We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay but bad food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Uroa Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Uroa Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uroa Bay, Uroa PO BOX 2675, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Uroa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay but bad food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Rooms were fabulously decorated however beds were quite solid. Hotel itself is like a picture from a magazine, paradise. Beach v clean, pool fab.

Only let down was the food. Hotel located quite far from everywhere so no other options for food, taxi to stone town $50 one way. The restraunt was full of flys all the time and there was a poor selection on the menu. They ran out of lettuce and offered us cabbage instead, salad with cabbage??? asked for a pasta dish and a side of prawns to be added and the chef refused?? Was quite disappointed with the food. Breakfast was lovely tho.

Excursion booked in the hotel to stone town and prison island was brilliant and good value

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    111
    34
    13
    2
See reviews for
55
176
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Not sure if it was because i went during off season but it felt like the hotel was really not trying to go out of their way to make your stay memorable. On my first lunch was told buffet wasnt available because of not enough customers, so had to buy a la carte. Is that my fault? Restaurant staff had poor grasp of english too. Not saying it was a terrible hotel but it could have been so much better. The place felt a little dated too, the decor the rooms etc. i'v paid less in other places and received much better services.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uroa_bay, Proprietario at Uroa Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review.
We regret you have chosen the low and rainy season to visit Zanzibar... but sometimes you have holidays during certain periods, then what to do? ...give up?!
Anyway about the lunch buffet in which you refer, we explain more about our philosophy. During the mid-high season, we organize the main meals (breakfast, lunch, dinner) las buffet, while during the low season in which, 90% of reservations are in BB, we do not organize the buffet for lunch. We do not because our buffet as you saw, is spacious and set it up just for 2/4 guests it is not only unattractive but it is just a waste of resources.
So we decided to make a menu "à la carte" as it's just in a paper and not a buffet where customers serve themselves; in this way, they can sit at the table and be served by our staff; the menu includes 2 starters, 2 first dishes, 2 main dishes, 2 side dishes, fruit and dessert. The customer may decide to order all the menu, only one part as well as ask several times everything. Any customer paid an extra cost if the treatment booked was FB (which also includes lunch buffet).

The property is new and only 5 years old as well as has been fully furnished with local materials, combined with Italian elements, then call it "dated" is not quite correct. The same goes for the rooms that have all wooden local furniture very nice.
Our staff speaks Italian, English and French ...did you have any difficulty to be understood? If you would have asked for help, we would have been happy to handle it.

However, we wish to come back again, if you will chose Zanzibar as a destination for your holidays.

Regards
Andrea Ballardini
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you are a fan of the wrist band on arrival, cheesy band at dinner, all in type of place, then you might not mind the poorly laid out rooms, the unbelievably slow services and everything being in dollars. Maybe I am just fussy and want something authentically Zanzibarian, with a bit of character and without so many generic 'tourist' elements. I felt like Uroa Bay were just going through the motions - no heart or soul in the place. It should be great - but just isn't. Unbelievably hard beds don't help either.

Room Tip: Specify sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uroa_bay, Proprietario at Uroa Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review.
We are very sorry to read that you have had a bad holiday with us.
Reading your lines, we don’t understand if you have had some problems during your stay, or it’s just a regret for an expectation disregarded.
However, we would take the chance to clarify a few points.
Our staff is 90% local or from Tanzania (the remaining is Italian), always helpful towards our guests, as well as the “Hakuna Matata Band” that keep us company 2 times a week; they achieve resounding success among the guests, who launch into group dances together with the staff.
Regarding the room cleaning (we do it everyday), our Restaurant Menu (different every day, mixed between Italian cuisine as the owners are Italians and local, plus 2 special themed dinners “Swahili” and “Indian”), and any other issue, you could report it to our Reception and we would have been happy to help you on site and not after your departure.
We must disagree on the appellation “touristic”. Our Resort is not touristic at all, starting from that:
-it’s located at Uroa, a small town far away from the chaos of Kiwengwa and its big villages;
-it has just 61 bungalows, so even at the full capacity, guest are much less compared to other hotels;
-we received several times guests’ request about to increase our activities during the week and let the music go ahead after 10.30pm; we have to say that our keywords are relax, peace and privacy, totally surrounded by the nature.
Regarding the issue about the dollars, we really don’t understand what may have been the difficulty. All our prices are in dollars as it’s an international currency used both for the guests and the locals; we handle also shillings (local currency) and euro (European currency) cash and only dollar by credit card. All the guests can choose to pay in one of the currencies we already use.
We renew our displeasure at not being able to give you a nice time, but we invite you to come back and enjoy Uroa and the beautiful isle of Zanzibar.

