We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms not well set up for staying a week” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Skradinski Buk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Skradinski Buk to your Saves list
Hotel Skradinski Buk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burinovac bb | Skradin, Skradin 22222, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skradin
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Rooms not well set up for staying a week”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent a week here recently as part of an activity based holiday. So we had wet suits and other gear to dry etc. The rooms at the hotel are appallingly small - and the windows open inward and knock you on the head as they protrude over the bed (if you elect not to use the noisy air conditioning). I have never seen such a poorly designed window system in a summer location hotel. There are no balconies in most of the rooms and a single room is just that - a single bed...and the room is barely wider. Perhaps the hotel was designed in the Soviet era but it is not a good place to base yourself for a week. The staff were nice, Skradin is a nice little town, and the eating area (the outside one anyway ) is pleasant, but it is more suited to a two night stay to see the waterfall than to a one week vacation.

Room Tip: Not sure there is any to give...but request a balcony if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
21
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked this hotel on the basis that tour companies use it therefore it must be ok. How wrong we were! We had a one bedroom apartment that was allegedly big enough for four. The rooms were tiny, the door to the balcony did not shut fully, the cutlery had not been washed up, the shower door did not close resulting in a flooded bathroom, there were missing tiles on the 'kitchen' wall, the list goes on.... The apartment had clearly had no checks or maintenance carried out for ages. If you booked the buffet breakfast then don't be late or there will be nothing left and nothing was replenished. Would not recommend the apartment side of this hotel. Cannot comment on the individual rooms.

Room Tip: Don't book here!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my partner. It was allocated to us by our travel agent because we were on a week-long adventure package with Huck Finn. As a result of this I didn't do a huge amount of research on it beforehand. It was literally to be a place to sleep between activities. Thankfully, it surpassed all my expectations and was truly a charming little place with the friendliest staff. The location was great with a number of small bars, shops, restaurants etc literally a stone's throw from our door (it is a tiny town of course). We had a double room on the 3rd floor. There isn't an elevator so if stairs are an issue maybe request a room of the 1st floor, otherwise suck it up, it's not the Empire State Building after all! Our room was very spacious and clean. The interior is basic but it did the job for us so I can't complain. We were up and out early everyday and back in the evening so it was just a base for us. That said we had plenty of room, the bed was super comfy and we had a lovely balcony to sit out on too. Fresh towels were provided each day and linen twice. I think it was room 301, to the front of the hotel. Our sleep quality was good...apart from the early morning crows of the local poultry! We stayed on a half board basis as part of our package and I couldn't fault it. Breakfast was a standard holiday buffet. Breads, meats, cheeses, cereal, yogurt, eggs, bacon, juice, tea, coffee etc. They usually left out a few sweet treats as well that were left over from dinner the night before and we enjoyed these a lot :-) We had a choice of three options every evening for dinner. Two meat and one fish option and vegetarians were also catered for. They do amazing soups which we devoured after long days hiking and biking. Lovely little salad sides, delicious mains and deserts. Great wines, cool beers etc. Aside from all that I have to say the staff were faultless. They were kind, attentive and friendly always. I've stayed in a few parts of Croatia and the staff here were by far the best I've experienced. I would highly recommend this hotel and would love to return some time in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

gave us a room on the second floor - no lift and so had to hump the suitcases up two flights of stairs. Asked for a double and got a twin, a very small twin with kid sized beds. Went back to reception and after a bit of negotiation we were given room '307'. Fortunately room 307 was next door to the previous room, so we found it easily enough, but all the signs in the hotel finish at room 306, and when you reach 307 you notice there's a paper sign on the door with the number on it - whereas all the other rooms have posh brass plates. Anyway, room was much bigger and much nicer. Again very clean.

We stayed B&B and I have to say the breakfast wasn't brilliant. Continental breakfast, which is fine, but all the croissants had gone within the first hour of opening and they didn't replace so we had to make do with bread and jam. Poor choice of cereal, cornflakes (I think) and a type of coco pop.

Would I stay again? No - in Skradin there were scores of apartments advertised, as low as 10 Euro a night - I'd pick one of those instead.

Room Tip: I think they're all very small rooms. If you are infirm you should ensure they have a ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My 2 chilren and I stayed here whilest on an adventure holiday with Huck Finn, the room was basic but very clean and had everything we needed. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and spoke all 4 languages required in our group. Food was excellant and always had something to suit everyones tastes. Will definately be returning as beautiful village and had the best holiday ever .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel four times now as I have a boat in Skradin marina. I love it . The people are the friendliest and helpful people I have ever stayed with anywhere in hotels all over world
the breakfast is great the room are spotless and the price is very reasonable for what you get.
having owned a hotel in USA for 12 years only thing I would say is put one euro a day on he price to cover internet and make it free. I have found that people expect full internet service as part of the price nowadays. Other than that.... perfect.

Room Tip: dont know only stayed in a single room which always by definition is small ( but adequate)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a comfortable, convenient hotel with a multi-lingual and helpful staff. They have well maintained rooms with A/C and wi-fi in the lobby. Nice self-serve breakfast with a variety of foods. There's no elevator but there's free and plentiful parking right next to the hotel which is a plus in Skradin which can get a little hectic. Take note of the bullet holes in the wall of the building next to the parking lot, a reminder of the political realities in this area in the 90's.

Krka Park is a real delight to explore with the 2.5 km walking trail mainly over wetlands of the river plus the ethnographic/historical displays. Not to be missed if traveling by car are the Manojlovac Slap (waterfalls) about 30 km north of Skrakin on the west side of the river off the road to Knin. There's a pull off on the right side of the road with a path between stone walls (well what else in this area) that leads to the falls. Also in this area are the Burnum archeological sites from the Roman era which includes an amphitheater currently being excavated. There's a small but very interesting museum on the east side of the river at the top of the hill on the road to Drnis. This area is part of Krka Park so you can use the same day tickets as for the more popular areas to the south.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Skradinski Buk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skradinski Buk

Address: Burinovac bb | Skradin, Skradin 22222, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Sibenik-Knin County > Skradin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skradin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skradinski Buk 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Skradinski Buk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Skradinski Buk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.