We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience Feb 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Framnes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Framnes to your Saves list
Hotel Framnes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nesvegi 8 | Grundarfjordur, Grundarfjorour 350, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundarfjorour
Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A lovely experience Feb 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We loved this hotel. Ok the views from some rooms are slightly spoiled by the workings of the village, but it is a real fishing village and the hotel from the outside shows its fishing hostel heritage and that is what made it for us! This was a real place perfect for exploring this part of Iceland.
We traveled here on 12th February with Discover the World for the whale watching and aurora trip and it was perfect! Wonderful hosts who made us feel very welcome and couldn't do enough for us, a very comfortable room with everything you could ask for (including good views from room 204) and the food was wonderful! A really perfect stay!

Room Tip: 204 was fine, but 204 was bigger. 2nd floor seemed best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    89
    44
    2
    6
See reviews for
23
108
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed here on a Discover the World tour and found it to be a great hotel for the 4 nights we spent in Iceland. It lived up to all expectations with a comfortable, warm, spacious room (with small ensuite bathroom) overlooking the Fjord where we could see lots of Eider Ducks. The food throughout was of an excellent standard with the chef from Cornwall delivering homemade, tasty and generous portions and friendly staff to help serve it. Free WiFi and fairly priced drinks (for Iceland!) were a bonus. We were lucky enough to see the Aurora from directly outside the hotel and a short walk along the Fjord offered a great mountain backdrop. Killer Whales were seen on our tour thanks to the owners boat forming part of our tour as well as an informative walking tour of the town. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Great little hotel in Grundarfjordur. Had a nice single room, which wasn't pokey. Tea & coffee making facilites in the room and free WiFi (which I didn't get in a Foss hotel elsewhere). Run by a friendly Kiwi woman. The dining room wasn't open for dinner as I was there off-season, but there is a café in town (Kaffi 59). Great breakfast, including pancakes with maple syrup. The location isn't bad, although I overlooked a petrol tank, as it's next to the port. There are great views over the bay though, and the stunning Kirkjufell is only a few minutes drive away. The scenery in the Snaefellsnes Peninsular is beautiful - well worth a trip, and this is a great place to stay. Good value too. It also has a sauna and hot tub (which I didn't use),

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

May this hotel doesn't have the best views from the rooms, but as long yoy get out of the village streets, the landscape is one of the stunningest views in Iceland. The hotel itself seems not very new outside, but once inside you'll find yourself with a perfect staff, a cozy room, comfortable beds, really fast internet conection, and finally a breakfast of a high level of quality. Best value for your money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Framnes in February. The rooms were nice and it was a great location. Food was excellent. We had dinner when we arrived, which was a bit late, and breakfast the following morning that was included in the room rate. Both meals were excellent. The hosts were warm and friendly and gave us some great advice on what we should do in the area. We also went on the whale watching tour through the hotel's Laki Tours. The hosts did an excellent job with this too with arrangements and on the tour making sure we saw lots of Orcas! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed here with agroup on an escorted whale watching tour Feb 24th for four nights in 2012.
The rooms are basic but very clean and maintained. The staff are all very welcoming, surprised to find aCornishman in the kitchen but bang on with the food! I'm not ahuge fan of fish which seems obviously a dominant part of the menu but it's all cooked really well and as for the seafood starter...wow ! that was stunning! The scenery is stunning!?! a previous report says differently,maybe they didn't go outside? It's Iceland! how can it not be stunning? The hotel is an old fishermans hostel and it has the fish plant beside it. Surprisingly it's a working fishing village so kinda should expect that. The Management are like minded folk, truly open and warm.. The hot tubs are great,sauna if you wish. Parking is no problem, at all...loads of area??? fail to see how the previous comments have an issue with that, the town is home to 900 people. Play spot the cars ! Iam annoyed to see this establishment taking critiscism that, although everyone has their view point, i really think is unfounded.In fact the manager even joined us on the Orca watch boat trip, really nice to see that. Wildlife? loads and loads.. Orca by the tonnage, seals, dolphins eagles. This whole time at the hotel has been simply stunning. Thanks guys and lasses !

Room Tip: ask for a bay view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The location of Hotel Framnes within Grundarfjordur is clear link to the premises former use as a fishermans hostel, it is in close vicinity to the working harbour area.

That location provides for a rather interesting mix of views from the hotel. Look in one direction and you could be looking at an industrial unit, fuel tanks and trucks but in the other straight out to sea with snow capped mountains in the background. Indeed for some the location of the hotel couldn't be better. Take literally several steps out of the back door of the hotel across the small decking and hot tub area and you are on the sea front, with fine views and easy sigtings of sea birds, dolphins and at the right time of year even Orcas/killer whales in the bay.

Once inside the hotel you'd never know of the industry going on close by. There is no noise or other distraction at all. I personally looked upon the surrounding industry as a quirk and a talking point rather than something that negatively impacts upon your stay.

Hotel Framnes is a fine little hotel. Being modestly sized nothing is difficult to find or needs hunting down. You enter through the front door into the lounge area with the reception desk clearly to your right and the dining room and small bar behind it. The hotel has two accomodation floors, there is no lift. Almost opposite the entrance door on the other side of the lounge is the back door which leads to a small decking area where smokers will find an ash tray, the hot tub is also found here and is freely available for guests to use. Beyond the decking is the sea front, with mountain views.

My room was a single on the first floor and it was a nice little room. It had a wooden floor with a rug. Two chairs and a small table and open wardrobe type unit, no drawers. The bed was very comforatable with warm linen for our winter visit. The room was also equipped with an effective convector heater on the wall, a television and a kettle and tea and coffee. The bathroom was functionally minimalist with a shower cubicle but not a bath. Both the main room and bathroom were very clean. The door opened out onto the corridor so be careful when leaving the room in case you whack someone passing by at that precise moment.

On the first floor there is an internet computer for guests to use and free wifi is available throughout the hotel.

The food served in the restaurant is very good and a credit to Hotel Framnes. Although this was not my first visit to Iceland, I tried some traditional Icelandic food for the first time during my stay here.

Finally, the staff (and owners!) were great. All very pleasant, friendly and helpful.

Laki boat tours are operated from the hotel too, which I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Sea views are possible from the rooms at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Framnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Framnes

Address: Nesvegi 8 | Grundarfjordur, Grundarfjorour 350, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > West Region > Grundarfjorour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundarfjorour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Framnes 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Framnes is a boutique hotel on the Snaefellsnes Peninsula in west Iceland. It is ideally located for all visits to the nearby National Park and surrounding area. The hotel has an excellent restaurant specializing in fresh fish and local food cuisine. It is the ideal place for stopovers to West Fjords and Reykjavík ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Framnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Framnes Hotel Grundarfjörður
Hotel Framnes Iceland/Grundarfjorour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Framnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.