We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special, nothing bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Adler to your Saves list
Hotel Adler
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurze Strasse 15, 71332 Waiblingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Waiblingen
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Nothing special, nothing bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

After having red the comments on this hotel I realize that there must be something wrong with tripadvisor.

There's no reason why someone would judge this place with 1 or 5 points…and open an account only for this purpose…

This is the typical small hotel of this area, with some plus and minus compared to the average:

Plus: it's clean, the personnel is nice and always available, it's in the town center, so you can have a nice walk for dinner or after.

Minus: space (rooms and bathrooms are really small), price is higher than competition, no parking in front, you have to go to a public garage 200m away.

The rest is average, nothing special, nothing bad.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
5
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

I often travel alone and the staff at Adler make me feel welcome and comfortable each and every visit. The showers were great. Set your desired water temp and voila, almost immediately you have it. Water pressure was excellent and hot water plentiful. The rooms were clean and well appointed. Breakfast buffet is generous, appeals to any taste and appetite. The breakfast room is charming, a beautiful view to start the day.
The staff is more than helpful. By way of example, items were packed and mailed for us by a staff member.
Location is in the middle of the old town, and an early town wall is part of the architecture. Who could ask for more? If you enjoy old world charm, this is the place for you. If you want sterile, utilitarian--go elsewhere.

Room Tip: #117 liegt vorne, da ist oft Lieferung usw--hinten im hotel ist es ruhiger. Aber ausgezeichnet in S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I have just returned from a very enjoyable 3 night stay at the Hotel Adler. On arrival we were met by the friendly staff and offered help with our luggage. The double room was on the 2nd floor and was perfectly adequate for a hotel in a town of this size. The room was modern with flat screen tv and the bed and linen were very comfortable. The bathroom had all the amenities that you would require. It was a bit on the small side but no major issue. We enjoyed the breakfast in the morning and there was always a member of staff on hand if you required anything. In fact the staff were very attentive and i would like to thank them on this post.If you want a nice clean hotel in the middle of the town surrounded by a park and river then this cant be beat.
Vielen danke for uns hosting. Bis zum nichten mal

Room Tip: Front of hotel for the town view, rear of hotel for a view of the park and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAdlerWN, General Manager at Hotel Adler, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your 4 Star Review. We always appreciate our guests enjoying their experience and I am especially pleased to read about you enjoying our newly remodeled rooms and Hotel. Thank you also for influencing the behavior of this site that encouraged only negative reviews and suppressed arbitrary positive reviews. If you book your next stay please mention your review and we will surprise you with a special welcome back gift.
Hotel Adler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed two nights here in November. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room good-sized, modern, clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. What other reviewers have sometimes written is total nonsense. It has admittedly all been recently refurbished but I would hate people to be put off by people writing rubbish: they have not even got their facts right - I paid €72 for as good a room as I have found anywhere else in Germany. And of course the location in the heart of the Old Town is perfect.

Room Tip: I had a so-called single/confort room, which I can highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAdlerWN, General Manager at Hotel Adler, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for your 5 Star Review. We always appreciate our guests enjoying their experience and I am especially pleased to read about you enjoying our newly remodeled rooms and Hotel. We hope with our enhancements to our hotel we improve the overall experience and provide even more value to the stay.
Hotel Adler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Reception at the hotel was nice. Room had the charm of a youth hostel. Was clean but cold. Heating was turned off. Took over two hours to get warm. Bed was creaky but ok. Breakfast was basic. Definitely overpriced for what you get. I would not stay again. Sorry to say that.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAdlerWN, General Manager at Hotel Adler, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay. We apologize that you did not recognize the value in your visit. We have recently completed a full-scale renovation in guest rooms, hallways, lobby, and breakfast area. We installed a modern heating system that allows us to provide a comfortable environment and are sorry that you have been unable to recognize that. Our breakfast includes free of charge fresh cooked eggs any style you like, coffee house coffee like cappuccino or café late, to name a few. Our hotel policy is not to provide a plastic fantastic experience. Our furniture is special manufactured for our hotel, antique furniture and decoration since many generation in our family, complete the experience. Highest quality in mattresses with special spinal disc support, highest quality linen and towels are part of the guest experience in our hotel. We always continue to look for ways to add more value to our guest's stay and use feedback like this to improve the overall experience. We are sorry that we have been unable to provide the experience you are looking for.

