We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe & convenient choice in Guadaloupe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Habitation Grande Anse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Habitation Grande Anse to your Saves list
Habitation Grande Anse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localite Ziotte, Deshaies 97126, Guadeloupe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Deshaies
Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Safe & convenient choice in Guadaloupe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

We had a wonderful, sunny week in Guadaloupe in November 2008. The Habitation Grande Anse hotel served as a perfect home base for our daily trips since it was well kept, safe and cosy choice with a beautiful garden. We had the chance to cook ourselves in the room, but we rather enjoyed the breakfast served at the hotel restaurant. The staff was always friendly and able to serve us also in English. We liked the pool (very clean) but also one of the beaches is close. If you wish to exlore more the town, other beaches or night life, then it is better to rent a car. I understood the hotel has several room options from two persons' rooms to big groups or families. We enjoyed our stay and I can easily recommend the place!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    85
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
91
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

Many reviews liked Habitation Grand Anse. It just wasn't what we were looking for. Our initial room was dark and dank with an "outdoor space" just about big enough for two chairs. We asked for a new room and were given a room less dark and less dank with a slightly larger outdoor space. Since it was too late to search for another hotel we took this room and made do. Sleeping was difficult as the walls were paper thin. Our next door neighbors had a young child who did the things young children do, but they might as well have been in our room. Another reviewer marked this hotel as good for honeymooners...I can only be thankful that we didn't have honeymooners next to us. Although 300m from the beautiful Grand Anse beach, HGA is on the other side of the "highway" and as the wind blows from offshore, all the trafic noise floats up the HGA property. Many people will be happy here, but we moved after two nights, paying another night's cancellation charge. No regrets.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

I must say we visited this hotel in low season, so maybe that's why we didn't really bond with this hotel... Also, we are divers and this hotel is just a bit too far from the main dive site at Bouillante (Plage de Malendur), so it took us half an hour way and half an hour back... With the AVERAGE rating, also take into account that we have seen many hotels, including very luxurious. HGA IS a nice place to stay, but not to be compared to All Inclusive Riu's or Iberostars! So, if that's what you want, don't go there, and better, don't go to Gwadloup, because you won't find it there!

The hotel is not really a hotel, but more a collection of self catered bungalows. The rooms are spacious, but after a stay in the Vieille Tour, the beds were a bit hard. However, that didn't keep us up at night and we slept fine! The rooms are clean and provide everything you need, including an aircon which keeps the rooms fairly cool. Yes, the interior is a bit dated, but still charming. the outside terrace is a real plus!

The pool is nice and is cleaned every morning. Also the surrounding areas look well taken care of. The breakfast was good (bit expensive), except for the last day (sunday) when it wasn't as fresh as the other two days! Plenty of opportunities to have breakfast somewhere else though (or stack your own, as the fridge does work properly)!

The restaurant was closed for most of our stay, but after opening we decided we wanted to have one night of lobster. We asked the owner if he knew a place where to get it and he offered to cook us the lobster there. They didn't overprice and the lonster was delicious!

For people who wanna go to the beach, the mammal park, the gardens in DesHaies, it is a great place to stay. For people who wanna dive every day, like we do (and like a drink afterwards) it is a bit too far!

If you dive, dive with CIP in Bouillante, Plage de Malendure!!! They are the best!

  • Liked — Outside terrace and fully equipped kitchen
  • Disliked — Beds and the fact that WIFI didn't work on my Mac :-(
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2008

A couple friends and I stayed here for 4 days in mid February. We were pleasantly surprised at how wonderful it was for the price. I wouldn't call it luxury, but the rooms were spacious and cool, with great views day and night.
The gardens are lush and immaculate.
Proximity to the beach is excellent.
The restaurant (Le Papillion) had a varying menu with a seemingly accomplished and very friendly Chef.
Not a lot of nightlife nearby, so keep that in mind... go somewhere else if you're looking to be near town.
Not a lot of Americans, but most of the staff speaks English and are quite helpful. They even made what seemed like a zillion phone calls to find us a car to rent for a day trip.
The only neative aspect for us was that it seems to be popular with families... there were quite a few children there, and seems like there were always kids in the pool. I suppose I would view this as a pro, if I was traveling with children.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — lots of kids
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

Me and my boyfriend just had the perfect stay at the HGA. The bungalows are really clean and neat, the staff are really friendly and the pool is just fine. Our apartement had a perfect seaview where we could watch the sunset every night. Sure, the interior decoration felt a bit old, but anyway you don`t go to Guadeloupe spend a lot of time on your hotelroom.