Best regards

Andrea Ballardini
Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A friend & I stayed at this lovely hotel for 5 nights in March 2013. We had just flown in from Arusha after a Safari. This is a nice hotel on the east coast of Zanzibar. It is about 45 min. from the airport. We stayed in a seaview double room. It was a spacious room w/ a balcony w/ benches & a table. It contained a king size bed & twin bed. The beds were a bit firm for our tastes, but after sleeping in several beds in Africa, that seems to be the norm. It is air conditioned,but never seems to get very cold, just less humid & more comfortable than outside. The bath is spacious & plenty of hot water. The rooms are eco friendly; the electricity & water shut off when you are not in your room. The pool is quite nice; long & cool w/ plenty of loungers. The pool water & bath water is salt, but not like the ocean, just a little salty. If this were my hotel, I would add a hot tub/spa to the pool area. The beach is the prettiest beach I have ever been too. The sand is pure white & easy to walk on.You can walk for quite a long distance both north & south of the resort. The north end goes past fisherman, & a few shops. Beware that you will be approached on the beach by people wanting to sell you anything from trips to shells to massages. They are easily put off if you tell them to "take care" or that you are leaving the next day. The south direction is less populated & a pleasant walk. You can always find a lot of shells on the beach. The ocean is clear, warm, shallow, & calm. You can walk out for a very long way in the water. At extreme high tide the water will lap at the hotel's sea wall. At extreme low tide, you can follow a path marked by sticks thru the sea grass to sand bars; wear water shoes if you do this. There is some broken coral & sea urchins along the way. The sand bars are pristine. The food at the hotel was ok. I found the fish, vegetables, bread, fruit, & salad to be the best choice. We ate at the buffet for breakfast & dinner; lunch at the poolside cafe. The poolside cafe service tends to be spotty. The resort is run/owned by Italions. We were the only Americans there; mostly Italions, French, & Russians. The service at the hotel is very good; the girls cleaning the rooms are very sweet & thourough, so be sure & leave them a tip. The food servers are attentive once they realize you tip. Be careful about being overly friendly to the servers, sometimes they interpert it as flirting. We only took one excursion, to the rain forest. After being on Safari it is a bit of a let down, but interesting, esp. the mangroves. The hotel was so pleasant that we didn't feel a need to go elsewhere. The wifi at the hotel is a bit spotty & you have to have your device set just right; the staff doesn't always know how to help you with it, but they do have an IT guy who can, just ask for him. We were charged appropiately for anything we charged to the room. The hotel seems to by run quite efficiently. I would recommend this hotel & stay here again.

Room Tip: Double seaview was a nice room w/ balcony & close to pool, resturant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I spent 2 nights in uroa. I chose it on the basis of the price and close proximity to stone town. After reading reviews I had low expectations so i was very pleasantly surprised. Check in was quick, immediately brought to my room. I stayed in a garden view room which was very comfortable. All the rooms have huge beds, walk in showers and privatebalconies with seats and table.
The garden view room i was in was about a 3 min walk to pool. The air con and fan both worked perfectly. There is a secure safe in the room.No hairdryer. Also there is no clothes washing facility in the hotel.

The pool is well maintained and really clean. Plenty of sun loungers. The beach is directly behind then pool bar and again plenty of sun loungers.
The staff are nice and service is prompt, unless you ask for otherwise everything will be put on your room bill. If you pay in dollars it is at a rate of 1770 to the USD which I thought was a little high.

There is a spa and although I didn't use it, it seems to have a standard range of services.

The breakfast is good, coffee not good!
The a la carte menu was extensive and reasonably priced.
Evening buffet was good, ,maybe could have a wider range but what is available is nice.

I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing few days.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

After a few wonderful (but very hot) days in Stonetown, we were happy to arrive in Uroa bay beach resort to cool off a little. We booked it just the day before we arrived and got a good deal still. The appartment was good, with a nice terrace, the pools and sunbeds were lovely, there were birds and butterflies and we felt as in paradise. The sea overthere was a bit seeweady, so we swam mostly in the pool. It was just a few very relaxed days of doing nothing for a change. Wonderful staff and relaxed atmosphere. Not very busy when we were there. The food was nice and the prices were decent. The cafe with oceanview is great. The nice thing was, that there was a village close by, and the school children walked over the beach to get to school and you could see the people going off to fish in their boats. It did not feel like a 'gated resort'. We had never been to a resort before, but i imagine this one is more open and in touch with the surrounding area / people, than others. Lovely place. Didnt get to see much of the area besides the beach and all that was going on there with locals though, since we decided we needed 3 days of relaxation. That worked very well in uroa bay beach resort!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hall
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This place is a price performer. The rooms and bathroom are a nice size with porch or balcony and it is well maintained by a polite staff. While I had read about the low tides on the eastern side of the island it was not as much of an issue as I had thought because you still saw the water the whole time and if it was too shallow you used the nice pool. The beach was gorgeous white fine sand and one could take lovely walks. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The half board feature was nice because the reality is that you're probably going to be eating at your resort.

Room Tip: It's worth staying in the rooms that are sea front, but there isn't really a bad room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Uroa Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uroa Bay Beach Resort

Address: Uroa Bay, Uroa PO BOX 2675, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Uroa Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New 4 Star Superior Resort, on wonderful Uroa Beach, on the East Cost of Zanzibar. Italian management and maintenance, with smiling and professional local staff, working all together to make you enjoy at best your stay here. Big pool, pool/beach towel service, great beach, excellent Italian inspired Kitchen, more then 40 square meter rooms fully equipped and furnished (individual A\C, mini fridge with daily refill mineral water, TV with satellite channels, telephone, fan, mosquito nets on beds, safe, internet connection, private furnished terrace, private services with shower box and bidet). Relaxing and easy-going atmosphere. Ideal for everyone who wants to relax and have a great time in a wonderful location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Uroa Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uroa Bay Beach Hotel Uroa Village
Uroa Bay Beach Resort Zanzibar, Tanzania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uroa Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.