Hotel Adler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Horrible hotel for high price!!! I absolutely agree with " Noscreep" who wrote long review about this place. Rooms are small and bathrooms even smaller! No staff around hotel after 10pm. Inside hotel looks like hostel! I have stayed in hostels around the world for €50-60 a night in better rooms, and in hotel adler around €100-130 and hostels are much better! Avoid this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAdlerWN, Owner at Hotel Adler, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Competion:

If you have such much trouble with our renovation, the new furniture, new bath rooms, new ammenities like rain shower heads and our new LED TV's, why do you not start a renovation on your own?

We performed our renovation during the month of December 2012 and January 2013.

Thank you for letting us know how despicable competition can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

A poor excuse for a hotel. We were obliged to stay at this poor excuse for a hotel as my son was playing in a tennis tournament nearby and this was the only hotel within walking distance. It is hard to know where to start with all the problems with this hotel. I am not the only one who felt this way, as many other participants who stayed there complained to the organisers of the tournament and changed hotels when they could, as did I at the first possible opportunity.

Firstly, the whole hotel is depressing, run down and down right unappealing. It has no charm or character whatsoever, surprising for a hotel located in such a gorgeous old town. To say that the hotel has seen better days is an understatement The single rooms resembled a monks cell in a monastery - there was no decoration or effort to make the room look attractive. Everything in the room was broken chipped and shabby. The double room where my son and his friend stayed was only slight larger with two single beds pushed together. There was the tiniest space around the beds to squeeze around. Do not believe the photos on the hotel website - they bear no resemblence to reality. Wifi internet was promised, and worked intermittently for the first couple of days - but then broke down and no attempt was made to fix it.

However, the most unpleasant aspect of our whole stay was the woman who ran the place. One could not meet a nastier person in the "hospitality" industry. She snarled at every guest - shouted at two boys when they innocently requested something at breakfast. She also shouted at my son on the phone when she called to see if we were continuing our stay there. As I was busy trying to find another hotel at the time, he was not sure and she was extremely rude to him. We left a charger for a computer behind and when we returned to find it - she could not possibly have been more unpleasant.

One other aspect of this hotel - at night all the hotel staff go home at around 8 p.m. and lock the guests in for the night. There is absolutely no staff around to call on if you have a problem of any kind. Not only is this dangerous - but downright unacceptable.

i have stayed at many hotels around the world - and this is by far the worst one I have ever experienced. If you have to come to Waiblingen for any reason (and it is an absolutely picturesque beautiful town) - make sure you stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: there are no good rooms at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAdlerWN, Manager at Hotel Adler, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a large review.

In direct response to this review we would like to set the record straight.

The Hotel Adler in Waiblingen is a traditional Hotel with a long history and an impressive list of guests. Altough any guest at the Hotel Adler is special to us, an uncounted number of celebrities did select the Hotel Adler. We like to encourage any guest to ask for the "Guest Book" to see who else stayed at the Hotel.

However, the Hotel Adler enforces specific rules and restrictions that apply to all guests in an effort to ensure that all guests enjoy a pleasant stay.

Unfortunatly, these guests did not comply to our minimum set of rules. After receiving several complains from other guests about behaviour, noise level and attitude of these guests, demolishing an expensive shower door, trying to hack into the wireless routers - the Hotel Adler provides 3 Wifi Networks free of charge, a/b, g and n, camouflaging their internet capable devices mac address in order to bypass the mac address block and redirect ports, as well as many other unfriendly activities, there was not much patience left for these guests.

Our pictures on our web site are only a couple of month old, and our rooms are being daily maintaned and cleaned.

We understand that these "guests" are not the right guests for our Hotel and don't even care about their fellow guests. Altough it is not our responsibility to change behaviour and attitude of such guests, we politely ask them to be kind enough to select another hotel in the future.

In our effort to provide for each and every guest a pleasant stay, we look forward to welcome any guests who appreciate our Hotel, service and ammenities.

Hotel Adler
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adler

Address: Kurze Strasse 15, 71332 Waiblingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Waiblingen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Waiblingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Adler 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of the 1100 years old City Waiblingen, before the gates of Stuttgart, you'll find our modern hotel directly located in a historical building at the park Erleninsel nearby the citizen center and public swimming pool. Hotel Adler rooms are a cocoon of well-being in the heart of the city. Snuggle up to our bedding, which includes generously sized pillows and down comforters, a high quality back supporting mattress for added comfort.The plentiful tradition of the building invites you with it's special flair. You'll awaited by Swabian hospitality and amenities of a hotel.In the center of the 1100 years old City Waiblingen, before the gates of Stuttgart, our modern hotel is directly located in a historical building at the park Erleninsel nearby the citizen center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.