We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Framnes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Framnes to your Saves list
Hotel Framnes
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nesvegi 8 | Grundarfjordur, Grundarfjorour 350, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundarfjorour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nijmegen
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Seaside room with nice view. Very helpfull and kind staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    104
    48
    4
    6
See reviews for
28
129
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

This is a clean, basic hotel in a quaint seaside town. It is an excellent base from which to explore the Snaefellsness Peninsula, and the sauna and hot tub are great for relaxing and warming up after a day out. The owner of the hotel also owns Laki Tours, and they will take you out on a boat ride to see puffins and possibly whales, as well as to go fishing. Conveniently the cod fish we caught on the boat trip showed up as the house special that night at the hotel restaurant. They did a great job cooking our cod fish and gave us a discount -- if we had gotten to eat it for free they would have gotten a 5 star rating!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed at the family-run Hotel Framnes for a couple of nights in October 2010. It is located in the beautiful setting of Grundarfjordur. The rooms are good - very comfortable and clean. What makes Framnes stand out is the service & can-do attitude of the staff. This is a class act, and there are not too many hotels in Iceland that go this far to make a guest as welcome. We had dinner one night at the hotel restaurant and it was memorable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

I think it is the only hotel in town and it is set near the waterfront although beside some oil containers. We spent a day driving around the Peninsula to catch some of the main sites in the short time we had in Iceland. Definately a decent hotel. Would have been nice to have been moved to the top floor as I do not think the hotel had more than 6 rooms booked. Comfy, clean and a decent hot pot. If there was a Hilton beside this place I would have stayed there but overall happy with this stay. Great breakfast although would advise the hotel not to prepare the pancakes until the guests arrive for breakfast as they were stone cold. Appreciated the Canadian maple syrup though! Parking is on street and was available when we were there. No elevator but don't go to Iceland if you can't walk a few stories. The free internet was behind the check in desk. Oh yeah, they had a massage chair for guests to use which was really great for one of my friends who didn't sleep very well, well make that didn't wake up feeling too comfy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night on Aug 8. We got a large family room on the 3rd floor (the top floor). It was booked by Nordic Visitor as part of our self-drive package. The room is very roomy with 1 double-bed and 2 sofa bed. The view is ok with one window facing the harbour and one winow looking at a big Shell gas tank. The hotel does not have any elevator so it was quite difficult to carry a large suitcase up to the third floor. It also ran out of hot water around 11pm. I guess everybody was trying to take a shower and a day of long trip. Breakfeast was standard. All rooms and lobby have free WIFI access. Staffs are very friendly. We had dinner at the nearby restaurant Kaffe 59. It was only 15 min walk from the hotel, The quality of the food was good and the price was reasonable. Overall, it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Of all the 8 hotels we happened to stay in during our trip around Iceland this appeared to be the most enjoyable if all.

Generally speaking, we found majority of Icelandic hotels to be cozy and comfortable, if you`re ok with minimalistic concept in Scandinavian culture, which is a trend there. But this place had way more to offer.

Fair to say, we realize something after taking a walk in Grundarfjordur after the dinner in Cafe 59 (or something like that it was called): the little town was filled with very well-kept private houses, quite chic cars and obviously wasn`t an armpit in any way. We don`t know what people are doing for living there but the area is obviously far from being poor or underdeveloped. I guess, that reflected the standing of the only hotel in town.

Framnes offered 24 hours sauna and hot tub, massage chair, available laundry (quite after typical working hours compared to other places), very helpful and friendly staff, very tasty breakfast and spacious comfortable rooms. We liked it all so much we didn`t want to leave.

If you`re planning your trip on your own and going to rent a car, I`d suggest considering this place for more than 1 night. Besides comfortable stay, you could take a boat ride from there, some interesting hikes on Snaefellsness penninsula, visits to Borgarnes and Reykholt museums and use the Framnes as your comfy stay residence, while exploring the west of Iceland.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

The hotel was very nice, neat and tidy, the room was a beautiful big double room, with two windows with sight over the little harbour. I had forgotten that I had mentioned in my e-mails, while booking the room, that my wife and I were celebrating our 25th marriage anniversary: it was a very pleasant surprise when we found a bottle of sparkling wine with a nice greetings card on the table! Very kind staff and good location to visit Snaefellsnes Peninsula.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Framnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Framnes

Address: Nesvegi 8 | Grundarfjordur, Grundarfjorour 350, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > West Region > Grundarfjorour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundarfjorour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Framnes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Framnes is a boutique hotel on the Snaefellsnes Peninsula in west Iceland. It is ideally located for all visits to the nearby National Park and surrounding area. The hotel has an excellent restaurant specializing in fresh fish and local food cuisine. It is the ideal place for stopovers to West Fjords and Reykjavík ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Framnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Framnes Hotel Grundarfjörður
Hotel Framnes Iceland/Grundarfjorour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Framnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.