We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Hlidarvegur 15, Grundarfjorour, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Zurich
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Good hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I had a room with a shower on the second floor of the newish annex by the harbour. Everything is simple but clean and sufficient and the bed was comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly and had good recommendations on where to eat. WIFI is free and fast. People take their shoes of down-stairs. There’s a big kitchen for self-catering, which I however didn’t use. The hostel is very recommendable.

Room Tip: book early, if you want your private shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    32
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I stayed in the new building by the harbour. The room had an ensuite bathroom which was nice. There was lots of parking available right by the building. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We spent one night at this hostel on our Iceland road trip. We were greeted with a warm welcome in an office with photos of orca whales, it was only on enquiring about the photos we were told we would probably spot them from the kitchen! Imagine our delight!! The orcas swim close to shore up until April time.

The hostel is split over several buildings, where we were which was a double room with private shower was above a fish factory....do not let this put you off!! We never smelt fish and heard no noise, if we hadn't read it somewhere we would have been clueless.

The hostel had incredible views around the bay with views of the sea and mountains, there aren't many places where you can cook, eat, and wake up with such stunning views.

The hostel was immaculate, spotlessly clean and with great facilities. I think it may have been sponsored by Ikea though! Our bedroom was modern and comfortable with a good double bed, chair and a clean and basic bathroom. The kitchen area was well equipped with a breakfast bar, dining tables and a comfortable sofa area....all with those amazing views. Wifi is free in the hostel too, so you can send photos of the views to make everyone back home jealous!

Just up the road is a super market which was fairly well stocked for over there and had a fast food place. It closes at 8pm in the evening. You could also get fresh bread and pastries in the morning. There was also a cafe opposite the shop and very very close to the hostel along the sea front is a hotel with restaurant. It is meant to be good, be we cooked in the hostel so can't comment.

As for whales...we did indeed spot three just chilling and eating in the bay, we just stood by the beach and watched in wonder.

A lovely lovely hostel, one of the best I have stayed in, great value.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'eagle' but I think all will have a fabulous view. The room named 'whale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

My family and I had a nice one night stay here and found it welcoming and cosy. For a youth hostel and the rate you pay (in particular as a member) the room was quite spacious and comfortable. Both our private room and (shared) bathroom were clean and tidy. The kitchen could use a bit of an in-depth cleaning (drawers etc) and some re-equipping with basic kitchen tools. Otherwise everything was fine and we would stay here again. Sneafelsnes peninsula is definitely worth a visit and the detour from the circle road.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel

Address: Hlidarvegur 15, Grundarfjorour, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Grundarfjorour
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Grundarfjorour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel Iceland/Grundarfjorour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.