We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, idyllic setting to end our trip to Africa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samaki Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Samaki Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Samaki Lodge & Spa
Main Road, Uroa 458-928, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Uroa
Old Bridge, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, idyllic setting to end our trip to Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

After having spent the previous week and then some in a whirlwind traveling from NYC to Ethiopia, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Tanzania, and finally Zanzibar my wife and I were in need of some peace, relaxation, and a romantic beach. We arrived at the hotel via our own driver. I would recommend this, as a much cheaper price may be negotiated for the trip from Zanzibar Town to Uroa. We paid 40,000 TZS, or $25.00 at the exchange rate at the time. We had to press very hard to get this price, and the cabal of taxi drivers around the ferry port were less than thrilled. We ended up using the same driver on the way out, get the number of your driver and get the same price.

We were greeted warmly, and a Masai warrior helped us with our luggage - very cool! After complimentary juice from the reception staff we were taken to our room. It had a huge king size bed with mosquito netting, which we were thankful for. The room was very clean, by far the cleanest on our trip. A few minutes after we settled in a maid showed with soap, and to check that we had enough towels. Our room even had a little love seat couch with its own mosquito net, which I imagine would be perfect for a kid, or friend to sleep on.

Not wanting to waste the remaining daylight we headed down to the beach. Wow! Perfect, soft white sand, and crystal clear azure water. It was on the same level as beaches we've been to in Bali, one of our top 10 beaches for sure. Yes there was a lot of seaweed. It would be nice if it was completely cleared, maybe that's something they could find a way to do economically in the future. The Masai warriors guard the entire property as stated in other reviews, as well as the entrance to and from the beach. We had previously spent some time with the Masai in Kenya, and it was interesting to talk to them and hear how they wound up all the way in Zanzibar.

When night came my wife went to shower and get ready for dinner, and I spent some time relaxing in the pool. It was one of the most beautiful pools I've even been in, not for the actual pool itself, but for the setting it is in. The facade of the main building is really well maintained and gives a cool Mediterranean/African vibe. I asked at the reception if the pool closed at a certain time and was told I could use it anytime I liked, day or night. Floating on my back alone (we seemed to be the only guests the day we were there, though there were many staying at the adjoining sister property) looking up at the stars, palm trees, and lights from the building was a very memorable experience.

After my swim I got ready and we went to dinner. It's served buffet style, and every dish we tried was very tasty. The staff were constantly checking to make sure we were happy and to see if we needed anything. I agree with some of the other reviewers that the mostly European dishes pandering to the Italian clientele are a little out of place to travellers seeking a more authentic experience. Out of the Italian fare I found the bruschetta particularly good, as were the the other cold salads. My wife and I both had a beer with our meal, and the beer selection, while not overly expansive had Tanzanian beers which we appreciated, and enjoyed.

We slept really well, the room was equipped with both a ceiling fan and a wall-mounted air conditioner. We only used the fan and it was perfect. Super peaceful.

In the morning we went back to the beach, where we saw the local people farming seaweed. It was interesting to see how they do it with grids of string suspended between wooden stakes.

Breakfast was included in the price of our room, and like dinner it was served buffet style. In the middle of the buffet bar they had a staff member whipping up made-to-order omelettes and pancakes. We found three separate types of fresh squeezed juice, a selection of pastries, sausage, eggs, oatmeal, and cereals. There was also a bottled water dispenser for clean drinking water, matching another in the lobby of Samaki available all the time.

Overall my wife and I both enjoyed our stay very much. Except for the seaweed on the beach we didn't have a single complaint, and had a very romantic time. For the price I felt the room itself (including breakfast, we did not go for the more expensive half, or full board options) was a great value. The alcoholic beverages and food were overpriced compared to off property dining, but on par with what you'd expect in a resort-style setting. We were also at a disadvantage compared to European guests, as beer and dinner prices were in euros with an unfavorable exchange into dollars. If we are back in Zanzibar in the future we definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We are glad for your feed back, thanks!!
You did a really good description of all the facilities we offer and even of the feeling that guests like you can have here!
For a romantic holiday, here is the best!!
It is a quiet place, all well arranged, kitcken if tasty(Italian and Zanzibarian food), rooms are comfortable and everyone is friendly, ready to help the guests in case of any needs.
Perfect location for all of you!! We wait you for your next trip, maybe with family or friends..
Contact us and we will be pleased to offer you good prices.
Thanks for all and regards from Spice Island!!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    56
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
67
191
27
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
huddersfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

