We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lazy holiday in paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar to your Saves list
Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Road Marumbi, Uroa, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Uroa
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lazy holiday in paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have just returned from a very nice vacation in this resort hotel in Zanzibar. All good songs come to an end, and so did our holiday in this little piece of paradise. The resort is beautiful, nice african atmosphere, clean rooms, friendly welcome and above all very quiet location in the green. For us this was the perfect blend for a relaxing lazy holiday. The tidal beach is maybe not perfect, but the private beach house beach 5 min away makes it all more than good. We wish we could go back tomorrow! A real winner.

Room Tip: Nice rooms with seaviews. Maybe not the most modern rooms, but this is Africa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonideCastro, Director Comercial at Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
We hope your wish comes true. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    81
    23
    10
    21
See reviews for
32
125
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

After inquiring about resorts in Zanzibar and contacting several of them we decided to book "Paradise Beach" because they were pretty much the only ones who sent prompt replies and answers to our questions. The initial idea was to stay there for the whole duration of our vacation (25 days) so we also managed to negotiate a good price which was another plus. However when we got there it was a major disappointment.
First and most important thing I would advise people who consider this resort: DON'T TRUST THE WEBSITE.
Few examples, these are quotes from their website:
"Close to our resort we have a fish market and a typical African fishermen village. Here you find the local souvenirs stores, restaurants, and a lot of local"
"You can make a short walk from the Resort beach to our beach house. This is a nice walk"
" The beautiful views with the local fisherman boats and the fish market make your stay in our Resort very enjoyable."

None of this is true. Not a single thing.
First of all you will be advised by te staff to NOT leave the resort on your own because it's not safe. Second, there's no market, restaurants or anything. The "village" is basically a road with houses on each side and few shops with very few basic items. The beach is quite far from the resort and you'd have to go through a very ugly part of the "village" so it certainly wouldn't be a nice walk. I wouldn't recommend it.
As for the view I will let the pictures speak for themselves. Also, when you see them it's clear that there is no such thing as "beautiful private beach"... When the tide is low you'll see very dirty sand that feels more like mud when you walk through it which I wouldn't recommend either because there's a lot of glass, thrown away clothes and other garbage in it.
Also, forget about the staff speaking all the languages listed on the website. Most of them do speak Italian but good luck with other languages.
The most notable thing for us is the fact that this place was so isolated. To get anywhere from it you'd have to pay about 50 dollars. 50$ for a drive to Stone Town, 50$ to go to snorkeling/diving site (+ of course all the costs there) etc... we felt like everyone is trying to rip us off all the time. One day we asked the driver (Alex) if there was a local restaurant or something like that in the "village" because we got bored of the food at the resort and he said sure, he can organise it for us... but guess what... it's 50$ per person for a meal (note: dinner in all the other places we visited (Kendwa, Nungwi etc) is about 5-10$ per person). I have more examples but this should be enough.
On a positive note the inside of the resort really did look like on the website (rooms, pool, bars, restaurants etc.). However there is no such thing as spa, infra-red sauna or any of that.
I would recommend this place ONLY if you speak Italian AND have your own transportation, otherwise don't waste your time. It's too far from everything and definitely not worth it.

Room Tip: If you insist on going to this place try to get a room far from the road, it can get really loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director Comercial at Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
We are sorry that your Holiday in Zanzibar didn't result as good as you dreamed of, but let me put things back to place. This is Africa. Luckely Zanzibar is not one of those massive touristic resorts, our Hotel is close to what you call a "Village", this village is home of the Zanzibari people, this is how the live, those are their shops and restaurants. Local people make their living from tourist, and it's in your interest to agree the best price for services and foods, if you are not smart enough it can work a little pricy. Again this is Africa.
Regarding our baeches, we do publish that we have 2 beaches, a low tide beach and a private beach. Most of our guest use our shuttle service to go to the private beach, but others decide to walk it. There is no massive distance, and it's safe, despite of the comments made. Regarding this matter, we will advise our staff not to frighten people (if they did). Zanzibar is safe.
Languages. Our webpage is available in many languages, to make the web user friendly, this doesn't mean that we speak all languages on the web.
We have to apologize for the Spa, sauna wellness,... it was under construction, it was planned to be finished at the end of March, but Spa and Sauna where held on board the ship, producing a serious delay over 2 months. We have published on Facebook around a month ago, pictures of our spa, placed just beside the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for two days in 2012, they have incredibly charming staff that never passes you without smiling. Good budget accomodation but not for outdoor experience, as other reviewers have said before the beach is located away from the hotel but that is not a huge problem as transport is readily provided.. seaweed is the devil here (is actually a seaweed farm), u can hardly walk in the sea without having your feet cut!

Food is below average, too basic for a holiday! Sometimes too dry and breakfast has too much different types of "bread".

Beautiful and very relaxing swimming pool. Very simple rooms yet so romantic. However is always scary stepping in a non tiled bathroom! Ps the bathroom is a scar in the rooms fix that!

