We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samaki Lodge & Spa

Save Saved
You added Samaki Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samaki Lodge & Spa
main road, Uroa 458-928, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Uroa
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Considering the full package, this is the best deal that i have ever had in years of travelling from excellent service to Michelin star food, plus the bonus of an incredible beach and view with courtesy and security!
I really loved the Masai people that are used for the security operation and they also give sense of tradition and culture

Great place to stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    55
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
64
185
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MIAMI BEACH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed at this property in March 2012 for 2 weeks ! Very different from your "regular" resorts -
spectacular service provided by very friendly staff members, very nice and spacious rooms, good location to visit the rest of the island and best of all amazing food !
The owner and his son make this place very unique and make you feel at home - i have traveled quite extensively around the world and stayed at many places and i can easily highly recommend this hotel -

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We have stayed there in January and were satisfied with services hotel offers.
Pros:
- perfect location. Hotel is located in the UROA village, where the beautiful pristine beaches and nice atmosphere. It is away from Stonetown that is very good
- clean and comfy rooms
- helpful staff. In the restaurant every room has its own table. Of course, best tables are for more expensive rooms. We didn't know that and took the one we like. Staff asked us to change a table and they saw we didn't like it. We haven't expected to receive a good table next time.
- good value for your money. I couldn't find a good hotel for that price in the high season.

Cons:
- If you are not Italian you MAY experience some difficulties, especially when you go to excursions with Italian guys. We had to remind all the time to translate in English.
- drinks are included but you can't get fountain drinks or bottles. You have to ask a waiter for a glass of coke. Every time he had to open a small bottle. It's a pain and we don't want to ask for it very often.
- Dinner starts at 8 that is too late, especially if you came from safari where you use to go to bad at 9-10 and get up at 5-6. Snacks are very poor (chips or cookies) so you get really starving before dinner.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We spent a relaxing week in Samaki after travelling in Tanzania mainland. The staff and their service attitude is exceptional. Food is very good, and we found it good to have a buffet: even children find always something to eat. Room was very clean and nice - not luxury, but good quality fot the price. Unfortunately we needed medical services several times, and fortunately there was a doctor in the hotel, and another in the near by hotel.

What we didn't like too much was that the pool was rather small and the Italian guests seemed to have different understanding of hygiene: both children and adults jumped into to pool without showering, with sun cream, sweat and sand...

The place and the beach are nice, even though you can't swim during the low tide and there is nothing but the hotel in the area. What we missed were taxes which you could take and make spontaneous trips in the neighbourhood. Now you had to plane in advance everything you wanted to do, and book the ride in the hotel day before.

In general we didn'l like Zanzibar as much as e.g. Goa, where there are paradise beaches too. One time was enough for us.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samakilodge, Proprietario at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Thank you for reporting this issue of the pool. We instructed the pool-boy to check that all visitors take shower before entering into the pool.
Best regards.
Domenico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacau, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Baieti... daca dorit o adevarata septemana de vis... cu plaja alba si deosebita, mancare de nota 11 si, sa nu lipseste nimic ... o baie cu dolphin in mediul lor... trebuia absolut sa venit pina aici.

Proprietar italian (si bucataria la fel) si staff de localnici are o grija constante despre voi, bere este buna si rece mereu, si mancare la buffet nu desamageste niciodata.

Fabio Cristina Rebby

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We spent a week at the Samaki after volunteering in Tanzania for 3 weeks in March, and during a 6 month trip around the world. It was the most beautiful week of our trip! The owner is Italian and the food was superb, with fresh local fish each day pastas, salads, and beautiful desserts. Very clean and comfy rooms, lovely pool and white fine sand beach. Domenico is a true gentleman and so generous and thoughtful ... He treated us like family! All of the staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. One of them made us a CD of African music when we mentioned that we liked the music that was playing! As our 6 month sojourn was spent volunteering we had to conserve funds, and Samaki was amazingly affordable. Thanks so much to "Il presidente" Domenico and staff from your friends Dr. Patrick and Debra on the US!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samakilodge, Proprietario at Samaki Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear Patrick,
in these months I have often thought about you and Debra and looked forward to hearing from you.
Remember when you suggested me to write a cookbook with my recipes? Well, following your counsel I started to write it. Lately I've been experimenting with green papaya as a vegetable with pasta, fish, soups ... you must come and try it!
The construction of the day hospital is going very well, we should finish this year.
I really hope you will come back and visit us soon and I promise you special treatment.
Contact me through e-mail address of the hotel.
Thanks for your nice words.
A hug.
Domenico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is an OK hotel in an OK location.

I was travelling alone and didn't want to be in a big hotel complex, but in honesty staying here was a mistake. There is nothing around the hotel to walk to or go to, the beach is really not great and a little dirty. The tide goes out for miles, making it difficult to swim in the sea here.

I booked half board on the hope that there would be local places around where I could have lunch, but there wasn't so it was either pay $15 for buffet lunch (which was a lot I felt) or wait till the evening. You couldn't purchase a snack and there was no where local to go

A lot of reviews say the food was great, I would sooner say it was OK. The hotel wasn't that busy whilst I was there (as it was right at the start of the season) and maybe this influenced the food, but I felt it was very similar every night and certainly if you had lunch as well it was the same as dinner making it very repetative. Drinks (given the captive audience) were reasonably priced and a nice touch was that you could get mineral water free at any time from the restaurant.

I had a room in the grounds of the lodge, near reception, which was clean, quite large and very comfortable - so absolutely no complaints there. The pool and loungers were good and they regularly cleaned the pool through the day too. Hotel felt very safe

This is definitely a resort favoured by Italians - the hotel is owned by Italians, all the staff speak Italian and I was one of the only non-italians there. The guy that organised the tours (who goes by the name of Gian Luca Zambrotta) is very amusing and definitely slightly mad!

Overall, reasonable value for money and a reasonable hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samaki Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaki Lodge & Spa

Address: main road, Uroa 458-928, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaki Lodge is a "boutique hotel" located on the beautiful Uroa beach, 30 km from the international airport.Samaki Lodge comprises 19 rooms, elegantly and originally furnished while retaining the style of old Zanzibar.A private beach, equipped with beds, tables and umbrellas is ideal for sunbathing and relaxing under the hot African sun.During their stay guests can make long walks on the beach, meet and socialize with the friendly local people, discovering the uses and customs. The area of sea that lies between the reef and the beach allows you to swim in a safe and wonderful language of coral sand that goes for dozens of meters into the turquoise waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Samaki Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaki Lodge & Spa Zanzibar, Tanzania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samaki Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.