We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A laidback paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norman Carr Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Maclear
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Norman Carr Cottage
Save
You added Norman Carr Cottage to your Saves list
| Monkey Bay, Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A laidback paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Staying at Norman Carr with fantastic hosts Jenny and Taffy was the highlight of my trip to Malawi. The rooms are great; outdoor shower is fantastic; food is amazing; service is impeccable views are out of this world; and the balance of activities and leisure time is perfect for a relaxing get-away. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
37
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

What an amazing discovery - a gem!! Taffy and Jenny have created a unique experience which is both idyllic and relaxing. We loved our cottage complete with the outdoor shower and comfortable bed with the mossie net (never actually saw one). All our meals were great and all staff were pleasant attentive. The good ship Alfie, the resort "steamer", provided the escape from our otherwise tranquil day with the daily "fish eagle feeding" and sunset cruises. Both were fabulous experiences with amazing photo opportunities provided by the majestic eagles, not to mention the opportunity to explore your own aquarium by snorkel, and the brilliant sunsets. Fancy a G & T whilst watching the sunset? Try riding a "noodle" on the lake with your G & T. Well Taffy and Jenny G & T's will certainly bolster your bravado!! We also just enjoyed the casual stroll along the shore which also gave you a perspective of the lives of the locals. We thoroughly enjoyed our few (too short) days in Taffy's and Jenny's paradise and have no hesitation in highly recommending Norman Carr Cottage to others!! Thanks Guys!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

And there it was, we had just returned from the sunset cruise on 'Alfie' having enjoyed a platter of delicious canape with cold white wine. The open air (but private) shower was a welcome pre-dinner freshen up. I happened to glance up thinking that a nosey monkey might be watching only to have the milky way shining down on me! I had returned for a second time, this time with family to enjoy a fantastic 5 days with the hosts Jenny and Taffy. I can only say that they are some of the most attentive hosts ever experienced - wonderful food, custom made furniture, superb views and just so relaxing. One of the biggest plus points is that you don't have to travel on the awful dirt road to Cape Maclear if you want to stay in the area - just come here instead!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We spent wonderful days here and felt home from the first second.
Clean and well appointed rooms and a superb beach as well.
We had such a good time out on the boat, spending the day at the beach.
Food is fantastic and we barely couldn't stop eating.
Couldn't have chosen better with excellent staff, always with a smile, helpful and so friendly! We happily recommend this place to anyone and would love to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

If you're looking for a relaxing and idyllic weekend, look no further. After half a day the owners make you feel like you're old family friends, and the quiet beautiful beach can't be beat. Plus boat rides and all delicious meals included at a good price!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

This place is truly heaven, for many reasons. The natural scenery, the feel of the buildings and rooms, the food, the drinks, and on top of all: the staff and the two owners, Jenny and Taffy.

The words 'hurry' or 'stress' may have their equivalents in the Chichewa language, but it sure does not feel like it at Norman Carr. After almost a week in Malawi, including a stay in Lilongwe, a safari trip, local transport (crowded minibuses) and a stay at a small village in the middle of nowhere, arriving at Jen and Taff's place was completely mind blowing. It is a place that makes you mentally (and physically) sit back and enjoy the tranquility of the place and your own existence, with a whisky soda in your hand at the beach side deck, with a reed hat and a book in one of the sunbeds or hammock chairs, or napping on the huge beds in the lush, delicate rooms. Enjoy!

Room rates were 66/88 USD (depending on room class) at the time of our visit, incl all meals but excl drinks.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Jenny and Taffy will make you most relaxed at this lodge which has to be one of the best kept secrets in Malawi. The rooms are decorated in African stylle with comfortable beds and outdoor bathrooms. Meals are simple and delicious always with plenty of wine and beer on offer. Best of all was the included boat trip on 'Alfie' to see the sea eagles and sundowners which seemed to last all night!

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norman Carr Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norman Carr Cottage

Address: | Monkey Bay, Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park > Cape Maclear
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Cape Maclear
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norman Carr Cottage is situated on the southern lake shore of Lake Malawi, in the beautiful sheltered bay of Namakoma just 15km from Monkey Bay. A gentle and restful place where we promise you a memorable Malawian experience. You will be left with fond memories of this charming African country where time stands still, the pace is gentle and the scenery is stunning. Malawi has much to offer, sun drenched beaches, turquoise waters, abundant brightly coloured cichlid fishes, great for snorkeling and diving. Discover the magic of the open air aquariums which the southern lake shore is renowned for. We offer daily trips to various dive sites and remote islands for snorkeling and to experience the joy in the flight of the fish eagles ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Norman Carr Cottage Hotel Cape Maclear
Norman Carr Cottage Malawi/Cape Maclear

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norman Carr Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.