Overall is a nice place for those looking for a place to relax, cool no noise. Simple touches in the bathroom and improvement in the food can make this a wonderful place!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thanks for your review and for staying in our Hotel.
We take good notice of your comments. Surprised about food comments, we will check on that, we usually get congratulations for it.
Regrading our bathrooms. The hotel has been recently renovated. Bathrooms are African style standard bathrooms. We are thinking of making an upgrade in them in a near future.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We started our search for our honeymoon in April, on the internet. We are both scuba instructors so our first concern was about the diving. We found the special of the Paradise beach resort and decided to look into it, sharing emails with the owner Bert Schoonvelde. He sent us their special they were running for honeymooners which worked nicely for our budget. He told us that there is many options for diving from his resort costing from $45 upward. Another concern we had was on the food as I have a sensitive stomach and can only eat certain foods, so we inquired about buffets, which we were insured they offer, with everyday a new variety. Being our honeymoon we wanted to know if they offered beauty treatments, we were told they have "2" ladies as well as Jacuzzi and fitness machines. As you can see we tried to do our homework and everything was shared via email and given to us directly from the owner. We set off very excited for our honeymoon. From the beginning there was problems. The price we were giving had now changed, upon presenting the price we were given from Bert, it was fixed. We were then taken to our room which was not seafront as stated on the brochure, but behind a building and next to the staff quarters, who make a noise constantly: screaming kids, shouting etc, not their fault as its their home, but i don't wish to have that on my honeymoon. We received our complementary champagne and fruits. From the next day it was just down hill from there. They forgot to mention that they are doing maintenance and that is why it is on a special, during breakfast and lunch you have a constant grind and banging so loud that you cant talk to each other, when speaking to the owner about this problem he told us that we could have gone to sit out on the jetty side of the restaurant, which is not pleasant when its raining, so again shrugged off as our fault. Not to mention the problems (hygiene and legalities) of the cement mixer and construction dust right where you sit and where food is being prepared, but no problem to them. I have also never been to a hotel where the staff sit in the same area as the guests not to mention them sharing in their own romantic relations right in front of you! Their was NO buffet... which after quite a few queries were approached by the head chef, who was really great and accommodating, told us that they don't do buffets during low season, which is very understandable, but then why were we told that they do? Our room had a few problems, to mention a few: the TV was broken (which is needed when it rains and a bit of down time could be enjoyed), eventually fixed. toilet was broken twice, air-con broken once. All these things that are unfortunate and not to bad, but when the client is made to feel uncomfortable because you ask for it to be fixed, i find this unacceptable. We payed for a honeymoon package which included a few things one being an infra red sauna treatment - they didn't have this (so why is it advertised),so we were given a fully inclusive stone town trip - upon getting in the vehicle (broken - boot doesn't open from the outside, gears are clearly in need of repair and we had to stop on the way home (at night) as the light weren't working properly) we were told that there is a fee for the guides, which we paid, upon querying the fully inclusive deal with the managers, she informed us that they gave Alex(driver) money for the trip,when confronting Alex on this I got shouted at and made to feel quite uncomfortable by him. We then wanted to go on the boat trip as part of our honeymoon package, when asking about the state of the boat and if there are life jackets - they told us that there was no life jackets, "that is life" - apparently they now have life jackets. There was only one beauty therapist (who was lovely) not 2 as we were told by Bert, and my husband and I had to take turns getting a massage. There was also no fitness center as stated on their brochure, they were busy with it (so why is it advertised it). Diving - they forgot to mention that it is an hour away from them and costs you $50 just to get there through them, the people they use, rip you off completely, so we found another dive center who was willing to pick us up (for less than the hotel) and work out a deal for diving for the duration of our stay. My husband eventually lost it when we were trying to have an afternoon nap but couldn't as the construction was so loud, I agree that it was uncalled for but a person can only handle so much. We are a well traveled couple travelling through hostels and backpackers right up to 5 star accommodation in the Maldives. We know what the standards are but this is definitely not a 4 star hotel. It is also very isolated, which means you have to organize for transport anywhere, which is expensive and the prices change depending on where you come from.To end on a good note, I would just like to mention the head chef and restaurant staff is 4 star quality, their English and communication skills could improve, but having said that, they are were great and the chef was willing to accommodate us with our food choices, even making us a birthday cake for my husbands birthday!!! We are not unreasonable people, but this hotel really takes advantage and has a "that's life" attitude. This is very sad for Zanzibar itself, as the nature and history is beautiful but the standard is beyond shocking.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't pick a room near the staff quarters or the road, it is very noisy! And make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Sir,
I'm sorry to say that none of your review is true. We have not back rooms, all rooms at the resort have see views! The hotel layout is U shaped with the pool in the center and the sea right in front, so all rooms have sea views.
Staff rooms are not in the main complex. Rooms are just opossite the hotel in a seperate building.
Apologize for the maintenence. This is the only part of your review that is correct, but for guest to be happy with the hotels features is necesary to matain the place. That is one of the reasons to give out a best price. Also, in Hotel industry we have from High season to low season. The reason is obvious: weather, occupation, mantainance......
Pictures. Again this is a manipulation of the situation. Again you came in low season, we publish that the Hotel beach is a low tide beach, so it's possible (not often) that we can have low tide with sea grass. This is not usual, but can happen.
In low season, and depending in occupation we can adjust our Buffet to a la carte meal plan. That is what we did. Again a seasonal matter.
Our Wellness was under construction at your stay. Yes, we have to apoogize it was not finished, but we had plan to have our welness center oponed for the end of March, but due to trannsport delays (this is Africa) the gadgets got to the Hotel 2 months later.
In Zanzibar, as in most of destinations worlwide, you can contract trips to certified companies or you can purchase other trips to who knows who. We cannot offer trips that don't give us the sufficient guarantee of quality and services.
To end, yes Zanzibar has that type of style "that's life" and Zanzibari people are improving their language skills, profesionalism,..... but again this is Africa. That is what makes appealing for many people this destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Marumbi Beach resort has a new name called "paradise beach resort", Just 35 kms from the ferry and airport. It is a nice place for relaxing, rooms are clean, the swimming pool is big and great hospitality. The most wonderful thing I like about the place is plenty of activities are arranged from dolphin tours, beach house tours, African traditional dances, and many others. The food is so delicious so I recommend you to go for a full board to enjoy the food.
I spent two nights full board with my family and enjoyed everything there. The rates are reasonable compared to other beach resorts.

