We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient & tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RuBen

RuBen
Grundargata 59, Grundarfjorour 350, Iceland
+(354)4386446
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Pizza, Grill, Fish & Chips, Soups
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Convenient & tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Good pizza/burgers, open late and friendly staff. There aren't a lot of options in Grundafjördur but I would recommend this for a family friendly option that is reasonably priced.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The only place for miles and miles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

A nice, simple restaurant and the only one for many miles. We ate here 4 nights in a row. The menu was as to be expected with a bit of variety. The prices weren't too bad either. Food was generally pretty good.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Deutschland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“poor quality food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

I stopped by for dinner and started with a chicken caesar salad - chicken pieces were cold, roasted breadcrumbs were extremely fat, overall taste of the salad was average, so I moved on to a cheeseburger. bread was cold again, fries and burger swimming in fat, overall taste was poor - did not really enjoy my stay.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

we stayed for 3 nights in the town at the hotel framnes and stumbled across this place whilst out photographing Kirkjufell. The menu was varied and had the normal stuff like burgers, pasta etc and some other more fancy meals. First night I had the double burger which was massive and outstanding taste and value for money and the 2nd night I had their version of fish and chips which again was fantastic. Everyone in our group was impressed with the quality of the food and the large portion sizes. Would recommend it to anyone!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Tasty and hearty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Yummy burgers, fries, and hot coffee. The portions of food were very large and they were actually tasty. We were pretty darn full but paid surprisingly reasonable prices. The space is large inside with at least a bar and 2 dining areas, but at lunch in November, there was only one other group there. They do have a small ice cream counter when you first walk in.

Our server was very friendly whenever we saw her, but she didn't come around too often. Like many restaurants we encountered in Iceland, they provided us with our own pitcher of water. We paid at the bar since we didn't her when we were ready to go.

We walked by at night and it was packed with locals.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RuBen also viewed

Grundarfjorour, West Region
Grundarfjorour, West Region
 
Stykkisholmur, West Region
Stykkisholmur, West Region
 

Been to RuBen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RuBen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.