We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keith
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Hotel and Restaurant
Save
You added Royal Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   3 Star | Church Rd, Keith AB55 5BR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Keith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very comfortable and homely.Staff great and nothing too much trouble you only have to ask
and they do there best to provide what u want even an ironing board
We stayed at the royal for our sons wedding and it was perfect from start to finish.
Food always available and the breakfast was superb everything u wanted and again you only have to ask and you got

Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful stay.

We'll be staying with you again .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
14
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Attended a wedding here at the weekend. Could not of wished for better service, the hall was beautifully set and the food again was excellent as usual. The waitresses were all very smart and quick and polite service. They couldn't of done enough for us. Keep up the good work girl

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We enjoyed a most wonderful meal at The Royal Hotel last night. Went there to celebrate two family birthdays & an anniversary & could not have made a better choice of venue. Goat's cheese starter & sweet potato with a hint of chilli & coconut soup served with warm bread rolls - delicious! All mains were selected from the Specials & simply could not be faulted. Cumin-spiced rump of lamb with minted couscous & pomegranate; salmon served with a Marco-Pierre White ketchup & spring onion sauce and a beautiful selection of perfectly cooked vegetables with a special timbale of mashed potato; special roast fillet of beef served on a bed of double rosti cakes & topped with a slightly melting blue cheese & butter, accompanied by a deliciously dressed salad with exquisite-tasting shoots & herbs around the plate - the beef melted in the mouth & was one of the best steaks I have ever had the priviledge to eat! Although the portions are always large, the temptation of the mouth-watering menu saw us also order a couple of desserts! A lemon & lime cheesecake cream with berries & crumbled ginger biscuits - simply sublime! Also a cheeseboard with a generous selection of cheeses, oatcakes & crackers & fruit - always my husband's favourite! We enjoyed wine with our meal - a tasty tipple at a very reasonable price. The staff were friendly & worked hard to look after all the customers but a special mention is due to the owners of the establishment who were both working in the dining room & bar area to ensure glasses were topped-up & that the meals were to everyone's satisfaction - GREAT customer service - thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here one night - 6th July, after attending a function in the hotel. Room looked ok to start, but closer observation noticed paint off the wall, no plug where the kettle was situated, had to put kettle on floor next to bed to switch it on, no hairdryer in room and no Gideon's Bible. No information booklet about hotel either. Bathroom had only one little shelf behind sistern, nowhere to hang clothes or towels, a double hook on the door and a towel rail wouldn't break the bank surely. The lock on our door was held in place with one screw and was not exactly secure. My husband is unable because of health problems to lift and carry our suitcase, and while I was struggling downstairs with the suitcase, the gent sitting in reception looked up from his mobile phone and just said "Aye aye" and didn't even offer to help at that stage or when we had to go down steps to get out the front door (could not use the side where a ramp was because that door was locked)!! Having read several reviews which said the was a "great hotel" and to quote the hotel's own site" Our Hotel offers all the amenities of an upscale hotel" I would really have to disagree!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place is a must , right on the main front ,so easy to find.Parking at the back of the hotel or at the side. Through the front door up the stairs and turn left . you will be greated and seated drinks orders etc and menu . we were seated in a long lounge area ,cool and plenty off space The food came quite quickly after ordering and wow it looked good and tasted lovely .( we had the roast ..,mealt in the mouth)The prices are excellent. The waiting staff are all very helpful and the chap behind the main bar was most intertaining ,with good humar,and ideas to what to see things and places to visit in the area . this place is a local favorite ,and as they say ,",eat where the locals eat and you will not go far wrong "

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My family and myself stayed one night at this hotel. The staff and management were very friendly and very helpful. Evening meal was of a very high standard. The same with breakfast, it was the best we have tasted. Everyone else we spoke to were also very happy. We have no complaints and will definitely return.
The Gray family

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My daughter and myself stayed here just for one night and we would definitely stay again if we returned. Our experience in Scotland was that people have been so welcoming and friendly and this hotel was no exception. The staff couldn't do enough for us. The room was clean and comfortable. I have to say how outstanding the food was, the dinner was amazing and so fresh. Breakfast too: I only wanted poached egg on toast and got three! You could tell they were free range :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 3 Star | Church Rd, Keith AB55 5BR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Keith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Keith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel and Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel was built in 1883 and is situated on the main A96 equidistance to Aberdeen & Inverness. The hotel has been refurbished to a high standard. We have 20 bedrooms all of them boasting beautiful en-suites. Tea & Coffee making facilities & TVs in every room. The hotel is an ideal base for golfing, fishing, shooting, visiting whiskey distilleries & simply for sightseeing some of the magnificent views along the Moray Coastline. The Hotel's Restaurant is known as the best place to eat in the surrounding area and boasts an award winning Chef who produces quality dishes not only for the refined dinner but the more hearty eater as well. The Hotel offers full conference facilities suitable for small or large groups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel And Restaurant Keith, Scotland, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.