We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a warm friendly welcome and great family atmosphere - this is it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Australian Homestead

Australian Homestead
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Australian Homestead to your Saves list
Australian Homestead
Sturt Highway, Gumly Gumly, New South Wales 2652, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gumly Gumly
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“For a warm friendly welcome and great family atmosphere - this is it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

My husband, myself and two boys (aged 9&12) stayed here on apr 6&7th 2012. We felt relaxed and at ease immediately. The owners are friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable and their 9 yo daughter, welcomed our children and helped them burn some energy after our 16 hour drive from QLD.
The pool and jacuzzi were out of action on this weekend but when we asked management they informed us it was going through some overdue repairs and as the weather had started to cool, now was the time to get it fixed (so we'll enjoy that on our next visit).
The rooms were very clean and the beds comfy...we had only intended to stay one night but felt so relaxed and at ease that we stayed two!
We will be back to stay again soon, it is not often you can feel comfortable and relaxed away from home, like we did here!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
7
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

After a big day traveling with a three year old that had been awake since 4.30am we were looking forward to a early nights sleep. At about 7pm we turned the lights out and tried to go to sleep, the owners kids however were taking joy rides on the 4 wheel motor bike up and down the front of our room (and it was dark). After half hour of this I went out and stopped the bike to find three young teenagers on it, (obviously dangerous and overloaded and not one of the kids had a helmet on). On a good note once I requested that they cease their activities, they did. That's when the neighbors dog started barking and kept barking until about 3am when it decided to have a rest.

The room was okay but the fly screens had holes in them so couldn't open up the windows and let any fresh air in. We were also looking forward to having a dip In the jacuzzi, however the pool was green and the jacuzzi was being used as a storage for old brooms etc.

In general the whole place looked like no one cared. It was cheap and it did offer cereal and toast for breakfast.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gumly Gumly hotels

Bonogin, QLD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Goodness, whatever you do, don't look at previous reviews. I spoke with owners it was about previous management:


Wow, there's so much to say about the Australian Homestead Motor Lodge and the proprietors and staff in general, but to sum it up - perfection they sure know how to treat a guest - it felt like a home away from home with good old fashioned hospitality!!!
The place is set outside of town, but not too far, enough to know you're in a gorgeous spot. The pool gives you respite in the heat, and from the kids :). The spa...ah, the spa, just wonderful for those tired travelling bones.
Although a slightly older style of accommodation, I'd prefer it over the ritz anyday - simply because the owners and family members are there running it and ensuring that you have the perfect stay. They even organised to pick us up from the airport free of charge!
It's everything you could want in holiday or business accommodation. It's very affordable, free continental breakfast. I got the 2 room apartment so my husband and I could have some privacy, our parents stayed in an adjoining room - just a great family fun packed weekend.
Karen, Will, Danni, Daniel were extremely polite, very clean, very accommodating and just genuine sweethearts. They know the area well and were able to point out some beautiful local spots for the children and some luscious scenery for a romantic get away. The meals at the restaurant were second to none.
Thanks guys, we will definitely be back, and this time without the kids :)

Room Tip: We used both the two room apartment and our elderly parents were comfortable in the 'standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

When I booked online, I expected that I would have to compromise on quality since it had the cheapest price I could find. However I was pleasantly surprised to find the rooms were very well kept and that a continental breakfast was included. The owners were delightful especially the lady who helped me hook up to the wifi. The only slight drawbacks as far as I was concerned were the location (about 5 mins out from the city center) and that there were quite a few bugs in the area and unfortunately some of them made it inside. Despite this, I would definitely stay again and recommend it to any of my friends and family.

Room Tip: Be sure to take advantage of the BBQ area if you're travelling with friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We've travelled Australia extensively and that means we have a pretty good idea of what we're looking for in a motel. After some horror experiences with poor service, noisy guests and indifferent management, the Australian Homestead Motel came as a breath of fresh air.
Friendly, considerate owners, peaceful expansive grounds and clean rooms with caring cleaning staff combined to make our stay a relaxing break.
We'll most certainly be back for another stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cootamundra, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Hey!!! I would like to let everyone know that the AUSTRALIAN HOMESTEAD is under new managment by KAREN & WILL FOSTER. They are a local family from wagga and strive to make each and everyones stay a brilliant stay. service very friendly & easy going. will go to great lenghts to make everything smooth.

EXELLENT!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in family room very qiet and lovely but not sure about other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Lots of traffic noise and also from the people in the next room deciding to party at 2am. situated long the sturt highway. Nothing terrible but nothing special either

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Australian Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Australian Homestead

Address: Sturt Highway, Gumly Gumly, New South Wales 2652, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Gumly Gumly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gumly Gumly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Australian Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australian Homestead Australia/Gumly Gumly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Australian Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.