We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place , mixed of european and african cultures, all at reasonable rate.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar to your Saves list
Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Road Marumbi, Uroa, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Uroa
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
“Great place , mixed of european and african cultures, all at reasonable rate.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Marumbi Beach resort has a new name called "paradise beach resort", Just 35 kms from the ferry and airport. It is a nice place for relaxing, rooms are clean, the swimming pool is big and great hospitality. The most wonderful thing I like about the place is plenty of activities are arranged from dolphin tours, beach house tours, African traditional dances, and many others. The food is so delicious so I recommend you to go for a full board to enjoy the food.
I spent two nights full board with my family and enjoyed everything there. The rates are reasonable compared to other beach resorts.

Room Tip: I went for suite, it is quite big with additional side bed. It was enough for family of three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    81
    23
    10
    21
See reviews for
31
125
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed at this resort for 1 week.
Firstly the staff are wonderful and the manager is very welcoming. Thye employ a large number of locals and this is great for the local community.
We styed on a deal $95 per night plus meals which I felt was good value. As we were already in Zanzibar we were able to look before committing.
The pool area is nice and relaxing the beach however is a short drive away the beach at the resort is tidal full of seaweed and not inviting at all.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this to peolpe who want to party as there was not much of an atmosphere. it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonideCastro, Director of Sales at Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thanks for your stay with us. It’s a pleasure to hear that you had a nice time. Shame that you were unable to enjoy the Resort’s Beach. The beach is indeed tidal, but it’s really good in certain periods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Marumbi Beach Ora Resort ( now called Paradise Beach Resort ) is definitely the place for those searching beautiful and romantic place with unique african/zanzibari feeling, far away from uniform 5* hotels.

Hotel - is situated directly on the coast in the Chwaka bay. You will find here everything you need to enjoy and relax. African style buildings, green area, palms, pool, sand, volleyball court, bar, animations, ocean sunrise, etc.

Room - match to hotel style – simple but spacious and clean, equipped with air-con and safe. The bed with mosquito net. Nobody comes here to watch TV...

Food – simple but tasty buffet style breakfast is just a beginnig. Buffet lunch and dinner is the gastronomic highlight of the day ;) Fresh, tasty and delicious food prepared by always well disposed chef you will never forget. You will enjoy crabs, octopus, calamary, fishes, chicken, beef and daily fresh and sweet passion fruit, pine-apple, mango, water-melon, banana,...

Staff – very very nice and friendly people. Maybe not as perfect as in 5* european hotel but very personal, smiling and always ready to serve and help. They are the treasure of the hotel.

Beach – hotel beach is not good for swimming but hotel shuttle will bring you to beautiful Uroa beach in 5-7 minutes where you can enjoy also small hotel bar and to meet another friendly and lovely people.

Result – This is the right place to spend amazing holiday. We do recommend to everybody, just be conscious you are in Africa. So enjoy it ! And we want to emphasize again two things – gourmet food and unique people !

Thank you, Bert ! Asante sana, dada ! Asante, kaka ! Bahati nzuri !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonideCastro, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thanks for your splendid review! There is not much we can say. Good comment “be conscious you are in Africa”. Asante sana! Bahati nzuri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Marumbi Beach Ora Resort ( now called Paradise Beach Resort ) is definitely the place for those searching beautiful and romantic place with unique african/zanzibari feeling, far away from uniform 5* hotels.

Hotel - is situated directly on the coast in the Chwaka bay. You will find here everything you need to enjoy and relax. African style buildings, green area, palms, pool, sand, volleyball court, bar, animations, ocean sunrise, etc.

Room - match to hotel style – simple but spacious and clean, equipped with air-con and safe. The bed with mosquito net. Nobody comes here to watch TV...

Food – simple but tasty buffet style breakfast is just a beginnig. Buffet lunch and dinner is the gastronomic highlight of the day ;) Fresh, tasty and delicious food prepared by always well disposed chef you will never forget. You will enjoy crabs, octopus, calamary, fishes, chicken, beef and daily fresh and sweet passion fruit, pine-apple, mango, water-melon, banana,...

Staff – very very nice and friendly people. Maybe not as perfect as in 5* european hotel but very personal, smiling and always ready to serve and help. They are the treasure of the hotel.

Beach – hotel beach is not good for swimming but hotel shuttle will bring you to beautiful Uroa beach in 5-7 minutes where you can enjoy also small hotel bar and to meet another friendly and lovely people.