Room Tip: I went for suite, it is quite big with additional side bed. It was enough for family of three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed at this resort for 1 week.
Firstly the staff are wonderful and the manager is very welcoming. Thye employ a large number of locals and this is great for the local community.
We styed on a deal $95 per night plus meals which I felt was good value. As we were already in Zanzibar we were able to look before committing.
The pool area is nice and relaxing the beach however is a short drive away the beach at the resort is tidal full of seaweed and not inviting at all.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this to peolpe who want to party as there was not much of an atmosphere. it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonideCastro, Director of Sales at Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thanks for your stay with us. It’s a pleasure to hear that you had a nice time. Shame that you were unable to enjoy the Resort’s Beach. The beach is indeed tidal, but it’s really good in certain periods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Marumbi Beach Ora Resort ( now called Paradise Beach Resort ) is definitely the place for those searching beautiful and romantic place with unique african/zanzibari feeling, far away from uniform 5* hotels.

Hotel - is situated directly on the coast in the Chwaka bay. You will find here everything you need to enjoy and relax. African style buildings, green area, palms, pool, sand, volleyball court, bar, animations, ocean sunrise, etc.

Room - match to hotel style – simple but spacious and clean, equipped with air-con and safe. The bed with mosquito net. Nobody comes here to watch TV...

Food – simple but tasty buffet style breakfast is just a beginnig. Buffet lunch and dinner is the gastronomic highlight of the day ;) Fresh, tasty and delicious food prepared by always well disposed chef you will never forget. You will enjoy crabs, octopus, calamary, fishes, chicken, beef and daily fresh and sweet passion fruit, pine-apple, mango, water-melon, banana,...

Staff – very very nice and friendly people. Maybe not as perfect as in 5* european hotel but very personal, smiling and always ready to serve and help. They are the treasure of the hotel.

Beach – hotel beach is not good for swimming but hotel shuttle will bring you to beautiful Uroa beach in 5-7 minutes where you can enjoy also small hotel bar and to meet another friendly and lovely people.

Result – This is the right place to spend amazing holiday. We do recommend to everybody, just be conscious you are in Africa. So enjoy it ! And we want to emphasize again two things – gourmet food and unique people !

Thank you, Bert ! Asante sana, dada ! Asante, kaka ! Bahati nzuri !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonideCastro, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thanks for your splendid review! There is not much we can say. Good comment “be conscious you are in Africa”. Asante sana! Bahati nzuri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar

Address: Road Marumbi, Uroa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paradise Beach Hotel Resort is located in Uroa, one of the best tourist enclaves of Zanzibar, and just 35km from the capital, Stone Town and its international airport. Here, you will enjoy a spacious holiday complex by the sea with 700m of beach front, where you will be surrounded by the best service possible, in perfect harmony with nature. The resort has been recently constructed, using materals that are respectful to the environment and maintaining an authentic African style with European comfort.Paradise Beach Hotel Resort has 56 large suites, a swimming pool, private beach, gymnasium, spa & massage area and a conference hall, together with our various bars and restaurants. The Paradise Beach Hotel resort has everything to make your stay an unforgettable one.In our hotel resort you will find a family atmosphere. There is a lot of space around the resort to find your own private place. And for others who like to be together there is always enough to do around the pool. For children we have various activities. In the evening we have mini-disco, also we can arrange during the day children entertainment or baby-sitting. The hotel resort is owned and managed by a private family. We are speaking many languages (English, Spanish, German, Dutch, Afrikaans, Italian and Swahili). We transform your holiday into a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar Tanzania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.