We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaci delle Terre Nere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Monaci delle Terre Nere to your Saves list
Monaci delle Terre Nere
Via Monaci snc, 95019 Zafferana Etnea, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

this is a beautiful hotel though it feels more like a "home", passionately run by Guido and his team. They are unfailingly helpful. the food and wine is all local (much from the grounds) - and excellent. I cannot speak highly enough of my experiences there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    19
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
20
97
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at the Monaci delle Terre Nere for four amazing nights. One way to describe the place is "rustic elegant." My husband and I have never been to Sicily, but have been to various places all over Italy. Our trip to this part of Sicily was part of a surprise trip to celebrate his birthday. We were in Rome for a few glorious days and flew to Catania for another 4 nights. Sicily, for us, had its share of many surprises. We rented a car with GPS and driving around this part of Sicily was quite an adventure to say the least. In retrospect, I would've been more organized and brought my own maps of the area. The GPS is not a reliable device, especially in the little towns and driving at night is not ideal if you've never done it before. The location is great as you can explore Taormina, Mt. Etna, among others. But you can easily stay at the Monaci and enjoy the tranquility and calming ambience this place offers. We stayed in Suite Amabile which is in the Main House and had a fantastic bath tub which we used everyday. One of the things that sets this place apart from anything we've experienced is the food. We ate dinner here every night and every single meal was fantastic. Heard some comments on this board about vegetarian-only meals, but we certainly had meat entrees for dinner so this must be a recent change. Breakfast selection is great. There's an abundance of fresh fruits (I especially loved the persimmons), cheeses, breads, eggs, honey, etc. The owner, Guido, is very knowledgeable, not just about farming but also about food and wine. His wine selections for our meals were spot-on and his passion for this place is nothing short of infectious. We had an opportunity to chat with him about his plans, including opening a pool in time for the summer as well as adding more rooms/suites. It's quite impressive that this place has only been open for about six months. We normally like to try out many other places in the world, but having experienced the Monaci first-hand, we are eager to come back. Guido is a gem, and Monaci delle Terre Nere is truly a treasure.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite Amabile and loved it. The view of Mt. Etna greeting you every morning is glorious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far Hills, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Many thanks to Guido, the proprietor, designer and fabulous energy behind this brilliant hotel. I am sad to report that I only had (3) evenings here - had I known how splendid it was I would have spent my entire (10) day trip to Sicily here. The Villa is warm, charming, exotic and modern. The villa is set off the slopes of Mt. Etna with views of the mediterranean sea and surrounded by a glorious farm. Villa Monaci is well situated for days trips to Catania, Taormina and the Noto Valley.....Hats off to Guido, he has restored a great property with faboulous integrity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We took long roads in Italy ,end of summer 2012. One of the highlights of our trip was our one night stay in the dreamy spot: Relais Monaci delle Terre Nere.
If you wish to feel your are the king of your world, you are seeking peaceful moments, unity with nature, breathe air and feel sky , ocean, volcano and trees are united with you, stay there. Amazing host and lovely team, give you a feeling that you are in a friends house, more than staying in a hotel...the organic food give you different experience : cream de la cream...
The view is amazing, the state is lovely, the renovation of an old architecture was done very well with respect to keep the character of the building, the room that we have stayed was unique..Don't miss the opportunity if you are passing by Etna..I am recommending it to all my friends who are heading to South Italy, to experience DIFFERENT stay...

Room Tip: The Special Suite was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The little hotel is a nice old house,the staff is very friendly,but when it rains the stay is not so enjoyable!
The price is too high for the quality of the services offered.We were not satisfy about the surroundings,except for Etna volcano.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monaciterrenere, Owner at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Former Guest,

All of us at Monaci delle Terre Nere are disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations. It is our ideal to create a unique and silent escape from the Twenty-First Century on the 18th Century Estate that is Monaci delle Terre Nere. We have therefore decried televisions in the rooms and instead recommend a wonderfully dark and rich bottle of wine from the foothills of Mount Etna to while away the occasional rainy day that may blow in from the sea.

As you know, the estate looks down over the Mediterranean and sits with its back to the majesty of Mount Etna and whilst most days it bakes in the Sicilian sun, very occasionally the red volcanic earth is able to drink down some rain to nourish the 40 acres of vine, citrus and olive trees that form the backdrop to our hospitality.

Whilst it is disappointing for rain to fall on a holiday, I assure you that if seen as an opportunity to explore the wonderful vineyards and restaurants of the surrounding area, that rainy day can be transformed into a day of pure self-indulgence and delight.

We are constantly striving to improve our service to our customers and by the start of the new season in 2013 we shall have built an amazing swimming pool overlooking the Mediterranean and will have joined forces with a fantastic new chef to bring all of our wonderful organic produce to the table in unpretentious natural creations that allow the vegetables to sing of their origins in the very grounds surrounding your table, kissed by the Mediterranean breeze and nourished by the rich dark earth of Mount Etna.

Do not let one rainy day colour your perception of our beautiful estate. Our friendly staff hope to welcome you back and to continue to strive to provide you with the experience of a time long since passed where the only sound is of cicadas singing their love song to their unknown mate amidst the silent caresses of the breeze on the citrus trees.

Kinds regards from Sicily
Guido Coffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have been there at the end of our trip in Sicilia, and what a surprise ! Everything was perfect : the rooms , the food (experience the best wine of Sicily), and the welcome from all the team.
The view was spectacular, this is an heaven place !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This brand new hotel has a spectacula view of both Mount Etna and the sea. As soon as you walk into the reception area, Guido Coffa, the owner, offers you a glass of wonderful Sicilian wine. It sets the stage for a relaxed and pampered stay at a beautifully restored and updated villa. Guido and his team have excellent taste and the common rooms and guest rooms are all a design savvy blend of the old and new. The art on the walls is fabulous. There is an environmental consciouness that is in sync with the organic vegetables growing in the fields and the wondeful vines, orchards surrounding the villa. Breakfast is amazing. Dinner is a vegetarian feast. There is a horse who wanders freely on the property and you can hear roosters in the distance. I can't wait to return for another stay at this magical place.

Room Tip: I stayed in a suite in the main building with a view of the sea and a balcony. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaci delle Terre Nere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaci delle Terre Nere

Address: Via Monaci snc, 95019 Zafferana Etnea, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Zafferana Etnea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2007, by chance, I stumbled upon this place, fell in love with it and decided to devote my life to its resurrection.To bring this place, previously chosen by the monks of Saint Anna’s order for his special energy and extraordinary charm, back to life. It has become the second great project of my life. The estate Monaci delle Terre Nere is situated along the slopes of Mount Etna, the biggest volcano in Europe on the border of the Etna National Park at 500mt above sea level. My wish has been to preserve the historic identity and local traditions, more than a Boutique Hotel it is a home which I hope retains its intimacy. The house which dates from 1800 is listed as one of historical importance. It is now a place where traditional Sicilian Architecture is combined with contemporary art and living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Monaci delle Terre Nere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaci Delle Terre Nere Zafferana Etnea, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaci delle Terre Nere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.