We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Budget Hotel With Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Littoral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Le Littoral to your Saves list
Hotel Le Littoral
36 av Marianne Toute Seule, 62600 Berck, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Berck
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Decent Budget Hotel With Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here as an overnight stop on a longer journey across the North of France, and it made for a nice breather. The hotel was right by the esplanade, which made it handy for walks along the front. It might sound like a small thing, but the views really are lovely if you are of a mind to watch the sun go down over the English Channel.

There was plenty of parking round and about, which was all free, and meant that you could get close to the hotel itself without any trouble. The hotel itself was quite nice - it had obviously been done on a restricted budget, but the owners had made it look nice in a vintage-y style. It was definitely clean and tidy, anyhow!

The chap on the front desk was nice and helpful, and had some hints and tips about the local area. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast buffet, so I can't comment on that, but I would probably recommend it, to be honest - even without trying it! We searched around for a cheaper alternative (at 8Euros each it seemed a bit expensive), but there wasn't really anywhere in town that served a simple coffee and a pastry.

Overall: good location, and pretty decent hotel for what was a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    8
    10
    4
See reviews for
17
32
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We didn't book a hotel before leaving England as we just wanted to stumble across a hotel that just caught our eye.
This hotel had a charming look, the dinning area on the corner of the building had massive windows showing off its classic side.
The reception was open and not closed till 4/5pm like lots of others, the hotel was spotless from top to bottom, a lift to all floors, wide open stairwell as well. The room was bright and fresh, the bed was so comfortable, bathroom was great with a shower from heaven.
Breakfast was freshly baked on the premises and was topped up all the time.
It was an overall great stay and recommend it to all couples.
The view of the coast was perfect and location was spot on.

Room Tip: Coastal views are the best, tad more money wise but so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have to say that I was very disappointed by the "welcome" and by the cleanliness of our room. It's necessary to recognize that the owner makes works to improve the comfort, but his willingness is not enough...!
I think that considering the works he has to make, he would need to close the hotel and not to receive customers during this period. Many of them (customers) were disappointed.
The cleanliness of our room was really doubtful.
What an experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JURGEN W, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Littoral, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Vladimir,
Are you sure that your comment concerns HOTEL LITTORAL in Berck ? We had last months nobody from Ukraine, although we had some russians which gave us very good comments on booking.com where we have 8,1/10 - VERY GOOD. Moreover our hotel had been largely modernised this winter so I'm really surprised by your comment.
Best regards
J W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I agree with Luminosity's review entirely. The owners are very pleasant and helpful, and I realise they can't make all the changes at once. The rooms are clean; however I do think it's a little unfair to make the same charge for all the seaview rooms especially the ones that badly need upgrading. We went as 2 couples. One of us had a 2nd floor room which was small but with adequate room, reasonably furnished. Ours, on 3rd floor, had dated wallpaper, paint peeling off the walls, no curtains (only nets) and a non-functioning blind. We didn't discover this until it was time to go to bed - by which time reception had closed. I had to rig up my plastic raincoat to serve as a blackout curtain. There was very little room to move, and I was pleased that we were only staying form one night The shower would have flooded the bathroom had I not used it as hand held only. The shower curtain barely gave enough protection against splashback. I was dismayed to see the room was right opposite the lift, but to be fair, there was no real noise from this, but there was no aircon so we needed the window open - so we had some traffic noise and some shouting outside in the street about 3 a.m. It is well situated for the beach and the town.

Room Tip: Be aware that if you book a sea view you will also face the street and get traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Everything was really perfect, very comfortable and quiet excellent and affordable
Breakfast was great and coffee really good ,
The Owners and the staff was really friendly and very helpful
I definitely recommend this place and i would be happy to visit again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a 2 star hotel near the seafront. According to the new owner, it has been in their possession for two months and they plan to make some changes. It has to be said, changes are needed. The hotel is fine for a brief overnight stay but faded and dated decor and a not great breakfast along with unconnectable wifi slightly diminished what would have been adequate. The bed was comfy though and I found the owner to be very pleasant and extremely helpful. I wish the new owners good luck and hope to return at some point.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is a well located hotel that is utilitarian and entirely acceptable but nothing special. The staff were hardly the most friendly, but the place is clean and safe as well as being reasonably priced. On the whole I'd recommend the hotel, but there is a lack of competition and they could easily try a bit harder. The location is excellent, an easy two minute stroll to the lovely beach, or the other direction, to the centre of town.

Room Tip: Our room had a grea view overlookong the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Littoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Littoral

Address: 36 av Marianne Toute Seule, 62600 Berck, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Berck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Berck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Utilize your stay on the Côte d'Opale to discover or rediscover Hotel Le Littoral.Jürgen and Marine Weise (English, german, dutch & russian speaking) welcome you to Hotel Le Littoral in Berck-sur-Mer. At just a few steps away from both the sandy beach and the shopping area, you can enjoy our hotel with sea-view terraces, in an international setting and warm, friendly atmosphere.The rooms can accommodate up to four persons and are all equipped with a private bathroom and a TV. In addition you can stay connected with your friends and family using the free WiFi network serving all floors.Every morning, the Weise family offers you a breakfast, served either in the dining hall of the hotel or in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Littoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Littoral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.