We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location but food lets the hotel down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe to your Saves list
Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Petit Bas Vent, Deshaies 97126, Guadeloupe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Deshaies
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely location but food lets the hotel down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hotel is beautifully situated on a small but clean beach, with a good size pool nearby. Plenty of umbrellas and sunbeds available. Rooms are basic but clean with a small fridge (useful for stocking with water - there is a supermarket in Deshaies - but a car is essential - see further comments below). No kettle so take your own if you need tea! Staff are friendly and helpful and speak several languages.
The hotel is let down by the food. The quality of the evening buffet is appalling (hot food stone cold, coffee tastes like dishwater) and vastly overpriced at €30 per person. Even breakfast was not that good, with a very disappointing selection of fresh fruit and, again, awful coffee. Much better to eat in Deshaies, where the food was invariably excellent and better value (menus e.g. at €10-€15 per head). However, you will need to hire a car to do this as the bus service is sporadic and does not run late in the evening; the hotel does not offer any kind of shuttle service. The Plage de La Grande Anse, just five minutes drive away, is great for lunches (restaurants are not open in the evening). In the evening, restaurants do not serve dinner prior to 19:00. Don't bother to dress up. It's all very casual.
There is very little to do at the hotel itself (parents note, the kids club was closed all the time we were there) and advertised events (e.g. aqua, zumba) frequently just don't happen. A car is also vital to explore Basse Terre, which is well worth doing.
It is advisable to book excursions before you leave home, otherwise you will find ( as we did, when we tried to go whale watching) that they are already full and no effort is made to put on extra trips.
On a broader note, if you are flying from London and transferring to the Guadeloupe flight at Orly, beware. Orly is a nightmare. It may be a small airport, but it takes ages to get through security; allow at least 2 hours between your flights if you can. Staff are unhelpful and the whole process - which should be simple - is inefficient, hugely stressful and slow.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    185
    91
    44
    16
See reviews for
109
224
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
devon england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We are currently staying in st francois guedeloupe which we are finding lovely along with all other areas and the people. We however wanted to travel to basse terre so thought it best to stay a night we picked fort royal and booked through an agency.We arrived around 4.pm to the sound of a Zumba class! Not really our thing but hey it was only 1 night.We were told about all the things on offer including free wifi which failed to work and was met the following day with a shrug of the shoulders.we decided to eat at the restaurant which is canteen style the choice was ok but you felt the young staff wanted you in and out and really could not be bothered. the restaurant was supposed to be open until 10.00 pm but by 9.00 all the drinks were packed away at the front bar ready to close down this is in no way because we felt we were wanting more just the fact we felt "get out we want to finish work" a hotel is only as good as it's staff and the young staff's attitude was not that found in other local restaurants. When we returned to our room my wife was immediately ill seems like we should have gone local after all ! Following morning went to have a shower water was all off in truth was back on in 20 minutes but not so good if you needed it in the toilet as we did the previous evening ! We checked out later and mentioned to receptionist about our problem with the evening meal she spoke to the manager behind the scenes and came back with nobody else was I'll so tough you still have to pay. hospitality is all about meeting and exceeding customer expectations a simple face to face acknowledgement from the manager is all it takes. Would we recommend the hotel ? No the facility is ok the staff and catering not the hotel could be so much better .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We spent two nights here, the bedroom had a great sea view. The room was spacious, very clean and the beds were very comfy with nice bedding! The staff were friendly and welcoming! There is a nice pool bad pool bar which serves a range of drinks and not badly priced! The hotel and grounds were clean and well maintained! The breakfast was nice and a wide choice of buffet! We also had dinner in the restaurant for the two nights of our stay, the food both nights was buffet style, the food was tasty and fresh and a lot of choice but not much local food or specialities, which is a shame! The hotel arranged a taxi for us at the end of our stay and they used a taxi they regularly use, and the taxi was reasonably priced, arrived on time and drove very sensibly, and it took the hassle out of return journey to the other side of the island, this is a great service! The hotel is positioned right by the sea and has a small beach, there is public transport and a bus stop at the top of the drive way to the hotel, but a hire car would beneficial to make getting around easier! All the staff speak good English and are friendly and helpful!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Best location right on the beach, good service and nice food. We really enjoyed our stay, and the children loved the water sports facilities. Good combination of relaxation on the beach with activities and excursions.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My husband and I had a truly wonderful time this past week. We are off to another part of the island for a few days and this will be tough to beat. Our visit started off with a problem (a broken air conditioner that was a breeding ground for mosquitoes in our room). I was very badly bitten but desk manager Cecile stepped in and assigned us to a different room that we liked even better than the first one. That saved the entire trip and we had an amazing time, with very little contact with bugs for the rest of the trip.