nice hotel owner a bit odd very few of the staff spoke english all italian snr staff all the local staff wanted to do was take money off you, not very well controlled,but saying that we had a good time. we had the room on the beach, which was not quite on the beach but on a raised area with sand, but very nice and quiet ideal for sunbathing, nice walks on the beach streaches for about 2 miles in each direction suffers from seaweed at high tide but did not cause us any problems very few people staying when we were there, food plentyfull locally caught fish, all food with an italian theme. all in, a good time, some better hotels around that area.

Room Tip: go for the rooms on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Many thanks for the feed back even if we don't agree with something you are saying.
Rooms in Samaki are really niceand especially quiet! Sometimes people on the beach are disturbing the clients and we are supervising all the area with private guards that they can assure all the privacy you need.
Anyway, thanks for your stay and we hope to see you again in the next future!
Regards.
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

If you need calm and nice holiday, hotel Samaki Lodge is the best way how to finde this on one place. We appreciate friendly staff, good cusine,especially fresh tasty fruit, warm sea, exotic nature..... Hearty recommendation for following :o)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Many thanks Ivup!!
Your short description is simply perfect.
You are giving the right idea to people reading feed backs before coming here.
We wait you in the next future, contact our office and they will offer you the best price.
Greetings from all the staff!!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

On the plus side, the hotel was clean and the staff were extremely helpful and courteous. They had all the basic facilities like laundry, safety deposit box, beach towels, etc. The hotel facilities are clean and the pool area is very nice. We booked massages which were fairly good for the price. They had an interesting evening display of African dance on one of the nights. The food was pretty good as well, but they only had Italian options to serve their mostly Italian clientele. Not exactly the Tanzanian experience we had in mind! On the minus side, the driver who came to pick us up did not have a sign with our names on it like all of the other hotels, so we spent a great deal of time verifying that he was in fact our driver. Also, the price seemed a bit too high given that only breakfast was included. All the other things really add up - food, 2 alcoholic drinks per day, internet, laundry, etc. The beach chairs are not directly on the beach, but give you a view of the beach, which was beautiful except covered in seaweed. They did try to clear out the seaweed on a patch of the beach on a daily basis though. Overall it is a good hotel but next time I would try something different.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samakilodge, Proprietario at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for coming and staying with us even you stayed few days, we apreciate your suggetion and if you come back to us you will find new things even the cook italian dishes (CHEF italian) and mixed from international food with new items from ITALY .You will even enjoy swahili dishes with special offer for excusion trip that will be managed by our well trained staff atleast you will have a time to make things in your records and relaxing a part of Tanzania with friendly team of Masai from Arusha.

We remind our guests if they return we offer them staying 2weeks paying 1week and visiting SELOUS trip but all booking must be paid at Samaki lodge. Thank you for your hospitality and support....PABLO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Welcome team at Samaki lodge is friendly and warm and immediately puts you at ease and takes you on discreetly throughout your stay. The secluded pool, overlooking the bar is great for relaxing and enjoying great cocktails. If you feel like exploring the surroundings, you will be put in contact with the friendly local guides offering an array of are tours and excursions of good value, without the hurdles of finding doggy operators.The private beach allows you to tan in all serenity, while looking at the tides movements back and forward the reef.

