We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holidays in P.A.R.A.D.I.S.E” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uroa Bay Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Uroa Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uroa Bay, Uroa PO BOX 2675, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Uroa
Poznan, Poland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Holidays in P.A.R.A.D.I.S.E”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

At first I would really like to thank the whole Uroa Bay Beach crew - you really made my holidays, the best holidays ever.

BUNGALOWS:

I went there with my mom on 31st of May - 11st of June 2013. It was still the low season so it wasn't crowdy. From the very first moment I was amazed. All of the little bungalows are built in the tropical garden. There are three types of them- the garden view ones, the sea view ones and the ocean front ones. We lived in the garden view bungalow. It was exactly as in the picture. Very comfy with kingsized bed, one single bed- both with mosquito-curtain, flatscreen, big wardrobe, fridge, safe and the toiletries. Every bungalow has it's own bathroom with big bathtub. Each one has also a big private terrace with table and african-style chairs. The room has the air condition, but also the fan. Everyday the housekeepers cleaned the room, changed the towels and the linen, and decorated the room with some fresh flowers. They also sprayed the mosquito-nets with anti-mosquito sprays.

WIFI/POOL

The free wifi is in all public
areas, like reception (with big beds for chillout), bar and pool.
The pool is being cleaned everyday. There is one big, one for kids, one jacuzzi and one just to lay in it and cool yourself.

BEACH

There is a private beach with sunbeds which are covered with mattresses. Local people can't walk on that beach. Just few steps lower, there is a kilometers wide, clean, snow-white sandy beach, which dissapears when the high tide comes (but it's finally the possibility to swim without touching the sea-weed and the ground :P ). But then when the low tide comes again the heaven-looking beach comes out of the water.

FOOD:

Every day there is another cuisine for lunch. We had for example swahili night, italian night, seafood night etc. The food is really fresh and tasty, I really couldn't want more. Everyday before main lunch, there is a free buffet with alcohol and non-alcohol drink and some snacks like banana chips, peanuts etc. The breakfast is continental.

As we were in this low season, there was not much of the entertainment shows- once we saw the acrobatic show and two, three times per week the live-band. But I guess, in the high season there will be something everyday.

MANAGEMENT:

The Italian management was absolutely professional. The General Manager was really friendly, helpful in everycase and really made us feel special. We met also the doctor, one of the most smiling person in the hotel.

Because there was only like 25 guests in the hotel (at the beginning like 10) everyone knew each other and we felt like a one big family. No loud kids, just few old couples, few young, few honeymooners and some groups of friends.

To sum up: I would do it again and again and again if I only could. I recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to chill out, to feel special, to live in paradise for a while. I can assure you that Uroa Bay Beach Resort is one of the greatest hotels I've ever been to.

BIG thank you guys!

Monika and Liliana

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    93
    25
    11
    2
See reviews for
48
158
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went with Family to Relax very good design rather topography of the hotel , a huge beach is attached with it. Italian management so you get to eat mostly continental , break fast was very good. Staffs were curtious and very flexible. Rooms were very romantic and had balcony attached which projected towards the beach. Pool was very well designed for kids and for adult. Evening was quite boring with very strange voiced pop show has to close my ears. Had couple of traditional beds prepared near the reception and near the pool. Had a good travel desk. Only issue we faced its far off the north,south or even city center, and airport so taxis will suck your money.

Room Tip: Always take the rooms close to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The resort itself was lovely. The rooms are very nice with a private terrace/balcony: large; clean, good facilities including toiletries, a fridge, TV (with limited channels) and a safe. The internet is only available in the reception and bar area. The room was decorated with fresh flowers every day by the house keeper and she also left us a nice note. The pool area is nice. The beach is lovely too with hardly a soul on it. Despite what people had said, the sea didn't go out far on a low tide. Our only criticism would be that we paid extra for a sea view but it was more of a sea "glimpse" than a sea view. I would say only the "beach front" cottages have proper sea views. And the resort is in the middle of nowhere so if you like to walk out and look around, this is not the place. The food was OK and not too expensive to say there was nowhere else to eat nearby. The buffet was $15 each but there was also an a la carte menu. We paid 45,000 TSH ($30) for a taxi from Stonetown to the resort (about 45 minutes drive). The Uroa Bay would have organised a taxi for $50. If you like to rest and just enjoy the facilities, this is a nice place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

One of the best place if you wanna chill out in east coast, it's perfect comparing to price.
Local staff is very friendly and hospitable but Italian staff is very unfriendly .
The rooms are very good , clean. nice quiet place.
In sum, have a great time in Uroa Bay Beach Resort

Room Tip: avoid Italian staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Rooms were fabulously decorated however beds were quite solid. Hotel itself is like a picture from a magazine, paradise. Beach v clean, pool fab.

Only let down was the food. Hotel located quite far from everywhere so no other options for food, taxi to stone town $50 one way. The restraunt was full of flys all the time and there was a poor selection on the menu. They ran out of lettuce and offered us cabbage instead, salad with cabbage??? asked for a pasta dish and a side of prawns to be added and the chef refused?? Was quite disappointed with the food. Breakfast was lovely tho.