The setting of the hotel is incredible, with beautiful water and vistas. Our second room faced north and we loved the unspoiled view and beach below. While the hotel is large, the well-designed layout provides lots of small seating areas so we never felt like there were too many people nearby. Every night the beautiful sunsets were different.

The website makes the place look a bit more posh than it really is, but everything is clean, with good simple design, and the kind of weatherbeating that one would expect in a tropical location with a lot of wind. We enjoyed the very European feel (different than standard American amenities). While we did not encounter any other Americans, the staff spoke very good English and were very kind about our attempts to speak French.

The swimming pool is a perfect length for swimming laps (about 25 yards) and the water is wonderful though the sea is so perfect, I only used the pool twice. The temperature of the sea is cool enough to be refreshing but warm enough to stay in for long swims--very clear and a beautiful color. We enjoyed the hotel beach which is in a protected cove and also ventured over to La Plage de la Perle which is lovely and also has nice options for lunch.

We had the breakfast only package which suited us well and we drove into Deshaies for dinner each evening. We found great restaurants, our favorites being La Savanne and La Kaz. The last night we stumbled across a Carnavale parade which took over the town and was great fun.

The activity highlight of our trip was the four-hour snorkle expedition to a shipwreck and a coral reef. Our friendly captain (French with an Australian accent and vocabulary to match), Brice, gave us and the others on the boat an exciting ride across the water and a chance to swim in several different locations. We saw birds, fish, coral and water of such amazing colors.

We found the hotel to be a great value. It seemed like a good place for families with young children as well as the more adult crowd. For Death in Paradise fans, you will see that the series captures the charm of the area quite well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed at Fort Royal during Christmas and New Year. If you're thnking of travelling during this period New Year's Eve is a must but you can skip Chrismas. New Year is fantastic with the fire works but Christmas was nothing special.

Stayed in a bungalow with garden view and shared terrace (we never used the terrace so it didn't bother us that we shared it). A nice room with a small but clean and lovely bathroom.
Four tennis courts and you can borrow rackets and balls for free at the reception.

Most Swedes and French that stay's at the hotel.

The food was very good. Breakfast is served between 7 and 10 am (most of the guest eat between 7 and 8.30). You find bread, cheese, bacon, egg, fruit, yoghurt and much more. Lunch is served 12 to 3 pm and all of the days except sundays (creol buffet - NOT GOOD) it's a la carte which is very good and if you have all inclusive you can choose main course + dessert. Dinner is served 7 to 9.30 pm and it's buffet except on New Year's Eve. The food was different every day at dinner time. Always something you liked.

There's a bar at the beach where you also can but pizza and panini. The food at the bar is not included in the all inclusive. If you have all inclusive following is included:
Breakfast
Lunch (main course + dessert)
Dinner (buffet)
Drinks that are included (all day) is cocktails, Amstel (beer) and white, red or rosé wine of the house and of course non alcoholic beverages.

We rented a car during our stay. Europcar is located at the hotel reception but we rented at Hertz. They have an office 100 m from the entrance of the resort. We paied 310 Euro for 7 days and I think Europcar wanted around 360 Euro.

