We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hakuna Matata: What a wonderful stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palumboreef Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Palumboreef Beach Resort to your Saves list
Palumboreef Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Uroa, Uroa, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Uroa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hakuna Matata: What a wonderful stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I'm Contay The Hero. I'm a musical artist and I have stayed in some of the worst and best hotels/resorts possible. With knowing the two extremes I can give a pretty accurate review of this amazing resort! First and foremost I've never heard of this place until I arrived in Stone Town with a few traveling companions. After getting off of our flight I overheard a very nice American couple near baggage claim speak about their honeymoon there. So naturally I was interested in seeing this place. WOW I was not let down! The place is beautiful. I can't stress enough how incredible of a stay I had! The Suites are sensational and fairly priced for the view, the room size, and the service. The beds were very comfortable but I wouldn't advise sleeping much as you will miss out on a lot of activities that you MUST experience while staying here! Everyone spoke clear English, which was perfect for me since I can't speak the native language (a friend of mine could though so if not we would have been good either way). The Safari trip was beyond amazing but the beach.....the beach.....again.....THE BEACH was by far my favorite spot to be. I've never seen water so beautiful before. My constituents and I were there every single day (A Week Total). The only thing I regretted about the stay was leaving. I can't thank the establishment and staff enough. (June 30-July 6) were the days we we're there. Excellent restaurant! I wouldn't mind creating a song about this place and then performing it when I return. I just might do that. My stay was that awesome!

Room Tip: Choose a room near the beautiful water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo P, Proprietario at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Google Translation
Solo un artista come te , sensibile e attento a tutti i particolari , poteva fare una recensione così bella e completa . Hai realizzato per noi il punteggio massimo 100/100 !!! BINGOOOOOOOOO .
Siamo soddisfatti di aver reso indimenticabile la tua vacanza .mi farebbe molto piacere averti ancora nostro ospite , anche perché la tua collaborazione alla nostra azione umanitaria ci sprona a proseguire nel migliorare il nostro Italia DAY HOSPITAL che abbiamo realizzato al centro di ZANZBAR in piena campagna ,li dove c'e maggior bisogno.
ASANTE sana( grazie tante) per le medicine che hai voluto comprare per l'ospedale prima di partire . Sono state utilissime , spero tanto che altri come te facciano lo stesso.
Quando verrai , spero presto , sarai nostro ospite , e compenserai questa nostra ospitalità con la tua collaborazione in campo umanitario.
Un abbraccio affettuosissimo , da me e particolamente da mio padre che tu chiami affettuosamente MY PRESIDENT.
Pablo P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    130
    30
    16
    12
See reviews for
85
249
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I spent one week there with all included formula.( all soft are free)
I'm bit disappointed, no bottles of water is waiting for you in your room (you want one, bought it for 1,5€) they serve you drink by glass ( just leave the bottle on table.
I don't understand when you ask for a non alcoholic cocktail you pay 5€...
Juices are 80% cut with water...
I was fed up to eat pastas, rice, risotto for each meals, hotel is near a fisher village. Food was a bit fat. Will be better to have a special every day
The best meal we had was on the Friday for the typical meal
Staff is very kind and very friendly,
but managerial staff don't really care about your expectations, maybe cose they don't bother you're speaking English or French ( they don't understand) but they're fluent in Italian
In one world it's not the best place for food and other beside but animations are good
I thing they need to improve to be as the Uroa Bay Beach Resort is...

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Freddas,
I'm sorry that you had not enjoyed the stay but I have to contradict you about some details.
First of all the staff is speaking a fluent English and all our guests comunicate easily with them.
The direc management of the owners is always taking care, regarding also particular requests.
The restaurant menu also satisfy our guests, offering a large buffet and the bar is really valued.
We are in a Muslim country where the alcohol is prohibited and expensive so please before accusing try to reflect.
Same for water, that here in Africa is precious and you pay it more than Europe.
Anyway we hope that after this you gonna think that in our management there are not inefficient and no logical services.
We thank you for the stay and we welcome you anytime!
Greetings.
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed the week before X-mas in Samaki/Palumbo and got the holiday as wished.
Our bungalow B04 had an amazing seaview on a quite part of the beach. The bungalow was nice, clean, airconditioning and a pleasure to have this home for a week.
Samaki is great, smaller as Palumbo, but lovely resort and staff. We started always the morning there.
Palumbo is bigger, but really a good place and great to have this resort next to Samaki and you can use as well. Enjoyed there the beach the most, palmtrees, sea in front and nice staff walking around to have a talk. We always stayed here after having a good italian coffee on the swimming pool bar.

During the day and evening enough activities and entertainment for us as we really liked to relax. Thanks to the entertainment and animation which made us smile a lot.

We wish the staff working on both resorts an amazing, wonderful, healthy, lovely, lucky and sunny 2014.