The well-thought out mix of family management and local staff provides the positive atmosphere needed during a holiday: efficiency and expertise. The food served at Samaki or in the nearby structure is quite varied and always very good. Although the main languages spoken (except Swaili) are Italian and English, the staff exerted a good command of other languages as well. Possibility to co-organise special events, like tours, dinners, etc. A SPA is available at reception offering massages and related treatments, a jacuzzi was recently built but we did not get to try it during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Flavia,
We thank you for the perfect feed back and we are pleased when guests like you, appreciate all our services.
Samaki is the perfec combination to totally enjoy the Island.
You are Welcome again, just contact us to have a really good offer.
Thank you so much and greetings from all the staff!!!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennekom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed for a full week at Samaki Lodge end of July. The hotel has a very pleasant atmosphere, and is located at a beautiful beach. At low tide, the huge beach is very interesting. Locals from the Uroa village harvest their seaweed, and lots of shells, crabs etc. can be found. The staff of Samaki is very friendly and service-oriented. The food is absolutely perfect, and varies from day to day. The chef made a very nice 10th birthday cake for our daughter, which was presented by the full restaurant staff during dinner. Rooms were spacious and clean, and decorated every single day with romantic oleander flowers by the housekeeping staff. The vast majority of the hotel guests is Italian. Samaki is connected to the resort nextdoor (Palumbo Reef, same owner, also Italian guests) which has some more activities (e.g. beach volleybal, table tennis), so our kids prefered to swim and play overthere. The hotel is guarded by Maasai people.
The only drawback is that the Uroa Village has no infrastructure whatsoever for tourists, but there is a small restaurant next to Samaki (called Kaure Sand lodge) where you can have lunch or dinner if you wish to eat outside the hotel. The owner Petra is a German/Swiss lady and very hospitable.
In short, we really enjoyed Samaki Lodge and we can recommend it to everyone seeking a relaxing and comfortable holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samakilodge, Proprietario at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Miriam,
Is amazing to see your review here in trip advisor, we are very grateful, for you to writing us a good comments for our lodge, hopping that, you will also convince another people, your friends to come and visit us in our hotel, we still remember you every time when you come and ask towels for beach, all staff are very happy for your comments, here at our lodge. Now you are officially a member of our family, let me tell the truth: when the guest are very gentile and kind like you, almost of 50% of our job is done.
Thanks once again very much & hope you will coming back again very soon.

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Having just climbed Kilimanjaro, I was ready for some relaxation time. We arrived at the airport in Zanzibar and only had a 35 minute journey to Samaki Lodge which was pleasant and quick. When we arrived the staff couldn't have been anymore welcoming! We had drinks on arrival and we were placed in absolutely stunning rooms with amazing beach views. They treated us like royalty and looked after us completely. They set such a high standard from the minute they greeted us and this standard did not slip for the entire week. The place was absolutely stunning... the flowers around the resort are so well kept and create such a lovely atmosphere. The rooms were huge and clean with a lovely big balcony area. The pool was exceptional - a fantastic size and depth with lots of sun loungers to relax on. The beach was right on the resort - this as well is amazing, especially when the tide is right out and you can walk for ages in ankle high water... it truely is magical. I can't fault anything about this resort - the only thing I'd say is I wish I'd been there longer! The staff make the resort what it is. They are friendly, chatty, involving and are genuinely interested in chatting to you. During meal times a variety of dishes are offered. I was worried that I would have limited choice being a vegetarian but there was plenty on offer - infact I've had some of my favourite vege meals at Samaki! There was entertainment on every night which ranged from singers to dancers to acrobatics to fire performers... everyone got in the spirit and evenings were perfect. I would definitely stay here again, preferably with my partner because it was so relaxing! A perfect end to a holiday... thank you all at Samaki for a wonderful stay..... you are PERFECT! X

Room Tip: There are some amazing views of the beach if you choose the rooms closer to the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samakilodge, Proprietario at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Sophie
Your review is GORGEUS!
You described us very very nicely . And as I can see from your review your stay, here, was very relaxing & pleasant.
I still remember you and your friends singing “sexy bomb” with us on the swimming pool area. It was very funny!!!
As you wrote, in this amazing review, we provide food also for vegetarians.
Thanking you and reminding that you can book a stay straight with us, for games in Selous, Ngorongoro, Mikumi and a relaxing rest, hope to see you soon here at your Home.

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Samaki Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaki Lodge & Spa

Address: Main Road, Uroa 458-928, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaki Lodge is a "boutique hotel" located on the beautiful Uroa beach, 30 km from the international airport.Samaki Lodge comprises 19 rooms, elegantly and originally furnished while retaining the style of old Zanzibar.A private beach, equipped with beds, tables and umbrellas is ideal for sunbathing and relaxing under the hot African sun.During their stay guests can make long walks on the beach, meet and socialize with the friendly local people, discovering the uses and customs. The area of sea that lies between the reef and the beach allows you to swim in a safe and wonderful language of coral sand that goes for dozens of meters into the turquoise waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Samaki Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaki Lodge & Spa Zanzibar, Tanzania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samaki Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.