We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The unforgettable experiences” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samaki Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Samaki Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samaki Lodge & Spa
main road, Uroa 458-928, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Uroa
Ostrava, the Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The unforgettable experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in Samaki Lodge for ten nights in January 2013. Run by Italian owner, this inexpensive small hotel surrounded by nice garden has a gorgeous white-sand beach, nice pool area, very helpful staff and security provided by Masai warriors. Not many tourists there. A fish village and locals fish from their dhows just offshore.
Our room was nice and comfortable equipped with an AC, safe and TV and was located just at the private hotel beach. The bathroom and everything else was convenient.
Food was tasty - chicken, beef, rice, chips, pasta, fruits, cakes. Seafood was always fresh, having been caught the same day (several times while having breakfast we saw fishermen bringing a big tuna or swordfish). Delicious fresh pineapple and mango juice served in the bar by friendly staff.
We have been to two trips with a local guide called Jerry whom you can meet on the hotel beach at the place where a bed service is provided. A man usually wearing a cap with peak and a bag on his shoulder speaks English and Italian and a bit Czech, too. We were pleased with his taking us to Stone Town, Prison Island and Spice tour thanks to his friendly approach and a good price. We recommend his service warmly – tel. (+ 255) 773 037 801.

Room Tip: The best rooms are at the hotel beach - Nos. B 1 - B 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samakilodge, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Sazel, thank you for your comments. I see you have notice that we are in losted Paradise and you have real enjoyed our Zanzibar's Italian dishes, it's great when we showing around a fresh fish cought by the Fishermen of the villagge isn't??.

We hope to see you soon, as loong as you can book direct to our hotel by sending an e-mail or calling. A part a special disount, we now offering 2 trips (Spice and Stown Town) for those who staying 7 nights and more....

See you soon,

Your sincerely Giuseppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    51
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
60
176
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sondrio, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

After a year in NYC I needed a relaxing holyday.
I spent a really great and unforgettable week at the Samaki Lodge.
The charming hotel is sorrounded by nature, the room quiet and cozy.
Nearby a paradisiac beach were you can take long walks and enjoy the beautiful landscape.
The staff was really entertaining, well-organized and helpfull.
The reastaurant offers a high range of food ( great italian food but also local tastes).
I can say one of the best holidays in my life.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Isa,
all of us we are missing you!!
We thank you for the nice description of our hotel and we hope to see you soon!!
Greetings from all the staff!!!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

After having spent the previous week and then some in a whirlwind traveling from NYC to Ethiopia, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Tanzania, and finally Zanzibar my wife and I were in need of some peace, relaxation, and a romantic beach. We arrived at the hotel via our own driver. I would recommend this, as a much cheaper price may be negotiated for the trip from Zanzibar Town to Uroa. We paid 40,000 TZS, or $25.00 at the exchange rate at the time. We had to press very hard to get this price, and the cabal of taxi drivers around the ferry port were less than thrilled. We ended up using the same driver on the way out, get the number of your driver and get the same price.

We were greeted warmly, and a Masai warrior helped us with our luggage - very cool! After complimentary juice from the reception staff we were taken to our room. It had a huge king size bed with mosquito netting, which we were thankful for. The room was very clean, by far the cleanest on our trip. A few minutes after we settled in a maid showed with soap, and to check that we had enough towels. Our room even had a little love seat couch with its own mosquito net, which I imagine would be perfect for a kid, or friend to sleep on.

Not wanting to waste the remaining daylight we headed down to the beach. Wow! Perfect, soft white sand, and crystal clear azure water. It was on the same level as beaches we've been to in Bali, one of our top 10 beaches for sure. Yes there was a lot of seaweed. It would be nice if it was completely cleared, maybe that's something they could find a way to do economically in the future. The Masai warriors guard the entire property as stated in other reviews, as well as the entrance to and from the beach. We had previously spent some time with the Masai in Kenya, and it was interesting to talk to them and hear how they wound up all the way in Zanzibar.

When night came my wife went to shower and get ready for dinner, and I spent some time relaxing in the pool. It was one of the most beautiful pools I've even been in, not for the actual pool itself, but for the setting it is in. The facade of the main building is really well maintained and gives a cool Mediterranean/African vibe. I asked at the reception if the pool closed at a certain time and was told I could use it anytime I liked, day or night. Floating on my back alone (we seemed to be the only guests the day we were there, though there were many staying at the adjoining sister property) looking up at the stars, palm trees, and lights from the building was a very memorable experience.

After my swim I got ready and we went to dinner. It's served buffet style, and every dish we tried was very tasty. The staff were constantly checking to make sure we were happy and to see if we needed anything. I agree with some of the other reviewers that the mostly European dishes pandering to the Italian clientele are a little out of place to travellers seeking a more authentic experience. Out of the Italian fare I found the bruschetta particularly good, as were the the other cold salads. My wife and I both had a beer with our meal, and the beer selection, while not overly expansive had Tanzanian beers which we appreciated, and enjoyed.

We slept really well, the room was equipped with both a ceiling fan and a wall-mounted air conditioner. We only used the fan and it was perfect. Super peaceful.

In the morning we went back to the beach, where we saw the local people farming seaweed. It was interesting to see how they do it with grids of string suspended between wooden stakes.

Breakfast was included in the price of our room, and like dinner it was served buffet style. In the middle of the buffet bar they had a staff member whipping up made-to-order omelettes and pancakes. We found three separate types of fresh squeezed juice, a selection of pastries, sausage, eggs, oatmeal, and cereals. There was also a bottled water dispenser for clean drinking water, matching another in the lobby of Samaki available all the time.