Result – This is the right place to spend amazing holiday. We do recommend to everybody, just be conscious you are in Africa. So enjoy it ! And we want to emphasize again two things – gourmet food and unique people !

Thank you, Bert ! Asante sana dada ! Asante kaka ! Bahati nzuri !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

From the moment we stepped into the reception area of the resort until our departure we were treated with great hospitality, kindness and warmth. Our rooms were clean, supplied with linens and towels each day. The evening turn-down meant our rooms were sprayed and readied for the night with generous sized mosquito nets.
The food was truly "home-made", tasty, not salty and every meal was different. Fruit was supplied at each meal beginning with breakfast right through to dinner. The staff worked hard to make each mealtime a treat and they succeeded. The grounds were lush and clean with a well-maintained swimming pool and nearby bar catering to the guests desires for soft, fruit or alcoholic drinks.
There are many activities easily arranged through the resort at reasonable prices. A spa is locaed on the grounds and gusts could avail themselves of it's many features.
February was a good time to stay as it is considered a low season and perfect if you want a "quiet" holiday. The staff at reception, the Rafiki bar staff, the restaurant staff and chef are all to be congratualted for making our stay one we would love to repeat. See you next year! We are coming back!.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing directly on the sea and not on the side. The ventilation is better this way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonideCastro, Director of Sales at Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
It’s our main aim to guest clients and make your holiday one of. Our staff makes a great effort in comforting our clients. From these lines I would like to publicly congratulate the whole team. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed in Tanzania for a week, and had a very condensed itinerary inclding a safari in Serengeti and Ngorongoro and finally a beach holiday in Zanzibar.

Many of the European travellers (especially Southern European) have cancelled or postponed their trips, so there should be a good choice of properties to choose from at a competitive price.

Paradise Beach Resort is a nice beach resort by the sea. Or, at least we thought so. We found out that there is no access to the sea or the beach from the hotel. They have a deal with a private beach some 5 minutes drive North from the resort and offer three daily free shuttle services to the beach.

The resort is in urgent need of refurbishment. The quality of the rooms is not top-notch, all the textiles have seen their best days and there is no tiling in the bathroom. This could be the reason for the strong smell of mould we found in our room. I took some picture of our room too, but quite honestly the flash disguises the massive wear and tear. Also, I don’t remember staying at a hotel where the shower crane would be loose.

The staff is friendly, however they need a lot of training starting from basics in the service industry ending to English language. He you can spend easily half an hour sitting in the pool bar waiting to be served. I was told that all drinks must be ordered from the bar, but you could think a team of two waiters serving two clients at the bar (including myself) could make an exemption and ask what you wanted to drink, but no.

The resort is quite far away from any other resorts and the villages of Uroa, Marumbi or Chwaka offer no dining options for a tourist not willing to venture to genuinely local restaurants. Therefore, you might end up eating at the resort.

The restaurant is very disappointing. The breakfast buffet is poor, juices and fruits are shared with flies and wasps. Coffee was probably the best part of the offer. The same continued in the evening with the dinner. As there were very few clients, I understand that the kitchen may not be able to offer everything on the menu, however they also lacked prawns which in my opinion is a fairly basic ingredient. Therefore, we decided to go for the four course set menu, which was not even too expensive. The shortages in training kicked in again and we were actually served the dishes in reverse order (excluding the dessert though). Again, the staff was very friendly and apologised for everything. I felt sorry for them to being forced to keep the appearances up with appealing facilities and inadequate training.

As we were on holiday, and the life at the resort started to cause a lot of emotional distress, we left the resort after one night. We found a resort from the other end of the spectrum not too far away, and enjoyed it a lot. This review would have been a lot grimier if we had stayed there for three nights as per the initial plan. When we left, an Italian lady responsible for guest relations at the resort, did not raise an eyebrow and only wished us an enjoyable holiday. She probably was busy with Facebook like at other times when we saw her at the reception just staring at the computer screeen. She may want to know that you can’t expect the staff to do their job properly, if the demoralisation starts from the very top.

Paradise Beach Resort is a new trading name of the property, and given the low occupancy and poor performance, I think the resort could well reinvent it and start fresh with a new name. But, without investments to the facilities and training, it will be same rubbish, just packaged differently.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else. If you have to be here, try to get a room which is not adjoining the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntonideCastro, Propietario at Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thank you for your review, as we understand you was not happy with your booking what was made by a non know travel agent. And give you maybe not the correct information about your wishes..