The fantastic beach is just five minutes away by walking. If you want to dine out you will need a car though.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

We spent two nights here in June when we extended our stay in Guadeloupe by a couple of nights on short notice and decided to visit Basse-Terre. The people running the hotel - whom I believe were the owners - were friendly, helpful, and outgoing. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable - a previous traveler complained that the furniture was spartan but we disagree. It was simple and traditional and anything more plush or voluminous would have seemed fussy and out of place. The indoor kitchen had all the utensils (except for a prep knife or spatula) necessary to prepare decent meals, and a refrigerator that actually kept the food cold. We used the internet in the bar area - 2 euros for the first half hour (which was all we needed), wireless connection, no problems connecting. The air conditioning in the room was strong and refreshing. Even a power outage in the region did not inconvenience us; the hotel must have its own backup generator as we were out of power for less than a minute while surrounding towns were out entirely for much longer that evening.

We ate in Deshaies (at Au Coin des Pecheurs, which the owners had recommended; it was excellent) the first night; the second night we meant to return to Deshaies for dinner but found all the restaurants without power. We hit the Grand' Anse Pizza truck on the way back to the hotel and found the pizza delicious, better than in our East Coast hometown. We also ate at the Marco food truck on the beach - frites and accras prepared while you wait, cold beers, tasty sandwiches. We self-catered breakfasts, though, with fresh eggs from town, cheese, yogurt, ham, fruits, and patisserie -- again, the well-appointed kitchen made it possible to prepare our own meals and take them out on the balcony.

I do recommend, based on our previous trips to Guadeloupe, that you rent a car if you are staying anywhere outside Pointe-a-Pitre or Gosier, unless you are willing to take the bus (which works reasonably well but may require you to wait, and which is somewhat easier if you have a working knowledge of French). As long as you can drive a manual transmission, Guadeloupe is easy enough to travel by car, and it makes it far easier to drive among the various beaches and into town for provisions. Just be sure to budget for the fuel!

  • Liked — Beautiful surroundings and friendly, compentent staff
  • Disliked — Steep inclines (without steps) to some rooms may be a challenge for disabled and older guests
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2007

my husband and i have just come back from hga. i miss it already. if you are looking for a low-key, peaceful holiday in beautiful surroundings, this is the place for you. we rented the grand studio large, with daily cleaning. it was situated near the pool, which, was very convenient. the grounds are lush and well maintained. we had breakfast every second day or so, consisting of an assortment of crepes, croissants, fruits and much more. we had an outdoor kitchen. we spent most our evenings there. should you wish to eat out, i would highly recommend the meltipot. very romantic. very attentive to presentation of food, accompanied by a very beautiful view of the ocean. we got pizza at a pizza van situated at the entrance of grande anse beach, main entrance. grande anse pizza. very good pizza and a very friendly owner. the only thing we did not like was the walk to grande anse beach. it was not far, but, the traffic on the road was too much. we just drove to the beach each day. the beach is huge, clean and the water is warm. some days the waves were large, but, other days the water was relatively calm. we would recommend hga to couples looking for some peace and quiet. all of the guests were considerate to each other's space. very friendly to one another. very very different from a huge all-inclusive resort! please note, it is important to know some french when visiting guadeloupe. we brought an english-french dictionary and phrase book with us and got by just fine.

  • Liked — very peaceful and lush gardens
  • Disliked — walk to the beach
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Habitation Grande Anse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitation Grande Anse

Address: Localite Ziotte, Deshaies 97126, Guadeloupe
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Deshaies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Deshaies
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitation Grande Anse 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Habitation Grande Anse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitation Grande Anse Deshaies
Habitation Grande Anse Hotel Deshaies
Habitation Grande Anse Guadeloupe/Deshaies

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habitation Grande Anse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.