Excursion booked in the hotel to stone town and prison island was brilliant and good value

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Not sure if it was because i went during off season but it felt like the hotel was really not trying to go out of their way to make your stay memorable. On my first lunch was told buffet wasnt available because of not enough customers, so had to buy a la carte. Is that my fault? Restaurant staff had poor grasp of english too. Not saying it was a terrible hotel but it could have been so much better. The place felt a little dated too, the decor the rooms etc. i'v paid less in other places and received much better services.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uroa_bay, Proprietario at Uroa Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review.
We regret you have chosen the low and rainy season to visit Zanzibar... but sometimes you have holidays during certain periods, then what to do? ...give up?!
Anyway about the lunch buffet in which you refer, we explain more about our philosophy. During the mid-high season, we organize the main meals (breakfast, lunch, dinner) las buffet, while during the low season in which, 90% of reservations are in BB, we do not organize the buffet for lunch. We do not because our buffet as you saw, is spacious and set it up just for 2/4 guests it is not only unattractive but it is just a waste of resources.
So we decided to make a menu "à la carte" as it's just in a paper and not a buffet where customers serve themselves; in this way, they can sit at the table and be served by our staff; the menu includes 2 starters, 2 first dishes, 2 main dishes, 2 side dishes, fruit and dessert. The customer may decide to order all the menu, only one part as well as ask several times everything. Any customer paid an extra cost if the treatment booked was FB (which also includes lunch buffet).

The property is new and only 5 years old as well as has been fully furnished with local materials, combined with Italian elements, then call it "dated" is not quite correct. The same goes for the rooms that have all wooden local furniture very nice.
Our staff speaks Italian, English and French ...did you have any difficulty to be understood? If you would have asked for help, we would have been happy to handle it.

However, we wish to come back again, if you will chose Zanzibar as a destination for your holidays.

Regards
Andrea Ballardini
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you are a fan of the wrist band on arrival, cheesy band at dinner, all in type of place, then you might not mind the poorly laid out rooms, the unbelievably slow services and everything being in dollars. Maybe I am just fussy and want something authentically Zanzibarian, with a bit of character and without so many generic 'tourist' elements. I felt like Uroa Bay were just going through the motions - no heart or soul in the place. It should be great - but just isn't. Unbelievably hard beds don't help either.

Room Tip: Specify sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uroa_bay, Proprietario at Uroa Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review.
We are very sorry to read that you have had a bad holiday with us.
Reading your lines, we don’t understand if you have had some problems during your stay, or it’s just a regret for an expectation disregarded.
However, we would take the chance to clarify a few points.
Our staff is 90% local or from Tanzania (the remaining is Italian), always helpful towards our guests, as well as the “Hakuna Matata Band” that keep us company 2 times a week; they achieve resounding success among the guests, who launch into group dances together with the staff.
Regarding the room cleaning (we do it everyday), our Restaurant Menu (different every day, mixed between Italian cuisine as the owners are Italians and local, plus 2 special themed dinners “Swahili” and “Indian”), and any other issue, you could report it to our Reception and we would have been happy to help you on site and not after your departure.
We must disagree on the appellation “touristic”. Our Resort is not touristic at all, starting from that:
-it’s located at Uroa, a small town far away from the chaos of Kiwengwa and its big villages;
-it has just 61 bungalows, so even at the full capacity, guest are much less compared to other hotels;
-we received several times guests’ request about to increase our activities during the week and let the music go ahead after 10.30pm; we have to say that our keywords are relax, peace and privacy, totally surrounded by the nature.
Regarding the issue about the dollars, we really don’t understand what may have been the difficulty. All our prices are in dollars as it’s an international currency used both for the guests and the locals; we handle also shillings (local currency) and euro (European currency) cash and only dollar by credit card. All the guests can choose to pay in one of the currencies we already use.
We renew our displeasure at not being able to give you a nice time, but we invite you to come back and enjoy Uroa and the beautiful isle of Zanzibar.

Best regards

Andrea Ballardini
Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Uroa Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uroa Bay Beach Resort

Address: Uroa Bay, Uroa PO BOX 2675, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Uroa Bay Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New 4 Star Superior Resort, on wonderful Uroa Beach, on the East Cost of Zanzibar. Italian management and maintenance, with smiling and professional local staff, working all together to make you enjoy at best your stay here. Big pool, pool/beach towel service, great beach, excellent Italian inspired Kitchen, more then 40 square meter rooms fully equipped and furnished (individual A\C, mini fridge with daily refill mineral water, TV with satellite channels, telephone, fan, mosquito nets on beds, safe, internet connection, private furnished terrace, private services with shower box and bidet). Relaxing and easy-going atmosphere. Ideal for everyone who wants to relax and have a great time in a wonderful location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Uroa Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uroa Bay Beach Hotel Uroa Village
Uroa Bay Beach Resort Zanzibar, Tanzania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uroa Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.