We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for overnight stop on route to Calais but don't expect luxury!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Les Iris Hotel

Les Iris Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Les Iris Hotel to your Saves list
Les Iris Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Avenue de Verdun, 62600 Berck, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Berck
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great for overnight stop on route to Calais but don't expect luxury!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a family room for one night after a long trip from the south of France. This is no means a luxury hotel but it is very reasonably priced, was clean and our family room had a double bed and bunks for our two children. The bathroom was adequate but was definitely in need of a refurb! The parking is secure as the gates are locked at 10 pm and you need a code to get in. No English is spoken by reception staff which is fair enough as we were in France but we left not knowing if they had taken payment on our card or not as the receptionist did not understand out attempt to ask in French!
It is only 45 drive from the channel tunnel so great if you have an early crossing like we did and it is also right next to a big Carrefour supermarket and macdonalds if you don't want to go into Berck itself. We did go into the town and found a good selection of restaurants.
Overall a good place to stay for one night but wouldn't like to stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    9
    9
    0
See reviews for
4
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

It is a cheap hotel just next to a big Carrefour supermarket.We stayed in a quadruplet room with a bunker bed.

Positives
Cheap
Easy to Find
Free Wifi
Good size room

Negatives
Not very clean,especially blankets were smelly.Bed sheets,pillows and blanket covers were OK but blankets are not actually inside of duvets and it makes them keep touching to you.
Bathroom is too small
Heating was off or very low when between midnight and early morning and the room was cold.Not freezing cold but very uncomfortable
No reception after a certain time (10.00 pm ?)So you can not let them know if anything goes wrong (if the room is cold!) or if you check in late you have to do it with a auto-check in machine which we have not used since we checked in while the receptionist was there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
505 reviews 505 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Iris is situated on the outskirts of town - it took us about 40 minutes to stroll to the sea front- in a Zone Commercial.
It offers basic snack type food and there is a Hot Potato diner and a McD*** within 10 minutes walking distance.
The room was very small. You had to walk sideways at times to get around the bed and the bathroom was even more tight to negotiate!
Only an inconvenience. Value for money the Iris is very good. It was clean and tidy, everything worked and the receptionist was friendly and spoke English. The bed was comfy and was well insulated from the nearby traffic.
We would have no problems going back there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel as our ferry was booked for the following evening from Dunkirk and we wanted to look at some WWII stuff in the area. The room was clean enough and has obviously had an upgrade since we read some quite poor reports soon after we booked it. Typically a 3 person room with a double bed and an overhead bunk bed, these were comfortable. The shower was clean and plenty of very hot water.

I wasn't impressed with 2 flights of stairs and an automatic booking machine. It worked eventually although the bill was confusing, showing a breakfast we hadn't ordered, however the actual bill in the morning was correct when explained by the friendly breakfast staff.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor at the front, it was interesting in the morning to watch all the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Iris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Iris Hotel

Address: 33 Avenue de Verdun, 62600 Berck, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Berck
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Berck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Les Iris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of a residential area at the entrance of Berck sur Mer, the hotel offers the traveler a comfortable and quiet stay just minutes from downtown and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Les Iris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Iris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.