We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday resort to relax and enjoy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palumboreef Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Palumboreef Beach Resort to your Saves list
Palumboreef Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Uroa, Uroa, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Uroa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best holiday resort to relax and enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went in a group family trip to Palumbo Reef and a wonderful time with the staff and guest and thier hospitality was excellent, food was nice, friendly environment, a place to visit with kids,entertainment for both kids and adults. We say 95% satisfaction. Keep it going.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jagriti,
thanks for your excellent review, we are happy that all the family enjoyed holidays!
We had a wonderful time with you and your kids.
Next time you wanna come back, let us know and we can agree for the best rates.
You are always more than welcome..
greetings from all the staff!

Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    130
    30
    17
    12
See reviews for
85
250
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

We 'accidentally' spent a night at Palumboreef, but definitely don't regret it. It is a beautiful accommodation, with nice rooms, a huge swimming pool and several bars. Despite the friendly staff there was not much ambiance at Palumboreef, since most guests act pretty reserved. Just make sure you go here with people you know and you'll be guaranteed of having a nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a nice view. They have plenty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Joel,
thanks for the nice review regarding our hotel, I'm pretty sure that if your stay was longer your time here was great.
If you want to organize your next trip, with some friends, please don t hesitate to contact us for best rates.
From December we will open also our new hotel in Kendwa, in case you can split your time between Palumbo Reef in Uroa and Palumbo Kendwa in the north part of the island.
We hope to see you soon and we thank you for choosing Palumbo Reef.
Best regards

Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Jihomoravsky Kraj, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Very nice hotel with friendly athmosphere - custom video from hotel and Zanzibar at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WPpRtQLLzZ4&feature=share. Ideal for relax and quite vacation. But if you want you can go to the Waikiki for beach party.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear Richard,
we watched the video and we really appreciate what you done..was fantastic!
Thanks for the time you spent for it and even for the stay here with us.
We hope to host you soon in Kendwa, for more details please contact us.
Many thanks for choosing Palumbo Reef.
Greetings from all staff

Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

My sister & I stayed here for 3 nights. It was great! It was during slow season, so there were only 20 other people around. We were the only Americans, everyone else was Italian but that didn't bother us any. The only complaint I have is, there is only one place to have lunch, that Is at the hotel & it's buffet. The buffet is not all that great and it's $15 per person each lunch. With us there 3 days and being two of us, that added $90 of not so great food bill to our total. The dinner is the same, buffet at $15 per person, however there is a great restaurant just a few steps down on the beach that was fantastic, so we ate there each night.
The staff is sweet and always helpful. The pool is beautiful and so inviting. The beach below is crappy with seaweed everywhere, we much preferred the beach in Kiwengwa compared to Uroa beach but the hotel here was better.
Again, absolutely great but the $15 per buffet per person and food is not so good, made the stay a little less amazing.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Public Relations Manager at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Megan,
thanks for the nice review,
we are happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us.
We like to have American guests, you are always more than welcome!
I am so sorry that you did not agree with the price of the lunch but if you were looking also other restaurants around , the price that the hotel proposed was not expensive.
Anyway the important is that you appreciated all the rest and your holiday was great.
Come to visit us with your family, next time we can agree for the best price we can.
If you need more details please contact us.
Greetings.

Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oman
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I stayed in this resort with my family for few days in september.
I had great time and I've enjoyed too much. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I want to great Mr. Pablo, the general manager, that makes us feel at home.
The food is amazing is a mix between italian and local cusine.
I whould like to thank all the staff of palumboreef for the wonderful holiday, and promise I will be back
Suleiman Albimani

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Dear Souleimans,
thanks for your nice review, we are happy that you enjoyed the holidays!
Our staff is friendly trying also to give the best service always.
Come to visit us next year, in Kendwa where we are building our new hotel.
Will be nice to host you there!
Many thanks for choosing Palumbo Reef.
Greetings

Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Bottom line, if you do not speak/understand Italian, you will be isolated. Which we didn’t mind, really : we came here after a Kili climb, a brief safari… and a last-minute visit to this site, so all we wanted was to spend a couple of days reading and snoozing under the shade of palm trees. Otherwise, don’t believe the standard response issued here by the management : true, most of the staff are OK in English but the moment you get drawn in any activity, with the other 99% Italian customers, guess what language ends up being used? For the rest : the beach is lovely to look at but a hassle to walk along (the tide is the strongest we have seen anywhere; plus you get harassed by persistent vendors -- tip: mutism, we found, is the quickest route to peace if you are not interested by their offers). The rooms are huge and spotless. The mattress was rather firm. The overall size of the resort is ideal, although it felt a little empty this early August. The food was bland and geared to Italian tastes, although on our 2nd and last evening, we sampled a couple of tasty local dishes as it was a Zanzibari-themed meal (the accompanying evening show was lovely). The desserts score a notch better. We were the only ones wearing pink wristbands, meaning that the breakfast was included, but we were billed a fair 15 USD per meal, drinks excluded. The resort is isolated, so we had no other options… which we didn’t mind. Just sayin’… BTW, the taxi to and from Stonetown was 40 USD each way.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I'm Contay The Hero. I'm a musical artist and I have stayed in some of the worst and best hotels/resorts possible. With knowing the two extremes I can give a pretty accurate review of this amazing resort! First and foremost I've never heard of this place until I arrived in Stone Town with a few traveling companions. After getting off of our flight I overheard a very nice American couple near baggage claim speak about their honeymoon there. So naturally I was interested in seeing this place. WOW I was not let down! The place is beautiful. I can't stress enough how incredible of a stay I had! The Suites are sensational and fairly priced for the view, the room size, and the service. The beds were very comfortable but I wouldn't advise sleeping much as you will miss out on a lot of activities that you MUST experience while staying here! Everyone spoke clear English, which was perfect for me since I can't speak the native language (a friend of mine could though so if not we would have been good either way). The Safari trip was beyond amazing but the beach.....the beach.....again.....THE BEACH was by far my favorite spot to be. I've never seen water so beautiful before. My constituents and I were there every single day (A Week Total). The only thing I regretted about the stay was leaving. I can't thank the establishment and staff enough. (June 30-July 6) were the days we we're there. Excellent restaurant! I wouldn't mind creating a song about this place and then performing it when I return. I just might do that. My stay was that awesome!

Room Tip: Choose a room near the beautiful water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo P, Proprietario at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Google Translation
Solo un artista come te , sensibile e attento a tutti i particolari , poteva fare una recensione così bella e completa . Hai realizzato per noi il punteggio massimo 100/100 !!! BINGOOOOOOOOO .
Siamo soddisfatti di aver reso indimenticabile la tua vacanza .mi farebbe molto piacere averti ancora nostro ospite , anche perché la tua collaborazione alla nostra azione umanitaria ci sprona a proseguire nel migliorare il nostro Italia DAY HOSPITAL che abbiamo realizzato al centro di ZANZBAR in piena campagna ,li dove c'e maggior bisogno.
ASANTE sana( grazie tante) per le medicine che hai voluto comprare per l'ospedale prima di partire . Sono state utilissime , spero tanto che altri come te facciano lo stesso.
Quando verrai , spero presto , sarai nostro ospite , e compenserai questa nostra ospitalità con la tua collaborazione in campo umanitario.
Un abbraccio affettuosissimo , da me e particolamente da mio padre che tu chiami affettuosamente MY PRESIDENT.
Pablo P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palumboreef Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palumboreef Beach Resort

Address: Uroa, Uroa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palumboreef Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Palumboreef Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ora Resort Palumbo Reef Hotel Uroa Village
Ora Hotel Uroa Village
Ora Hotel Palumbo Reef
Palumboreef Beach Resort Zanzibar, Tanzania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palumboreef Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.