Overall my wife and I both enjoyed our stay very much. Except for the seaweed on the beach we didn't have a single complaint, and had a very romantic time. For the price I felt the room itself (including breakfast, we did not go for the more expensive half, or full board options) was a great value. The alcoholic beverages and food were overpriced compared to off property dining, but on par with what you'd expect in a resort-style setting. We were also at a disadvantage compared to European guests, as beer and dinner prices were in euros with an unfavorable exchange into dollars. If we are back in Zanzibar in the future we definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We are glad for your feed back, thanks!!
You did a really good description of all the facilities we offer and even of the feeling that guests like you can have here!
For a romantic holiday, here is the best!!
It is a quiet place, all well arranged, kitcken if tasty(Italian and Zanzibarian food), rooms are comfortable and everyone is friendly, ready to help the guests in case of any needs.
Perfect location for all of you!! We wait you for your next trip, maybe with family or friends..
Contact us and we will be pleased to offer you good prices.
Thanks for all and regards from Spice Island!!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

nice hotel owner a bit odd very few of the staff spoke english all italian snr staff all the local staff wanted to do was take money off you, not very well controlled,but saying that we had a good time. we had the room on the beach, which was not quite on the beach but on a raised area with sand, but very nice and quiet ideal for sunbathing, nice walks on the beach streaches for about 2 miles in each direction suffers from seaweed at high tide but did not cause us any problems very few people staying when we were there, food plentyfull locally caught fish, all food with an italian theme. all in, a good time, some better hotels around that area.

Room Tip: go for the rooms on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Many thanks for the feed back even if we don't agree with something you are saying.
Rooms in Samaki are really niceand especially quiet! Sometimes people on the beach are disturbing the clients and we are supervising all the area with private guards that they can assure all the privacy you need.
Anyway, thanks for your stay and we hope to see you again in the next future!
Regards.
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

If you need calm and nice holiday, hotel Samaki Lodge is the best way how to finde this on one place. We appreciate friendly staff, good cusine,especially fresh tasty fruit, warm sea, exotic nature..... Hearty recommendation for following :o)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Many thanks Ivup!!
Your short description is simply perfect.
You are giving the right idea to people reading feed backs before coming here.
We wait you in the next future, contact our office and they will offer you the best price.
Greetings from all the staff!!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

On the plus side, the hotel was clean and the staff were extremely helpful and courteous. They had all the basic facilities like laundry, safety deposit box, beach towels, etc. The hotel facilities are clean and the pool area is very nice. We booked massages which were fairly good for the price. They had an interesting evening display of African dance on one of the nights. The food was pretty good as well, but they only had Italian options to serve their mostly Italian clientele. Not exactly the Tanzanian experience we had in mind! On the minus side, the driver who came to pick us up did not have a sign with our names on it like all of the other hotels, so we spent a great deal of time verifying that he was in fact our driver. Also, the price seemed a bit too high given that only breakfast was included. All the other things really add up - food, 2 alcoholic drinks per day, internet, laundry, etc. The beach chairs are not directly on the beach, but give you a view of the beach, which was beautiful except covered in seaweed. They did try to clear out the seaweed on a patch of the beach on a daily basis though. Overall it is a good hotel but next time I would try something different.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samakilodge, Proprietario at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for coming and staying with us even you stayed few days, we apreciate your suggetion and if you come back to us you will find new things even the cook italian dishes (CHEF italian) and mixed from international food with new items from ITALY .You will even enjoy swahili dishes with special offer for excusion trip that will be managed by our well trained staff atleast you will have a time to make things in your records and relaxing a part of Tanzania with friendly team of Masai from Arusha.

We remind our guests if they return we offer them staying 2weeks paying 1week and visiting SELOUS trip but all booking must be paid at Samaki lodge. Thank you for your hospitality and support....PABLO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Welcome team at Samaki lodge is friendly and warm and immediately puts you at ease and takes you on discreetly throughout your stay. The secluded pool, overlooking the bar is great for relaxing and enjoying great cocktails. If you feel like exploring the surroundings, you will be put in contact with the friendly local guides offering an array of are tours and excursions of good value, without the hurdles of finding doggy operators.The private beach allows you to tan in all serenity, while looking at the tides movements back and forward the reef.

The well-thought out mix of family management and local staff provides the positive atmosphere needed during a holiday: efficiency and expertise. The food served at Samaki or in the nearby structure is quite varied and always very good. Although the main languages spoken (except Swaili) are Italian and English, the staff exerted a good command of other languages as well. Possibility to co-organise special events, like tours, dinners, etc. A SPA is available at reception offering massages and related treatments, a jacuzzi was recently built but we did not get to try it during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Flavia,
We thank you for the perfect feed back and we are pleased when guests like you, appreciate all our services.
Samaki is the perfec combination to totally enjoy the Island.
You are Welcome again, just contact us to have a really good offer.
Thank you so much and greetings from all the staff!!!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Samaki Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaki Lodge & Spa

Address: main road, Uroa 458-928, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaki Lodge is a "boutique hotel" located on the beautiful Uroa beach, 30 km from the international airport.Samaki Lodge comprises 19 rooms, elegantly and originally furnished while retaining the style of old Zanzibar.A private beach, equipped with beds, tables and umbrellas is ideal for sunbathing and relaxing under the hot African sun.During their stay guests can make long walks on the beach, meet and socialize with the friendly local people, discovering the uses and customs. The area of sea that lies between the reef and the beach allows you to swim in a safe and wonderful language of coral sand that goes for dozens of meters into the turquoise waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Samaki Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaki Lodge & Spa Zanzibar, Tanzania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samaki Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.