views of all the rooms ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dimitri's in Pefkos.
We had one of the older rooms on the ground floor, and found that being on the ground, the local cats would sneak in if we left our balcony door open, and they'd share our breakfast if we ate on the balcony (to our surprise, a cheeky kitten stuck his head in half a melon on our first morning :D) I loved watching them and getting cuddles sitting on the balcony though, so cat lovers should ask for the ground floor ;) (Just make sure you eat your breakfast inside and close the door!)
It was reasonably priced for both the apartment and for food and drink prices at the pool bar, and the staff were friendly and welcoming.
It was cleaned with the bins took out every day, and the towels and sheets changed every other day, but they were happy to give you more if required. The apartment itself was spacious and the only (very minor) grumbles I had was that the kettle was a bit old-fashioned and very slow, and there was no wi-fi in the rooms themselves, although it was available free at the nearby pool bar.
We booked via Thomas Cook so would have had to pay extra for aircon (we didn't bother) and a late room had we wanted one, but it wasn't needed as the staff were happy to keep our suitcases behind the bar for us until we were collected by the bus.
The hill is do-able but tiring, it took us around 15-20 minutes to walk it, and it cost 4.50 euros to get a taxi though so we just got one back most of the time, so just factor that into the cost if you think you'd use it- the location is beautiful with a fantastic view and it's lovely and peaceful so we thought it was worth it.

Room Tip: If you're a cat lover, ask for the ground floor as you'll make some new friends in the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pefkos Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pefkos Blue

Address: Pefki-Lindos, Pefkos, Greece (Formerly Dimitris Studios Apartments)
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
#9 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pefkos Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pefkos Blue (or Dimitris studios,as our visitors used to know us) is a beautiful property set within it's well tended gardens. The spacious apartments are well equipped with everything you may need, and the friendly hosts will ensure that you have a most enjoyable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pefkos Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimitris Studios Apartments Pefkos
Pefkos Blue Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pefkos Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.