We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Port Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Port Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Port Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quai du Ponant, 11430 Gruissan, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Gruissan
Stevenage, Herts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Convenient and clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Hotel port beach is conveniently situated for all amenities in Gruissan. It is located on the port, but in close proximity to the beaches and the old village. A range of restaurants and bars are situated close by. The hotel was clean and well decorated. The air conditioning was necessary as the window was in the full glare of the sun in the mornings. The road traffic meant that we needed to keep the windows closed at night. We didn't use the restaurant or bar so are unable to comment on those amenities. However, the staff were helpful and pleasant and were able to speak to us in English.

Room Tip: choose a room on the port, rather than the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    19
    9
    11
    9
See reviews for
13
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Port Beach in June 2013. The manager and reception staff were rude when we asked about the wi-fi and refused to allow us to store our luggage behind the desk while we waited for our transport. We were told the hotel was booked and there was no space available. However, our observation revealed the luggage area to be empty around 3-4p that day when guests were expected to arrive. As previous customers have stated, we had to wait for our room to be "prepared" until 4:30, but it was obvious the room had not been used in several days by the musty odor. The rooms were not full during June, yet we were told they were. My traveling companion and I both observed a hostile exchange with the receptionist and a family checking in as she was rude to them also. The attitudes from all staff appeared to descend from the management model of: "I don't really care." The one exception was a young woman, Lucy. She was polite & went out of her way to assist us when no one else would, (even the manager.)

Room was very small and outdated. Nice view of the harbor though. Breakfast was only "fast food" and too expensive. Internet service was free but not user friendly.

There are so many beautiful & friendly hotels in Gruissan, do not waste your Euros on this one!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbor view. This hotel is NOT on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for one night in August, arrived early at noon and enquired if our room may be ready. We were told absolutely not and we should come back at 4pm. We (myself, husband and a 3 and 5 yr old) were tired as had driven through the night, but went of to get something to eat. Returned around 3 and asked if the room may be ready yet - again told no. so we waited in reception for a hour. At 4pm we were told the room was now ready. When we got to the room and opened the door it smelt musty, it had obviously not been used for a few days or perhaps weeks (we booked the family room (Quintuple Port) with a 3 single beds upstairs and a double downstairs) i would imagine it does't get booked often. While the room was adequate, we were disappointed that we were made to wait 4 hrs for the room, when it obviously could have been given to us earlier.

The room was reasonably clean, but dated decor, dated furniture and the air-con barely worked.The hotel was not busy at all and the staff couldn't care less.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A very pleasant stay. The room was very modern and painted a very pleasing purple which is unusual for a hotel interior to be quite so bold, but we loved the room. Gruissan seemed a lovely place but I don't feel we got to see enough of it. There is free parking next to the hotel and the waterfront behind yields restaurants and a very pleasant post-dinner stroll which was very welcome after I'd eaten a large kangaroo meat mixed platter at one of the restaurants (which was delicious by the way) opposite there is a wine makers outlet selling some great wine for good prices, not unusual in that area of such splendid terroirs. Can't fault this hotel one bit. Perhaps a tad pricey but I'm quite tight.

Room Tip: Like purple and you'll be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

This hotel claims to have 3 stars but is really worthy of only one. The corridors are so dull and dark it is unreal. Carpets stained and dirty and rooms dull. Views across the port cannot be seen unless you stand at the window and look out. Car parking should be free - there is a large car park attached to the hotel and everyone arrives by car, so it makes a mockery to charge for parking. Overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011 via mobile

Now called Port Beach hotel. Needs freshening up, everything is extra and expensive. No flexibility from the staff. This cannot be a 3*! But charges 3* rates

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

I wish I could say something positive about this place, but it isn't possible. The staff is remote, to say the best. Everything else is worse than that. Dont stay here, if you can help it.

  • Disliked — their policies and the awful staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Port Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Port Beach

Address: Quai du Ponant, 11430 Gruissan, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Gruissan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Gruissan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Port Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Port Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Port Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.