We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samaki Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Samaki Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Samaki Lodge & Spa
Main Road, Uroa 458-928, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Uroa
Netanya, Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very good value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We spent 4 nights at Samaki Lodge during this August (2011). The stuff is great, food is very good and the swimming pool and beach are great. Do not take the rooms near the beach. They are too far from the lodge. We were in the lodge and we had some problems with the rooms: in one room there is a sticky floor (no solution to this problem). Also we had problems with electricity and the aircondition. In sum, we think it is a good place to stay and very good value for the money. Do not take transportaion and trips from the lodge. You can pay 50% less at least by hiring a local taxi driver

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    56
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
67
191
27
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Owned and run by Italians, this inexpensive hotel has a great beach, nice pool area, reliable security and staff, and unusually good, Italian-influenced food. There’s nothing fancy here but if you’re just craving a relaxing place to crash on the beach this is a great bet.

Food: The rates include an ordinary breakfast buffet. Lunch and dinner are 10 euros/person and include bread, a salad course, pasta course, seafood main dish, and fruit for desert. We found the food was so filling that a late lunch and some snacks in the evening was enough.

Service: The service is a bit odd. The staff are very friendly and helpful but a bit more talkative than we'd like. We probably would have given Samaki a 4 star rating but the staff was so helpful when we had a mishap our last day that we're going to rate them a five.

Location: The hotel is right on a long white sand beach. Locals fish from their dhows just offshore. Beautiful

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Nice folks running the place. The rooms are pretty sparse by our standards and dinner was kinda a first come first serve thing, so if you were late, you may not get much of the main course. The place really caters to the Italian vacationer and the beach kids selling tourist trash all know basic Italian and the staff is fluent. Cash only.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Tanzania Journeys found us this incredibly welcoming lodge that was a perfect relaxing end to our trip after being out on safari and climbing Kilimanjaro. The lodge combines the charm of an Italian villa with the beach décor of Zanzibar. We arrived to a room filled with bougainvillea and hibiscus blossoms. On the sweeping white beaches you can watch the local fishmen set sail in their dhows. Our teenage sons had a great time talking with locals, finding coral and shells, climbing coconut palms, and playing soccer on the beach. The excellent food is an interesting fusion of Italian country cooking and tropical influence, with lots of fresh vegetables and fruit. The food is served buffet style and the Chef Abdul serves a special pasta dishes each night. Breakfast is included, while lunch a dinner was a flat $15/pp charge, very reasonable for the quality of food served. The friendly staff speak English, Italian and Swahili. The Maasi security guards provide an interesting cultural attraction. Day trips to Stonetown and nearby islands for snorkeling are easily arranged. We went snorkeling and saw the giant tortoises at Prison Island. Also recommended is a spice plantation tour.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The best thing about this place is the value and super friendly and accommodating service. The food was great and there was lots. The staff was also very friendly and always willing to help. For example, we arrive just after breakfast was done being served yet a few hours before lunch was to be served. Asked for something to eat since we were quite hungry and the chef whipped us up a meal...no problem.

The rooms are comfortable yet basic. You will get a fan and air condition, towels, and soap. Don't expect a lot and you will be quite happy. This is not a 5 star resort by any means, but a super comfortable lodge with a great family atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I stayed at the Samaki Lodge for three nights during third week of June. I'll preface this all by saying that I had been traveling for work for about 4 weeks and this was the last leg of my trip in Dar-es-Salaam, so I just wanted to relax and enjoy the environment. I chose Samaki because it seemed to be a place well suited for this. I opted not to stay in Stone town where there would be many more tourists. I was met by one of the hotel staff upon my arrival and he gave me a run down of the hotel and the services. The hotel only had a family staying there as this was a few weeks prior to the actual vacation season began.

Room:
The room was nice and comfortable. I had a lovely balcony where i was able to sit and read. There was no television or phone in the room. The mattress wasn't plush by any means, and was firm, which suited my back fine. The bathroom and everything else was fine.

Staff:
The staff were extremely helpful and diligent in being attentive to the needs of the guests at all times and looked to help in anyway that they good.

Food:
The food had its days. For the most part I would say that it was very good and it was a nice variety of things. The seafood was fresh, having been caught the same day, and was prepared in a variety of ways. There was quite a lot of food and I was often full. If you are looking for typical american food this is definitely not the case here, but everything was tasty. Having meals at specific times was a bit of a bother and I would have liked to be able to get something at different times during the day.

Beach:
The beach was absolutely gorgeous! Clean, beautiful definitely the best thing.

Travel/Tours:
I wanted to venture into stone town and there weren't many people for a tour so I was charged about $50 to go and come back. The to and from the ferry was $90 which was rather expensive. The village is about 45min from the port.

I would recommend this place if you are looking to get away and spend some time on a beautiful beach and aren't expecting the hilton.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

It is a beautiful resort, wonderful clear sand and pristine water, very friendly staff and great food! It is very natural and tranquil. I highly recommend it to the nature-loving traveller who wants to rest and enjoy fully nature in all its colours and beauty!

Room Tip: The rooms are very nice, but they do not have a phone nor TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samaki Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaki Lodge & Spa

Address: Main Road, Uroa 458-928, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaki Lodge is a "boutique hotel" located on the beautiful Uroa beach, 30 km from the international airport.Samaki Lodge comprises 19 rooms, elegantly and originally furnished while retaining the style of old Zanzibar.A private beach, equipped with beds, tables and umbrellas is ideal for sunbathing and relaxing under the hot African sun.During their stay guests can make long walks on the beach, meet and socialize with the friendly local people, discovering the uses and customs. The area of sea that lies between the reef and the beach allows you to swim in a safe and wonderful language of coral sand that goes for dozens of meters into the turquoise waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Samaki Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaki Lodge & Spa Zanzibar, Tanzania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samaki Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.