We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach away from the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norman Carr Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Maclear
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Norman Carr Cottage
| Monkey Bay, Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi   |  
Hotel amenities
Lusaka, Zambia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beach away from the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had the privilige of visiting Taffy and Jenny's Norman Carr Cottage in Monkey Bay Lake Malawi. Firstly a big thank you to Taffy and Jenny for the hospitality!! They made our trip a very pleasant and memorable one. They were accomodating to our every whim and we thouroughly enjoyed having the freedom to plan our schedule on the fly without being boxed in by a set schedule.

Scuba diving (in Cape Maclear), snorkeling, swimming, sunset cruising, sun bathing, fish eagle spotting. All this in the middle of September. We were fortunate enough to have fantastic weather.

Rooms are spacious, clean and tidy. The outside shower is a nice treat, although I suppose that it is not for everyone. The dining area is right on the the beach and affords a beautiful view of the vast expanse of water. Sundowners are served on the lake courtesy of Alfie, the resident boat. And unlike any other lodge we have visited the boat stays out until after sunset.

A special mention should be made about the food. Compliments to the chef! Full english breakfast, refreshing luncheons and a peaceful dinner (in true South African style).

Thanks again! If we get another opportunity we will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
31
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

When my partner and I arrived at Norman Car Cottages we were on our last legs with exhaustion after 3 full days of partying at Lake of Stars 2011, which I must say for any die-hard festival goers out there, is one to tick the box! We had just enjoyed the delights of authentic African music, with Freshly Ground a South African group providing a truly entertaining performance. So it was with great relief when Taffy came to pick us up at the end of the road in a fully air-conditioned car. We received a warm welcome from Jenny, Taffy’s wife and were introduced to their lovely staff. On arriving the difference to other lodges we had stayed at during our 2 ½ weeks in Malawi was clear to see. You were met by lush green gardens and the bright blue waters of Lake Malawi. It was just perfect, with your own sun loungers and chairs; it was like having your own desert island. Our room was huge, it had a front living-room space overlooking the lake were you can relax and unwind with the adjoining bedroom at the back, providing the best mosquito net we’ve had. The outdoor shower room added that unique touch of style and luxury. The whole decor was to a very high standard indeed. Throughout our stay we had the pleasure of two daily trips on Archie (they boat) one in the morning for snorkelling and the other early evening to watch the sun go down. We were provided with 3 excellent meals a day, which by the way was the best food we had in Malawi! Norman Car is very well equipped to cater to all your needs and more. All members of staff know what their supposed to be doing at all times, we definitely received 5 star service, nothing was too much trouble. We could say 100% if your thinking of going to Malawi, it’s a essential to make Norman Car one of your stop-offs. Taffy and Jenny and all the crew many thanks for making our stay with you guys one to remember for all the right reasons. What stars! If you go, please send our regards...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed here for two nights in October 2011. From the moment I arrived until the moment I left the atmosphere, service and food were amazing.

I arrived in time for lunch and then spent the afternoon on the private beach (which was about 20 metres from my bedroom) enjoying the views over the lake.

The bedroom was extremely comfortable with a king-size bed and a luxury outdoor private shower in its own garden which was great.

The food was really delicious throughout the whole of my stay (for example on the first night it was steak in a pepper sauce with roast potatoes and vegetables followed by a generous slice of banoffee pie - there was more than enough for second helpings!)

One of the great features of this cottage is their private boat which will take you out to watch the sunset over the lake and also for private snorkelling trips each morning. The fish are really colourful and snorkelling in fresh water as warm and clear as this has to be experienced.

Most of all the welcome you will receive from the owners (Jenny and Taffy) is fantastic, welcoming and extremely hospitable.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Lake Malawi. I'd love to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I returned three weeks ago from am amazing trip to Malawi and am still wishing I was there! We spent the last 3 days of our Malawi trip at Norman Carr Cottage and it was a highlight of our trip. Jenny and Taffy are lovely, friendly, charming and hospitable hosts........ You get a real sense of Malawi when staying at Norman Carr but also the feeling that its an exclusive, private beach resort all to yourself. The rooms are beautifully decorated, very chic, comfortable with lots of African touches. All of the rooms are no more than 100 yards from the beach and just a few steps more to the beach. Sundowners on the boat (named Alfie) as well as snorkelling with "Captain" Crispin. The team at Norman Carr are lovely, friendly and very helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The food was just delicious, amazing in fact. We ate well over the two weeks we were in Malawi but this was definately the best! We wished we had booked to stay for a week at Norman Carr, didnt want to leave when it was time to go and want to go back again soon!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We only had a stop by for lunch (and some needed help on how/where buying diesel). The owners did everything to make us feel welcome (even if they knew we wouldn't stay), we got use of a room to freshen up, had an excellent lunch (view on the lake) and some very good advice ! We just regretted afterwards not having included it upfront in our trip in Malawi. We can imagine that you can have a wonderfull time at this place, so make sure to include it, if visiting Malawi, in your itinerary !!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed here while visiting friends in Malawi during July 2010. They raved about Norman Carr before we arrived - and as we drove up the track we immediately knew why! Stepping out of our jeep we could see the Lake and realised that it was literally 20 yards from where we would sleep to the water's edge.

We stayed for 3 or 4 nights and enjoyed heading out onto the lake each night for pre-dinner drinks and a swim in the Lake.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Staying at Norman Carr with fantastic hosts Jenny and Taffy was the highlight of my trip to Malawi. The rooms are great; outdoor shower is fantastic; food is amazing; service is impeccable views are out of this world; and the balance of activities and leisure time is perfect for a relaxing get-away. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Norman Carr Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norman Carr Cottage

Address: | Monkey Bay, Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park > Cape Maclear
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty lodging in Cape Maclear
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norman Carr Cottage is situated on the southern lake shore of Lake Malawi, in the beautiful sheltered bay of Namakoma just 15km from Monkey Bay. A gentle and restful place where we promise you a memorable Malawian experience. You will be left with fond memories of this charming African country where time stands still, the pace is gentle and the scenery is stunning. Malawi has much to offer, sun drenched beaches, turquoise waters, abundant brightly coloured cichlid fishes, great for snorkeling and diving. Discover the magic of the open air aquariums which the southern lake shore is renowned for. We offer daily trips to various dive sites and remote islands for snorkeling and to experience the joy in the flight of the fish eagles ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Norman Carr Cottage Hotel Cape Maclear
Norman Carr Cottage Malawi/Cape Maclear

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norman Carr Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Norman Carr Cottage to your Saves list