Greets from Holland
Marjolein and Kim

Room Tip: Samaki bungalow B04 on a private beach and quite part of the resort. Between Samaki and Palumbo res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Morj,
thanks a lot for your wonderful feedback !!
We are glad that you apreciate both hotels enjoying all the area..and the rooms on the beach are simply special..good choice!
The staff wish you the best for 2014 and all of us hope to see you soon.
Please, if you wanna come back contact us and we are happy to keep the same room for you!!
greetings from all of us..
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

I am a flight attendant so ,as you can imagine, have stayed in some of the most exclusive and sort after resorts around the world. When on holiday my expectations are high.Palumbo reef didn't disappiont me. The warm welcome from the owner and help to settle in. The spacious and comfortable rooms.The FANTASTIC food, so much chioce, even italian cusine!! The cristal blue sea which I discovered thanks to the wide chioce of excursions this resort has to offer. I have recomended this resort to my colleges and friends and would recomend Palombo reef to you too!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Beautiful Samanta!!
We are happy to reed your feedback even couse you are expert after travelling a lot.
We miss you guys!!
When are you coming again? we are waiting you!!
Thanks for your kindness, we are pleased to welcome you again!!
come come come..
Greeting from all of us!!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have returned just recently after spending a week at Pulumbo Reef and ejoyed the stay at the hotel very much. The overall atmosphere, friendly staff makes the stay enjoyable. Animators Giacomo from Napoli and Iva from Prague make a great team. The beach at the hotel would be fine, if it weren´t for the seaweed. During low tide swimming isn´t possible, unless you walk far out. If you want to go on a trip, talk to Jerry at the hotel, who organizes reasonably priced trips around the island. The day trip "Blues Safari" with snorkelling and seafood lunch prepared and served on the beach is unforgettable and highly recommended! Be sure to visit Stone Town and have a drink during sunset on the terrace with live music of the Africa House. I want to go back!

Room Tip: Suites consist of 2 rooms facing the beach. The ones on the ground floor are shaded and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Martin,
thanks for your feedback that is really super!!
We are pleased that you inform all the future guests about the nice staff and about all the activities that the hotel can organize for them.
We offer a very rich program, full of activities like diving, quad adventure, hourse riding, excursions by boat or in town..or a very relaxing time chilling by the pool, in a quiet place, where guests can discover our spa and all the treatments.
Just to choose!!!
We thank you again and we hope to see you soon!!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

First, I did not stay at Palumboreef Resort, but I stayed next door and the two lodges share a beach, restaurant, and some employees. The beach was very overrun with black seaweed and the lodge only made one path to the water. The meals were served buffet style and cost $15 USD for lunch or dinner. However, some folks must have had their meals included in their lodging. I only received breakfast with my lodging. There is a little pizza place on the grounds but it opened at 10 PM. The pool was great and the Masai "security" were a great addition. I thoroughly relaxed during my time in Zanzibar.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Marie,
we thank you for the feed back and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay!
Our guests can decide the treatments they want regarding meals.
We offer b&b, half board and full board.
If someone want to eat pizza, he can advise the restaurant few minutes before and they will provide for it.
It's not necessary to wait the pizzeria opening.
Anyway, like you said all our staff is kind and at guest disposal for any request.
We thank you and we hope to see you again here with us!!
Greetings from everyone!!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We came in the middle of the night, 03:30 A.M, we were given the worst room ever, shower was designed for midgets, you cannot stand straight while showering and the room wasn't clean, bed was FULL OF BUGS. We notified the reception and they woke up the cleaning lady at 4 A.M, she cleaned the bed and changed the sheets. The next morning, we decided to leave, the hotel manager WAS EXTREMELY NICE AND MOVED US TO A GROUND FLOOR SUITE, CLEAN ROOM, BIG COMFORTABLE BED, CLOSE TO THE POOL.

From that point forward, we had a really good time, the hotel feels like a family with all the Italian guests and the super nice staff, good dance pool music, good shakes.

We did find out later that the same prices goes for Uroa Bay Resort, which US MUCH MORE BEAUTIFUL, but the guests are more diverse and a little more snobbish, not sure about the nature of the staff and food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear travellers,
We thank you for the feed back you left us...
We are very sorry for the small inconvenience but how you said, here we are always ready to arrange quickly the best for our clients!
We offer Italian and local dishes, nice rooms all located near the beach or the pool area and many facilities like spa, diving, kite surf, hourse riding...
We hope to host you again with friends!!!
In case please contact us to have good offers!
Greetings from all the staff!!!!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palumboreef Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palumboreef Beach Resort

Address: Uroa, Uroa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palumboreef Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Palumboreef Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ora Resort Palumbo Reef Hotel Uroa Village
Ora Hotel Uroa Village
Ora Hotel Palumbo Reef
Palumboreef Beach Resort Zanzibar, Tanzania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palumboreef Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.