We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gli Aragona

Gli Aragona
Via Garibaldi, 323, Zafferana Etnea, Sicily, Italy
+39 095 709 3514
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $21 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Woking, England
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

At first glance Zafferana looked shut, even the restaurants, we then came across this little oasis and had a very good freshly prepared lunch at a good price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    49
    21
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Small town find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were driving down from a fog shrouded Mount Etna in the early afternoon with The Daughter acting as wheelwoman navigating a lot of squiggly roads and were REAL hungry. Passing through a few small villages we learned a lesson: Italians in the country do not go out to eat lunch - there were no restaurants which were open. Lots of pastry shops/tavola calda joints but that's not what we wanted.

Finally we reached Zafferana Etnea and on the way out of town we passed a not very exciting restaurant and in the course of doubling back discovered Gli Aragona which is located right next to the main church on the town piazza. The Daughter's parking karma secured a spot right in front and in we went.

There were only a few tables occupied with other travellers in a 70 seat restaurant so service was very quick and efficient. We shared a crostone funghi e mozzarella to start - mushrooms and mozzarella on toast. Served piping hot. As we were not hungry enough for a full Italian lunch we just went on to the pasta course with The Daughter taking a linguine cacio e pepe - liguine turned in cream and pepper with a pumpkin sauce while I opted for a panzotti pistacchio - ravioli in a cream pistacchio sauce with pancetta - both fantastic - well presented and cooked to perfection. Check out the pictures.

The place bills itself as a ristorante/enoteca and as such there was a huge selection of wine. We had a Nero d'Avola from Fina with our lunch and The Daughter bought a bottle to take home

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great pasta and yummy lamb chops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A very pleasant place with friendly staff - some english spoken - and a good menu. I had the lamb chops on a bed of mashed potato, and Mrs Dub had pasta with porcini.

Both were excellent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A special thought for this restaurant and its kind staff!! Me and my colleagues spent a nice evening together. The food was excellent and the price fair. I recommend it to anyone visiting Sicily; it is undoubtedly one of the finest restaurant in Zafferana Etnea!!! Thank you very much for the unforgettable dinner!!

Lory. London

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good local food & wine on an excellent spot in Zafferana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

First of all, this restaurant is very well situated in the centre of Zafferana.
Also, the staff is so friendly.
We had primi and secondo piatti. Primi were really really excellent. Very tastfull!
My secondo was somewhat less in quality as rhe gamberoni came out of the freezer, which was mentioned on the menu however.
The waiter advised us a very good wine.

I would definitely come back here!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gli Aragona also viewed

Zafferana Etnea, Province of Catania
Zafferana Etnea, Province of Catania
 
Zafferana Etnea, Province of Catania
Zafferana Etnea, Province of Catania
 

Been to Gli Aragona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gli Aragona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.