We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Klefitiko dry” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Akrogiali

Akrogiali
Seafront, Stoupa 24024, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Stoupa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Klefitiko dry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very busy with good views over bay and mountains.

Kleftiko dry, partner enjoyed his pork fillet which was fine. Service slow.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    22
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bIRMINGHAM ENGLAND
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“you need to be hungry!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Amazing food with charming service. Huge portions of top quailty. Amazing spot right overlooking the beach.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in the region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We are regular visitors of Stoupa as we have always spent some of our holiday time there for the past 7 years. Akrogiali is a family favourite! We are now using it as reference point for comparison with other restaurants in and out of Greece.

It has superb quality, super tasty food, in large portions and extremely reasonable prices. Their grilled menu is fantastic, especially the stuffed beef burger. They offer many options of staples and vegetables with the main course as well as sauces at no extra cost. The staff is friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. The setting is fantastic, especially in sunsets, with panoramic views of the Stoupa beach and mountain Taygetos.

Not to be missed if you are in the vicinity!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollaston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This used to be one of our favourite tavernas. However, the queuing is tiresome and they don't take bookings. The fact that you have to queue should be a good sign, but having stood around for a long time, waiting for a table to become available, we were very disappointed, both with the meal and the service. We were squashed into a very small space and were constantly nudged by other diners sitting very close to us. Not the enjoyable experience we had looked forward to!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Superb choice, service and value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Probably the best Taverna for quality, choice, service and value for money. When people are prepared to 'wait' for a table this generally tells you it is worth waiting for !
Try the Prawns in bacon as a starter - our favourite !!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akrogiali also viewed

Stoupa, Messenia Region
Stoupa, Messenia Region
 
Stoupa, Messenia Region
Stoupa, Messenia Region
 

Been to Akrogiali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akrogiali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.