We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central hotel, minutes from beach and town centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Restaurant de l'Imperatrice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Berck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel-Restaurant de l'Imperatrice
Save
You added Hotel-Restaurant de l'Imperatrice to your Saves list
43 rue de la Division Leclerc - 2 rue de Rotschild, 62600 Berck, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Berck
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Argenton-les-Vallees, France
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Central hotel, minutes from beach and town centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This was a welcome break on the long drive on the way up through France, before boarding a cross-channel ferry the next day from Calais. I booked through booking.com, and got a large, double, clean room, with big bathroom (bath and shower), with a little balcony overlooking the junction of the two streets for 2 people for €65. It was literally 2 minutes walk to the beach, and restaurants. I think the only down side of this restaurant is the on-street parking - which I should imagine in July and August is a nightmare, but for us was no real problem at all. Breakfast was an extra charge (I think €8, but cannot just remember now). The usual continental breakfast with fresh croissants, lovely bread, jams and great coffee. The owner is very friendly and has a great sense of humour too. He spent some time showing us pictures of the beach kite racing which takes place in Berck sur Mer earlier in the year - the Saudi team all stay at his hotel. We would very much like to see this spectacle next year. Just one slight point - if you are used to the usual US or global hotel chains - all sterilised and antiseptic with no personality, then this hotel will disappoint you. It is a typical French owned, run and decorated hotel, with personality, some faded charm and quirks. We will definitely go again.

Room Tip: If you have limited mobility I should ask, before booking, if they have a lift, as we did not see on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    41
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
10
44
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We didn't have any problems at L'Imperatrice. The room was spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom/shower worked! We had a meal in the restaurant one night which was fine. Breakfasts were quite basic, but that's France for you! The owner spoke English and was welcoming. You have to park in the (quite narrow) surrounding streets which was just about alright at the end of May..not sure what it would be like in July and August? The passing traffic was a bit noisy in the morning 'rush hour', but apart from that we slept well. Berck-sur-mer is a typical relaxed northern French seaside resort..with the beach extending as far as you can see in either direction. Its easy to get to from Calais for a short "French" break and I'm sure its lovely in the summer. Unfortunately, it's not at its best when it rains, which it did for two out of the three days of our trip and this may have influenced my review. Being completely honest, I can't quite rate Hotel L'Imperatrice as 'very good'. But its better than just average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

A warm welcome from Philippe who saw us in, he was full of information to help make our stay really nice. The room was spick and span, maybe not to my taste stylewise but the important thing is that it was clean and the bed was very comfy and I particularly liked the pillows which were very inviting (not lumpy and not too thick)!.The food in the restaurant was delicious, all fresh and very appetising. Helene was also very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed.The breakfasts were copious and the quality of the coffee was excellent. Also the Imperatrice is really well situated , both for going to the beach and being close to the main shopping street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Philippe and Helene were charming hosts who offered an exceptionally high standard of service. The hotel is very clean and is well located a couple of minutes walk to the beach but also to the main shopping street which is just around the corner. The new owners take pride in their restaurant where 100% of their food is fresh. Overall this was a good choice for our 3 night stay in Berck.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We booked through tripadvisor and can highly recommend the service we received from both them and the hotel. The manager booked us in and was very friendly. The room itself was a double and although small was spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. The hotel location is excellent for both the sea front and all the shops. Did not eat here but the resteraunt was busy and looked good. Would definetly recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Please please please ignore any reviews before 2012; this hotel has been bought by new owners who have clearly turned the place around.

We arrived in the rain and could not have been more eagerly and cheerfully welcomed and helped. The couple who own the hotel are friendly and lovely; they made us and our 6 year old really welcome and even put up with our poor smatterings of french.

Our room was on the 2nd floor and was recently renovated into a 19th century style which was wonderful. The room is not huge but provided enough room for the double bed, a put up single bed, wardrobes, desk and our two cases. The bathroom has also been done up and the bath was lovely.

The location is perfect for time on the beach and we spent all day there on the second day. That evening we decided to try the hotels restaurant which is run by a young chef with great ideas for food; the menu was mouth watering. It was wonderful to have our daughter welcomed and she had lots of food to choose from which weren't "kids food" but were a great middle ground for her to try. We had the most amazing meals in typical French style; in fact it was one of the best French meals we've had.

This hotel and restaurant come very highly recommended. If you can handle stairs then stay here; why spend three times as much in Le Touquet?

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We spent the Jubilee weekend here and, despite the unseasonal weather, enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The new owner speaks very good English and went out of his way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms were small but adequate, with brand new shower/toilet facilities, and the restaurant well-appointed, with excellent cuisine and a decent wine list. The owner was rather quirky (but not a Basil Fawlty) and was keen to show us his growing collection of whiskies. At breakfast (Continental but with Tiptree jams!) he asked for our help with correcting the English version of his guest information sheet, which he seemed to appreciate. A genuine character, more modesty than the usual French hotelier, he deserves to succeed with his ambitious plans for the establishment.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Restaurant de l'Imperatrice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant de l'Imperatrice

Address: 43 rue de la Division Leclerc - 2 rue de Rotschild, 62600 Berck, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Berck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Berck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Imperatrice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Restaurant de l'Imperatrice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.