We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palumboreef Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palumboreef Beach Resort to your Saves list
Palumboreef Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Uroa, Uroa, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Uroa
1 review
“Wonderful vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We had a wonderful vacation at Palumboreef. The location is great, right on the beach (you have to check the tides, as they either push back the coastline quite a bit, or have the waves coming up to the retaining wall of the large patio/sundeck. But this everchanging coastline is part of the beauty of this island). The facilities are good, the pool area is great and there are always activities organized by the hotel staff. The staff try their best to make you comfortable, especially Pablo, the director, and Carolina. Food is great, it is like homecooking. They bake their own bread and focaccias, and there is always plenty of snacks served in between meals.
There is a group of beach boys that have formed a small cooperative that works in the premises of the hotel: they are very friendly and have organized for us two fishing trips, one of which very successful. Leonardo is the guy that organized them and we would recommend them for your trips around the island. In short, we had a great time and we wholeheartedly recommend Palumboreef for a great stay in Zanzibar!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Proprietario at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Google Translation
Sono molto felice nel leggere la tua recensione , quando hai tempo mi puoi far sapere anche il tuo pensiero sul nuovo resort , palumbokendwa sulla bellissima spiaggia tra mungi e kendwa dove le maree sono meno pronunziate e quindi adatte per chi ama fare il bagno nelle acque profonde ,
per il prossimo viaggio continua il tuo contatto con mariapaola che ti fornirà la migliore combinazione per due belle settimane a Zanzibar utilizzando le nostre tre strutture .
ASANTE SANA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    148
    35
    19
    12
See reviews for
110
291
66
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

We visited this hotel with my mother 2 weeks ago and spent 12 fantastic days. It was our first visit of Zanzibar. The hotel was very beautiful and staff was very friendly.
Our room was very spacious, furnitures were very easy but functional. We had a big, comfortable double bed with mosquito net. Bedlinen and towels were changed every day.
Food was delicious. Breakfast: bread, eggs, pancakes, butter, jam, fruit, sweet pastry, sausage,... Lunch: rice, potatoes, pasta, beef, fish, chicken, vegetable, fruit (pineapple, jackfruit, papay, melon), sweets,... Dinner: soup (delicious, especially minestrone), french fries, pasta, risotto, fish, beef, chicken, sweets (fantastic tiramisu), fruit, vegetable,....
Almost every day we had some entertainment (acrobats, masai dance, dicso, ....).
We had fantastic cocktail (Palumbo) at the bar and Flora was very friendly!
We found animal made from towel every day at the bed.
Ocean was quite unbelievable! I had never swum in so hot water!!! We measured temperature of water and it was 28 degree of celsius! Local people grow seaweed in ocean and it did not limit us and it was very interesting to see how they grow it. Ocean was beautifully clean. Occasionally occurred even algae that did not hinder us in swimming. It's a living ocean and alegea are a natural part of it.
Without the doubt I can recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston ma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I am so happy I picked the palumboreef beach resort!!!! first things first the director pablo was the man!!!! such a friendly happy go lucky fellow!!! the other guy who worked there i believe his name is Giacamo he was playing live jazz at the reception!!! He was also a very friendly guy he's from italy and speaks 7 languages he was very friendly guy!!! as well!!! the view of the ocean from the resort was like heaven on earth!!!!! its a great resort to relax!!!!! the pasta was great on this resort!!! I would 100% recommend this place!!!! Hospitality at the best!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
We are happy to receive a top review from Boston,
thanks for your kindness, good to know that all was perfect!
Like you promise , will be back with your family next season so we are ready to make you enjoy for the second time and we reserve for you a very special treatment!
Many thanks for your stay and don't hesitate to contact us for more info.
Greetings from all

Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

I went and spent a week at this hotel! I loved it, what a great place to relax!!!!! This hotel is lovely! What a wonderful place to stay, I recommend it to everyone who is in Africa! lovely place to spend time at!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Public Relations Manager at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Dear Daniela,
thanks for your nice review, we are always happy when people from Brazil come to visit us.
Was great to host you, wonderful people is always welcome!
Even Pablo enjoyed your company and will love to see you again.
Please come, everyone is waiting for you!
Greetings from all the staff and thanks for choosing Palumbo Reef.

Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

I had the opportunity to visit and stay recently at this hidden treasure.
The food and hospitality were amazing.
The owner is always present and you can see that hospitality runs on their veins.
All the staff are well trained and rooms are very nicely presented.
I recommend all to stay.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

We went in a group family trip to Palumbo Reef and a wonderful time with the staff and guest and thier hospitality was excellent, food was nice, friendly environment, a place to visit with kids,entertainment for both kids and adults. We say 95% satisfaction. Keep it going.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2014
Dear Jagriti,
thanks for your excellent review, we are happy that all the family enjoyed holidays!
We had a wonderful time with you and your kids.
Next time you wanna come back, let us know and we can agree for the best rates.
You are always more than welcome..
greetings from all the staff!

Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

We 'accidentally' spent a night at Palumboreef, but definitely don't regret it. It is a beautiful accommodation, with nice rooms, a huge swimming pool and several bars. Despite the friendly staff there was not much ambiance at Palumboreef, since most guests act pretty reserved. Just make sure you go here with people you know and you'll be guaranteed of having a nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a nice view. They have plenty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Dear Joel,
thanks for the nice review regarding our hotel, I'm pretty sure that if your stay was longer your time here was great.
If you want to organize your next trip, with some friends, please don t hesitate to contact us for best rates.
From December we will open also our new hotel in Kendwa, in case you can split your time between Palumbo Reef in Uroa and Palumbo Kendwa in the north part of the island.
We hope to see you soon and we thank you for choosing Palumbo Reef.
Best regards

Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palumboreef Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palumboreef Beach Resort

Address: Uroa, Uroa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palumboreef Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Palumboreef Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ora Resort Palumbo Reef Hotel Uroa Village
Ora Hotel Uroa Village
Ora Hotel Palumbo Reef
Palumboreef Beach Resort Zanzibar, Tanzania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palumboreef Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.