We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Friesacher

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Friesacher to your Saves list
Hotel Friesacher
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hellbrunnerstrasse 17, Anif 5081, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Anif
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athens
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“It was a great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2007

I stayed at this hotel during a skiing trip in Austria and wanting to avoid the centre of Salzburg.A friendly couple was staying there with their 2-year old son and they made the reservation for us. We had asked for a triple room so we were given a spacious double with an expandable sofa. The room was moderately but adequately decorated with all basic amenities. The hotel also has a renovated section so make sure you ask for a renovated room. There is a good choice of spa and relaxation facilities. Don't avoid eating at the hotel's restaurant. The food is very good, I only tried dinner. The breakfast is very satisfactory. The staff are helpful and willing to aid in any case.
You should have a car because it's about 5 minutes driving to the town's centre. There is a bus stop outside the hotel but I didn't use it.
Hope you'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    28
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
30
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zhuhai, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2007

Excellent Hotel, close to saltzberg and airport. Very good price, nice restruants nearby.

Would use again!

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2006

Stayed at the Hotel Friesacher in Anif which seems like a suburb of Salzburg. Truly a great place. The parking was free and we were able get on the bus across the street from the hotel. It was probably a 10 minute ride into Salzburg. We enjoyed the pool and the quietness of Anif. Not much to do in Anif but the hotel has a fine resturant. The only drawback was they did not have air conditioning. We were told that it rarely gets that hot in Anif. A very nice breakfast was included in the rate which we enjoyed on the terrace. We thought this hotel was a great deal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Vienna
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2006

I found my new home in Salzburg! My second stay in 2 months on my way back home from my family in law. Amazing quality/price hotel! 2 different levels of rooms (new/old building), both cosy and comfortable.
The swimming pool (oustside heated...) and the wellness area are a dream (it's better the hotel is not fully booked though...as the space is limited)
Don't miss the restaurant (Gault et Millau listed) especially the wooden room, and don't forget to have a drink in the bar in front of the cheminée!
I've been leaving in salzburg and in Vienna for a year(travelling around quite much) and this hotel is so far one of my favourite in Austria.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2005

First visit back to this fine hotel after the completion of latest renovations and improvements.

Some of the best food in Austria is reason enough to stay here. Numerous small dining rooms provide intimate feeling. We found the service excelent.
Rooms are nicely furnished with little extras that set it apart from many other hotels.
Good buffet breakfast with terrace dining in good weather overlooking nice garden and pool.
Perfect service at Front Desk provided by friendly staff meets every need of the busines person or tourist.
Easy access to the Autobahn is a plus for travelers.

Just a few minutes ride by bus( #25) to the old city. The bus stop is across the street from the hotel.
Underground parking garage with lift access to both wings makes entry and exit very easy especially with heavy luggage.
We look forward to returning this winter!

Stayed June 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2004

We first arrived at the Friesacher almost twenty years ago. We had been touring Austria for a week after skiing and were trying to reach Salzburg in a blizzard. We pulled off the autobahn at Anif and saw the sign and pulled in and asked for a room. We have been back there at least a dozen times since that lucky day. It is a charming, family run hotel with a warm welcome, and delightful large rooms with those wonderful eiderdowns. It has several excellent restaurants on the premises, a wonderful breakfast, a fitness area and attractive public rooms to relax and enjoy.There have been many changes over the years, but the warm welcome and helpful attention have remained the same. One of our favorite places.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2004

We stayed at the Hotel Freisacher for Christmas in 2002. It was so wonderful! The hotel is absolutely charming. Nothing could beat returning to the hotel after a day in snowy Salzburg, to sit by the fireplace and have something hot to drink. It is cozy and welcoming and the staff is friendly and helpful. We highly recommend it to one and all. Ask for a room on the back with a view of the mountain -- gorgeous! And the heated bathroom floors -- to die for.

  • Stayed December 2002
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Friesacher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Friesacher

Address: Hellbrunnerstrasse 17, Anif 5081, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Anif
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Anif
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Friesacher 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Friesacher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friesacher Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Friesacher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.