Basse-Terre is the green island and it rains one time every day (for about 10 min). There are a lot of waves outside the hotel so I wouldn't recommend to bath in the sea for small children, there is a pool and a kids club for small children (rom 3 years). The beach disappeared in the beginning of December 2013 due to a storm so the wide long beach is not there any more unfortunately. If you want a white sandy beach drive to Sainte-Anne and the beach La Caravelle at Club Med. There's a lot of people but very nice beach and no waves.

Room Tip: Stay at a bungalow and not a room at the hotel. If you choose a bungalow at the beach be aware that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We found most hotels and resorts to be quite expensive in Guadeloupe, and Fort Royal was one of the most expensive (we paid just under 1500 euros for 8 nights. Sea view room with breakfast included). Because of that you expect great value for your money, and we felt that we did not get that. The hotel looked like it hadn't been updated since the 90s and could need some fresh paint here and there.

The room:
Our room with a sea view was big with a small empty fridge. The queen size bed was very comfortable. The sea view was nice, but we regret not getting the room with the balcony (was + $10 pr night). The TV was small (ours broke and we got a new and bigger one) and only had two english speaking channels (CNN and ESPN). It would've be nice to have more english speaking TV channels. The bathroom was nice. The walls were a bit dirty and needed a bit of fresh paint.

The beach:
The hotel's location is superb, right on the beachfront with it's own "private" beach. You can borrow a sun bed, which was nice. You get one beach towel for the duration of your stay. It would be nice if you could get a fresh towel every day as it is very humid in Guadeloupe and it takes ages for clothes and towels to dry. If you lose the towel you have to pay 25 euros.

The food/buffet:
We liked the breakfast buffet. Good selection, although they we're slow to refill when it was empty.

We did not have lunch and dinner included so we went to the grocery store (about 10 minutes drive) to shop. We did try the dinner buffet a couple of times and we were not impressed. The food was often overcooked and the selection wasn't great. We went to Deshaies to have dinner (10 minutes drive).

The staff and services:
The staff were nice and friendly. They spoke english, swedish and french.
There is a car rental on site (we did not use this as we rented a car at the airport). They also offer a very expensive shuttle service to and from the airport (it takes about an hour to drive) 140 euros per person return. For us it would have costed 280 euros which is just about 135 euros shy of what we paid for 2 weeks car rental. I recommend renting a car to get around as it can get quite boring just to stay at the resort.
They also offer excursions which is nice. We tried the whale watching (which you can get for 40 euros p/p if you don't book through the hotel. It was 55 euros p/p if you booked it at the hotel) and volcano hike. We saw some dolphins (close up) and a whale (from far away). It was ok.
The volcano hike was nice with a local guide. If you decide to do this hike, remember to bring a windbreaker as it is VERY windy and rainy. Also bring hiking boots or training shoes. Recommend the volcano.

The hotel also have a swimming pool, a bar and wind surfing/kayak rental (free of charge if you have half board or all inclusive I think).

In summary I am unsure if I recommend this hotel or not as the hotel standard in Guadeloupe is quite low in general. Fort Royal is one of the most expensive hotels and therefore you expect it to be nice and clean. You can probably get a cheaper hotel which is not located right on the beach front and rent a car to get to the beach (a lot of nice beaches all over). If you're looking to just stay at the hotel and use the beach there and don't mind "overpaying" for services than this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe

Address: Petit Bas Vent, Deshaies 97126, Guadeloupe
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Deshaies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Deshaies
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Deshaies, alongside the Caribbean sea, Langley Resort Fort Royal welcomes you to discover a wild and natural part of Guadeloupe. Deshaies, a small fisherman’s village, is the perfect place for a national park adventure or water excursion in the Caribbean. Its unique location, modern facilities and impeccable services promises a memorable Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Fort Royal
Fort Royal Hotel
Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe Deshaies

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.