We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold room and poor 'breakfast'” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Renardiere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Renardiere to your Saves list
La Renardiere
37, Boulevard de Paris, 62600 Berck, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Berck
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Cold room and poor 'breakfast'”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was booked for Valentine's on the basis that it was classified as a 'romantic' stay. It was anything but. The stone-floored building was cold. There were 2 radiators in our room but Madame advised us that the temperature for one was fixed at a low heat and couldn't be increased whilst the other would 'come on' later in the evening. It did but was turned off again and we had no control over any of them. Even when the radiators were on, the room which was wooden-floored and airy, was cold. The little electric fan provided hardly made a dint in the cold ensuite shower room which was separated from the room by a thin piece of curtain. We had the metal shutters down over the windows in order to keep out the cold but the winds buffeted against them the entire night.
We were provided with a piece of soap and a quarter-full cheap men's shower gel which I suspect was left behind by a previous guest and less than a full toilet roll which we'd run out of by the next morning.
'Breakfast' consisted of hot coffee and water in thermos flasks, milk, 1 sachet of hot chocolate, a couple of cold croissants and pieces of baguette which according to my other half, was 'cakey'.
I can't have bread so asked if Madame if she had any cereal for us and she came out with 2 packs of coco pops, apologising and saying that she had only 2 left to give us.
Throughout the stay, the impression we were given was of a penny-pinching owner who was more concerned about spending as little as possible on her guests as possible than providing comfortable accommodation.
I think if you're going to charge EUR80 for a night (outside Berk town centre) during winter, then either do it well and have the heating on and serve a decent breakfast or don't open up for winter at these prices.
At EUR80, this was a rip-off.

Room Tip: Bring your own shower products, toilet roll, radiators and breakfast and perhaps come at the height...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Lovely building, lovely rooms, lovely people. The pool is great for swimmers (take your own towels), but has no shallow end or play pool. Breakfast is basic French served in a beautiful dining room. The secure parking in the grounds is a bonus. A 10 minute walk takes you to the lively sea front with a large choice of eating places (L'Albatros is v.good value). Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Beck's glory has certainly faded, but this beautiful villa has retained its elegance and charm. Our room was huge, comfortable and well equipped, with a fine collection of books and antiques. The breakfast was simple, but served in a splendid dining room. We were the only guests. It deserves to have more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The property was built as a grand villa, probably with little expense spared, and retains many of its original features. In particular, the entrance hall which is marble-floored, is fairly grand and impressive. Although we did not get the room we had originally booked [the shower was out of action], the one we were given instead, was comfortable and quiet. The owners were very welcoming and friendly and ensured that we had all we needed.The house itself is set within a fairly large garden and is screened off from the road by a hedge and some gates. There is parking available in the grounds for guests, so no need to leave one's car out on the street. Don't be put off by the drab nature of the neighbourhood - the hotel is convenient for access to Berck and there are a few restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night in Feb 2013. Didn't really know what to expect, but it had good reviews so we thought we'd give it a try. Overall, we were very impressed.

Location: it's on Blvd de la France, which is a long residential road leading towards Berck-s-m town centre. There's very little traffic noise, and the house is set well back behind walls. There's a Dia supermarket close by, but the main shops and the beach are a few minutes drive. Not that driving around Berck is difficult.

Hotel: it's actually a beautiful old villa, part of which is used by the owners. There's a grand staircase leading to the upstairs rooms.

Room: We booked a double room with breakfast for 78 euros. We were actually given a small suite, with 2 bedrooms that could have slept 4 people. There were some nice touches, and everything was clean. TV channels were all French.

Grounds: Beautiful but not huge. There's a swimming pool in a separate building that was closed for the winter.

Breakfast: We were the only guests, so slightly weird having the grand dining room to ourselves. It was the basic French fare of orange juice, tea, coffee, bread and croissants. Most Americans would consider it sub-standard.

Three things to note about this place-
1) When we were there, one of the married-couple owners was away, so there was only one person doing everything. She was very sweet and very helpful, but her English isn't brilliant and we were glad our French is OK. If you stay here and you don't speak any French, be prepared to use a dictionary or a phone translation app.
2) Berck-sur-mer is not Le Touquet. While Le Touquet has a massive beach with every conceivable activity and a shedload of overpriced shops, Berck is very definitely its quieter neighbour. The advantages are that there's a calmer, Frencher feel to the place, parking is easier and prices are lower.
3) Grab it while you can... the owner told us she is going to sell up and move; whoever buys it might convert it back to a house rather than keep it as a guest house...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinchbeck, U.K
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very elegant house with a wide,sweeping staircase. The owner met us at the door and was extremely pleasant and welcoming, showing us up to a very pleasant room. It was a shame that there was no bathroom door!
Breakfast was quite basic but adequate.
It was also good to have the car secure behind electronic gates.

Room Tip: The room was very tastefully decorated. The only downside was the fact that there was no door to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I had booked a double room here, but had to change the date at very short notice. The owner was very understanding and changed my booking with no problems. It turned out that her last double room for that night was booked while we were speaking so she very kindly put us in a two bedroom apartment. They were also very understanding with regards to our late arrival (a good couple of hours after advertised check-in times). The apartment was very well appointed, with a kitchen, a washing machine and garden furniture! The bed was very comfortable, and the bedroom had plenty of room for our travel cot. We found the accommodation to be spotlessly clean. Breakfast was bread and croissants with butter and jam, served with orange juice and hot drinks. only downsides are that the toilet is downstairs, and there is no hook for the shower head, so you have to hold it while showering, which makes rinsing long hair quite tricky. There is an indoor swimming pool, but we didn't have time to use it. Grounds are private and well kept, with ample parking. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you're travelling with friends, the two bedroom apartment would represent great value for mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Renardiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Renardiere

Address: 37, Boulevard de Paris, 62600 Berck, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Berck
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Berck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Renardiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Renardiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.