We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent meal at this relaxed restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yesterday & Today

Yesterday & Today
Overlooking Stoupa Bay | Above and opposite Stoupa Harbour, Stoupa 24022, Greece
+302721077535
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 28 restaurants in Stoupa
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Greek, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: From our restaurant you can enjoy fascinating views, beautiful sunsets of vibrant colours, blue seas and the magnificent Taygetos mountain range . We offer a unique combination of traditional specialities and irresistible taste, with dishes prepared from fresh ingredients, using olive oil from our own olive trees and infused with our love of cooking.In our restaurant you can also meet the past through our collection of old photographs showing scenes of life in the Mani. You will get a feeling of our roots. Together, in a pleasant nice environments, we will bake bread and a variety of local baked goods like "diples", "lalagia" and "tiganopites" in a traditional wood-fired oven.We will also learn how olives are harvested and olive oil is produced. In addition, we will also talk about how silk production was done in our area in the past and other subjects including how olive oil soap is made. You can join us and feel the warmth of a shared evening. New for 2012 we will be offerring interactive cookery sessions, where clients can take an active part in creating some of the specialities associated with the Mani area.
Bucks
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Another excellent meal at this relaxed restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A superb octopus starter began an enjoyable meal on a warm, windy evening in Stoupa with an excellent view over the front.
We've eaten here before, though not for a few years, and it's still a subtle variation from the more typical taverna-style eateries in the area, though also very Greek.
Sadly the high wind prevented the usual bread-making demonstration (it was a Wednesday) so we had to visit the bakery to buy our breakfast rations.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    52
    14
    9
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Something really special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This really is a little bit different and very, very special. The view is breathtaking, especially when viewed from super comfortable dining chairs!
Voula cooks with great flair - think Greek with a twist-her warmth and kindness permeate the taverna and help make for a great eating experience. Julia competently runs front of house, she knows her menu, and is happy to explain each dish in great detail, guiding you in your selection ( believe me it's tough) .
Free spring water ( not bottled) a nice Eco touch-decent rose wine.
The food was sublime- voula had kindly made a soup I had earlier requested-my friends tomato pie was delicious. Stir fried shrimps and honeyed pork with pasta ribbons - divine.leave room for a pudding - chocolate pudding number 2 is beyond words - and the white chocolate pud a delight.
Yes slightly more expensive than other tavernas- but wiorth every euro! 45 € in total.
My only slight quibble was the two young waiting staff - do, I feel need a lesson in customer service from Julia- just so she can gently remind them, that a smile really does go a long way!
Other than that - ignore any troll like negative comments churned out on here - believe me - you will not be disappointed, infact I guarantee one visit will not be enough
Thank you voula and Julia x

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply wonderful.....time and time again....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Well for our 7th visit to Stoupa we were really looking forward to eating at ‘Voulas’ or Yesterday & Today, we were not disappointed as usual .......we ate there a total of 3 times during our 2 week stay and each time we were not disappointed.
I can highly recommend starting with the ‘grandmothers fried pies’ which are delicious pieces of fried soda bread dusted with bits of Feta and served with a small sample of the Carrot surprise salad. Gorgeous  They go even better with a portion of the baked feta..........
As vegetarians we are not stuck for eating here and we get to choose a more varied variety away from the usual Briam and Giant beans............Voulas veggie version of Moussaka is a must as is the vegetable Pastichio, can highly recommend this place for stunning food, views and cats !!!! Service is friendly and relaxed, you can take your time and enjoy a full evening out rather than being hurried out like restaurants in England....
We will always visit Voulas as long as it remains open and serving !!!

As for the negative reviews..well.....the waitressing staff, Greek, English and Albanian, all speak English with varying abilities.........there has never been an issue with rude service, arrogance or being moved from 4 seater tables ! in fact we sat on a 4 seater each visit without issue. Please take these negative reviews with a pinch of salt, everyone has an opinion of course and there are entitled to it, but to get personal sat behind a keyboard is cowardly and unhelpful. They can ruin peoples businesses and reputation, so think before typing people!

If you are visiting Stoupa then please take the time to try out Yesterday and Today, it is simply some of the best food available in the area!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
voulastoupa, Owner at Yesterday & Today, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Just wanted to go on record to say thank you for your considerate review of my Taverna.
We look forward to being of service to you during future visits to Stoupa.
Once again - thank you for taking time out to write such a comprehensive and detailed review.

Kindest Regards,
Voula & All the Staff at Yesterday & Today
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very poor service bland food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Poor service. Allot of mistakes on order and on bill (overcharged). Servers did not speak English.
Many superior restuarants in Stoupa, Greece. This is not one of them. Did not accept credit card cash only.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“just as fabulous on our 2nd trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We first visited this simply beautiful restaurant on our last holiday to Stoupa. On returning this September, we had no hesitation where we wanted our first meal - Yesterday and Today. In fact, sad peoplecthat we are, we fantasised about our first meal here some weeks before!

We were not disappointed. I am glad Julia is still there, what a super hostess. I read the run of earlier reviews with dismay, why such a personal attack on such a kind lady? Words fail me.

Anyway, sometimes when you build somewhere up, you ar disappointed not so here. Beautiful food, that was hard to beat in the many otherwise good restaurants in Stoupa.

Please please ignore the batch of negative reviews. Look at all the reviews, then go and judge for youself.

And, i' ve not even mentioned the best view of the sunset for Stoupa!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yesterday & Today also viewed

Stoupa, Messenia Region
Stoupa, Messenia Region
 
Stoupa, Messenia Region
Stoupa, Messenia Region
 

Been to Yesterday & Today? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yesterday & Today, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.