We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Traditional Alsacien Ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de L'ile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau de L'ile to your Saves list
Chateau de L'ile
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Quai Heydt, 67540 Ostwald, Strasbourg, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ostwald
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Traditional Alsacien Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel looks like a countryside Chateau of Alsace with spacious and nice ground. Tradition ambience. Very helpful and friendly staff. Great breakfast spread. Well appointed but small bedrooms. Top quality and fully supplied amenities. About 20 minutes by car to The Strasbourg Cathedral.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    69
    33
    17
    6
See reviews for
33
109
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over a long weekend with our two teenage daughters. What a wonderful three night stay! We were upgraded to the Duplex suite, which was very, very nice. The suite has two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a large living room on two floors. The Chateau is pet friendly and we brought our dog with us.

We booked the half-board package and thoroughly enjoyed all of our meals. The breakfast was quite good, with fresh-baked pastries and breads. We also loved the fresh yogurt. Dinners in the Winstub were quite good. We aren't very familiar with Alsace wines so we asked the waiter for recommendations each evening. He made excellent choices to go along with our meals.

My daughters took advantage of the indoor pool, which is very nice. We enjoyed walking around the grounds along the river and seeing the variety of wildlife (muskrats, ducks, and swans in particular). The tram into Strasbourg is about a 10-minute walk from the Chateau, so it's easy to get into town from here.

All of the staff were very friendly and we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Room was lovely, bathroom was great and the staff are very helpful, atmosphere great. food was the only thing that let it down, breakfast was fine with a wide and interesting selection, but dinner was not special, which was a shame, as I'd have given it 5/5 otherwise. Would recommend to a friend, but would suggest eating dinner elsewhere. Overall though I'd stay again.

Room Tip: I'd suggest a superior room, the view was great and it had excellent facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wavre, Belgium
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We discover that place during St Valentin, it was a very nice surprise.... Rooms are pretty, clean and the restaurant is simply fabulous. Very nice diner. There is a very nice SPA and all appropriate massages for a nice and excellent relaxation.
The Chateau is also well situated and there is a very nice garden around. Employees are highly professionals and very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have stayed twice at this Chateau and both times have been completely satisfied. It is a little strange to find as you drive through an industrial estate but the Chateau itself is right next to the river. Unfortunately we have only visited in January but I would imagine it is very beautiful in the summer months. Both of the restaurants serve excellent food and the bar is a verynice area to sit for a drink pre orpost dinner.

Room Tip: We have had a river facing room and a garden room. Both were fine. The garden room had a balcony w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a beautiful property. It needs a face lift soon as it feels tired, but the service is extraordinary. The breakfast has the best options we have seen in a long time, and the restaurants are first rate. It is highly recommended as a base to explore Alsace.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The resort is beautiful, has a nice garden, the rooms are OK, clean, the wellness area is sufficient (if there are not to many visitors). Close to Strassburg, but Ostwald itself is nothing to be visited. Even the chlorine smell some Tripadvisor users were complaining about was not there.
But the restaurant service was able to get me very upset:
- unprofessional, because they don't know how to be kind to customers;
- nothing about French "haute cuisine";
- half board to forget. The second dinner I was there, I became exactly the same menu as the evening before, with a choice between the identical 3 dishes). The unfriendly waiter confirmed, they don't use to change the menu. I tryed to say something, but the waiter just went away, didn't want to listen. I wish, my friends had let me go to the Italian pizzeria 200 meters away...
- bad organised serving breakfast, even if they just serve tea or coffee (the rest is on a buffet table for self service). You can see 6-7 waiters just looking around, doing nothing. It happened to me to wait half an hour before the only really working girl found the time to come, ask and serve hot water for tea.
- inconsistent, you ask for example for a drink, the answer coulb be negative. You ask 10 minutes later another guy, of course it is possible to have the same drink!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateaux_hotels_gef, Responsable relations publiques at Chateau de L'ile, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor.
We note your feedback. However, we are very surprised by your comment. Our customers are usually satisfied with the quality of our staff. It is probably relating to language misunderstandings.
We will do our best so that this situation never happens again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de L'ile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de L'ile

Address: 4 Quai Heydt, 67540 Ostwald, Strasbourg, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Ostwald
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ostwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de L'ile 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Strasbourg, come and discover the Château de l’Ile and its 62 rooms. Enjoy the charm of its service, its restaurants and its spa, in the heart of a beautifully preserved natural area.The Château de l’Ile also hosts your professional and private events in its 12 reception rooms and outdoors in its delightful grounds.Comfort and tranquillity in the heart of the European capital ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Escapio, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau de L'ile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De l`Ile Hotel Ostwald
Chateau De l Ile Ostwald
Chateau De L'Ile Strasbourg/Ostwald, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de L'ile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.