We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Neptune Hotel to your Saves list
Neptune Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade Parmentier | Berck-sur-Mer, 62600 Berck, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Berck
Isleworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed in hotel for long weekend with family - total 4 rooms. Rooms were basic but adequate for weekend stay. Great thing about hotel is it is situated near to town centre and just across from beach. Staff helpful and friendly, will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    51
    64
    33
    17
See reviews for
55
82
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Sodbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit here. This time we chose an apartment. The apartment itself was good, had everything you needed. We decided to make use of the kitchenette, which you have to pay for. My only complaint with this is that the sink smelt disgusting as it probably hadn't been used for a while. It stopped smelling after the 2nd day as we had run plenty of water down it.
The other negative is that there is no longer a bar in the hotel, they have decided to make it a restaurant only.
Oh and forgot to mention that when we booked, we weren't told that the front of the hotel was a huge building site, scaffolding covering the front of the hotel, diggers and builders stuff in the car park.
Would I come back again? Yes of course, this is a very good hotel, reasonably priced, clean and tidy and it is 20 meters from the beach.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have just had our third visit to this Hotel, the first was a promo 2 years ago and after booking and checking reviews the outlook was not good. Despite the reviews the service was good, the rooms adequate and the food in the stunning 5th floor restaurant very good.It is the channel coast so don't expect a Costa climate but still a very pleasant town and hotel

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea, are about euro 85 against 60- 65 except for the view, which is limited by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

You cannot fault the location; cross the road to the beautiful sandy beach. However, it really is a 2 star establishment. We stayed in the apartment part of the hotel which can apparently accommodate four, but only if other 2 are small children. The kitchenette facility is useful but be warned you pay 6 euros a day for the privelige of using it - this may not bother you, but factor in that if you pay for parking and wifi access when staying in the apartments this adds a total of 15 euros a night.

It really is faded and jaded in terms of decor; split carpet on the stairs; patch-up jobs with unmatching paint on the ceiling; bathroom drains that have seen better days and a leaking gutter above the balcony - but if you don't mind this and want access to a beach which is excellent, clean and has plenty for children to do then it is ok.

The staff were begrudging in their attitude - I got the feeling I was disturbing their day by staying there. We asked for a wifi code that when given did not work. When I went to tell them it didn't work the surly receptionist tapped some keys on her computer and announced it did work. Of course when I returned to our room it didn't, so I ended up taking my laptop down to show that it didn't. It turned out to be their error - they had not written the password correctly, but no apology or smile - just a few tapped keys and 'it will work now'. I'm not sure that just because it's a 2 star establishment you have to have 2 star personal service.

So - if you're not fussy and want an excellent location then book it. If you like perfectly clean, fresh surroundings this is definitely not the place for you.

Room Tip: If staying in apartments ask for a low floor - I saw someone open their door on floor one who had pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Excellent location. We stayed one night in a Courtyard room. Quite small, but everything except one lamp worked. The hotel bar is excellent and has a friendly atmosphere. Ate in L'epoque restaurant. Delicious food with a reasonable price. Just 100 m from the hotel.Lots of places to eat. We asked for a wi-fi code, but it didn't work. Didn't use the hotel restaurant.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Beds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

The hotel staff are surly and the corridors are filthy.
Our allocated room was smelling so strongly of smoke that we had to ask for a change.
Half board was actually more expensive than taking room only and paying for meals as taken... very bad value. Also the booked rate was not honoured, rack rate was charged.(only €8 per room difference but not good)
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, unless they are desperate.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Good location - right on the beach but on a sunny September weekend the resort felt tired and run down.
Hotel rooms had comfortable beds and stacks of hot water. However, rooms were cramped with poor / minimal storage space. Bathroom was clean but the layout was poor. The WC is close up against the basin making bit difficult to use especially for the less able bodied.
Restaurant was well used but staff seemed inexperienced and rushed around. Although the menus sounded interesting, much of the food seemed to be tinned / frozen / prepacked and was not good vale for money. Breakfast was poor quality for the price charged - tinned fruit, cheap jams etc.
Although the hotel was busy, it is not one which I will be returning to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Neptune Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Hotel

Address: Esplanade Parmentier | Berck-sur-Mer, 62600 Berck, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Berck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Berck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Neptune Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Neptune Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.