Our resort is 3 years ago built and is in good condition. I took-over the Resort and we upgrade 50 rooms and they are well decorated and in new condition. You must have one of the 6 rooms what was not up graded. On this monent all rooms are upgraded.

Your arrival day must be not a day as ussual. It was exactly the day between many check-outs and new arrivals. Specialy in the high season months we are almost fully booked. And our guest are all happy.

Our Bar is giving the best service, maybe they made a mistake to think that you was relaxing arround the pool and they did not see your wish to order. We have 100% staff from Zanzibar and they are always very helpfull and friendly.

Our Resort is located in Uroa, in a range of 5 kilometer you will find 12 resorts and guesthouses. Also you will find local restaurant on different spots on the beaches. But Zanzibar is a not over crowed island. It is Africa, and Zanzibar is a very beautifull island were you can have a relax holiday.

Our restaurant is serving very good food, our Chef is absolutly one of the best in Zanzibar. The breakfast is a normal continental breakfast served as a buffet. About the flies and wesp, we changed this. Our Makuti restaurant is in the open air (zanzibar is always nice weather), off course with roof for the sunshade. The problem was the fresh fruits what we are serving by all meals, the insect like it also. We have changed this now and it is in a cooled closed section.

We took your comment serious about the Italian lady, she is replaced for a new one. He is doing his job very well and understand that guest relation is more important than face-book.

About our beach, as we promote our hotel with a low-tide beach, this is correct. In zanzibar we have high and low tide. By low tide we have a long natural beach. But we have our OWN beachhouse close to our resort, here we have a perfect beach, 5 km long, white sand, perfect for swimming, surfing and much more. Our shuttle bus is always going 4x in the morning and 3x in the afternoon. But when guest need more times we go more times. Our combination with 2 beaches is very unique and all guest like it. Specialy we are one of the few resorts were you see in the resort the local fishermans and sealive and in the second beach, a beach from 5 km long. No beach-boys, and a lot of relax. On this beach you will find various local restaurants.

We are sorry about your bad experience, but you was staying only a few hours in the resort and you had no time to see how it normaly is going. 2 hours after your departure we had a arrival from 45 guest who stayed 10 days. All of them was happy. In the short time that you was here I was not able to meet you.

So when you planned to come back to Zanzibar, try our resort again, you will be supprised!

Bert Schoonvelde
general manager resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

I can't write enough about this great little paradise now actually called Paradise Beach Hotel! The hotel is at the other side of the island but just about 30 minutes drive away, hotel taxi would cost you $50, try cracking a local deal and you might find a taxi for $25 although we booked it from hotel, didn't wanted to take the chances while I was traveling with family n children. 

The rooms are cozy yet no room service, no telephone, no television, no electronics except a fan, aircon and a safe... Well what else do you need when you are looking for a gateway. 

Friendly people, great management, helping hands all around you, just a smile away for help. Breakfast, lunch, dinner was great, all buffet although you could order in advance if you want special serving. Generally speaking the food was great and we never had to order anything specific.  

The resort has got a great pool overlooking the sea and all the rooms, have a near by bar which severs drinks and bites all day long. The resort doesn't have it's own beach but they do have a private beach, free shuttles are operated every thirty minutes. 

I think i will return and would certainly recommend anyone looking for a quiet and romantic vacation!

Keep up the good work Bert!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar

Address: Road Marumbi, Uroa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paradise Beach Hotel Resort is located in Uroa, one of the best tourist enclaves of Zanzibar, and just 35km from the capital, Stone Town and its international airport. Here, you will enjoy a spacious holiday complex by the sea with 700m of beach front, where you will be surrounded by the best service possible, in perfect harmony with nature. The resort has been recently constructed, using materals that are respectful to the environment and maintaining an authentic African style with European comfort.Paradise Beach Hotel Resort has 56 large suites, a swimming pool, private beach, gymnasium, spa & massage area and a conference hall, together with our various bars and restaurants. The Paradise Beach Hotel resort has everything to make your stay an unforgettable one.In our hotel resort you will find a family atmosphere. There is a lot of space around the resort to find your own private place. And for others who like to be together there is always enough to do around the pool. For children we have various activities. In the evening we have mini-disco, also we can arrange during the day children entertainment or baby-sitting. The hotel resort is owned and managed by a private family. We are speaking many languages (English, Spanish, German, Dutch, Afrikaans, Italian and Swahili). We transform your holiday into a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar Tanzania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Beach Resort Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.