We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This does not get any better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe to your Saves list
Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Petit Bas Vent, Deshaies 97126, Guadeloupe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Deshaies
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This does not get any better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I was on a holiday on FRR bymyself (!) and had a wonderful time at Fort Royal. Staff is great, food is great and its 0 true meters so the sea. Seaview from all rooms it seems!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    184
    91
    44
    16
See reviews for
108
224
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This a superb hotel in the most magnificent location on the whole island!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

After an initial problem with finding a free room (receptionists were telling us they are full, while we could book a room on Hotels.com standing in front of them), we could relax and enjoy in this beautifully located hotel. We stayed in a see view bungalow (which has only a partial see view - the beach bungalows have it completely) that was very nicely designed, spacious and clean. The beaches on the both sides of the hotel are great with amazing views of the sunset, beautiful palm trees and flowers. The bad thing is that the hotel is full of families with small children so it is a bit crowded and loud during breakfast (very tasty and diverse) and dinner (a bit boring). The pool area and the beach bar were a nice complement to the days when we were just being lazy on the hotel beaches, but otherwise with a rental car we could easily reach many interesting Basse-terre sights (botanical garden, Grand-Anse beach, Pigeon island, hiking trails,..). At night there were a lot of mosquitoes, so if you don't want to sleep with the Air-co on it will be hot and stuffy because the windows must be shut. A suggestion to the hotel: put mosquito nets on the windows! Stuff was friendly, young and fun.
All in all, we would recommend this place as a good base for exploring Guadeloupe and for chilling on a nice beach just footstep away from your room.

Room Tip: The location of beach bungalows is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days in January. The location, the rooms, the service were excellent! The staff was very nice and helpful. The food was good, especially the breakfast buffet which was good and huge!
You have to know that a lot of the clients there are from Sweden!
The hotel offers a lot of great activities. I would definitely go back !

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We were in Guadeloupe for a catamaran cruise and found this hotel quite by accident. We had just rented a car and were touring. The outside of the resort is very welcoming so we just drove in for a one or two night rental. It was absolutely wonderful. The rooms are spacious and we just loved the linens. I actually looked at the mattress pad to see if there was a name brand on it because it was so comfortable.

The beach sunset was absolutely beautiful and the beach was right there with easy accessibility to everything. Beautiful pool and places to just walk and explore. They had a cute little gift shop and a fabulous breakfast included in the price of the room. The cost of this hotel was very reasonable and we would definitely return again and recommend it to anyone who is visiting Guadeloupe. I would say you would need a car to get around.

We had intended to stay one night, but enjoyed it so much we stayed for two.
Cudos to this hotel for being so hospitable!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side of the building closest to the reception area.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We went to Fort Royal as returning customers (our second visit) and, compared to our first visit two years ago, in large we were welcomed by the same hotel offering the same programme, concept and atmosphere we liked so much. (You can read my first review under my profile). We had a pleasant stay as last time, the hotel offerung excellent food, good sleep quality in clean and comfortable rooms.

However the level of attention at the restaurant (dinner time) no longer is what it used to be. After beeing seated it then was more or less random (or rather, depending on the waiter in charge of your section) if you did get offered beverage or had to call for it, if your glasses were refilled when empty, if table was cleaned from used dishes etc. The restaurant also seemed under-staffed with respect to waiter capacity. Some waiters had obviously previous experience of working in restaurant and payed attention when needed, worked efficiently, whereas many seemed not experienced and made strange priorities in their work, not paying attention when needed. Pity that the service is not in parity with the nice setting and the delicious food. Some customers (mostly French mid-age and senior) clearly reacted on the poor level of attention.

While writing this review a totally different subject came up to my mind: The Internet connection available in the bungalows has improved. Early mornings it was around 500 kbps and going down to around 100 kbps evening time. Not great, we are used to much higher speeds, but compared to how it was two years ago this is a major improvement enabling Internet browsing at acceptable speed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here for two weeks in December: Just a fantastic location in the most beautiful area of the island Guadeloupe. Very friendly staff everywhere: from reception to restaurant. Their choice of activities on site are huge; from windsurfing to sailing with a laser boats and Hobie Cats. Also the choice of excursions are huge with helpful staff. We have stayed previously at the Club Med La Caravelle, but the resort Fort Royal was more appealing to us as the resort is situated in a rural beautiful and relaxing area and operates not like a circus.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe

Address: Petit Bas Vent, Deshaies 97126, Guadeloupe
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Deshaies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Deshaies
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Deshaies, alongside the Caribbean sea, Langley Resort Fort Royal welcomes you to discover a wild and natural part of Guadeloupe. Deshaies, a small fisherman’s village, is the perfect place for a national park adventure or water excursion in the Caribbean. Its unique location, modern facilities and impeccable services promises a memorable Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Fort Royal
Fort Royal Hotel
Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe Deshaies

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.