We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palumboreef Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Palumboreef Beach Resort to your Saves list
Palumboreef Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Uroa, Uroa, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Uroa
Most, Czech Republic
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hi, my name is Simona from the Czech. I was in Palumbo in march/april 2013 with my family. I need to tell you that it was really the most beautiful time in my life. I'd like to thank to all the staff of Palumbo reef and Samaki lodge. Everybody was so so so kind! In spite of that there are a few people which really made my holiday be fantastic. Stefano Masai, Jerry with his trips, Gemoo the pool attendant and also the group of animations mainly im talking about Somea. I hope i will go back soon and will see all the staff together in the same composition and also Mr. Palumbo. Many thanks and greetings to Palumbo Reef

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Proprietario at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie per la bella recensione. sono Pablo Palumbo , ti ricordi? io e mio fratello saremo a praga
il 17/05.
Possiamo incontrarci la sera. se vuoi scrivi una mail al Samakilodge & spa ; invia il tuo telefono.

Possiamo parlare del tuo prossimo viaggio a Zanzibar . Se ti piace puoi lavorare a palumboreef, per assistere gli ospiti della repubblica Ceca.
aspetto una tua mail cosi' ti scrivo ancora ,
Invio a te e alla tua simpatica famiglia un grande abbraccio da tutti noi, e dallo saff completo.
Ciao Pablo Palumbo e Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    116
    29
    16
    12
See reviews for
79
230
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Hi, I am Vera and I was deeply touched by the smily atmosphere of the hotel staff and locals.
But have some changes, which are very useful to satisfy their pleasing hands. Afterwards you will be pleased by a smile from ear to ear.
Upon the arrival we were friendly welcomed and quickly checked-in.
Thanks to the location you can realy enjoy the everyday lives of native people.
Despite of the huge lowtides I was swimming daily and I liked watching the sea coming back.
The hotel and guests were secured by Masayans who were the men on the right places and
you could have a kind chat with them.
Nothing compared to the delicious cuisine with seafood and italian dishes those fullfilled my apetite.
At the end, I was kindly surprised by the manners of hotel´s manager who clearly lived with his guests and gently discussed with them.
Simply, it was a quite and wonderfull place where to spend your vacation.
Many thanks and greetings from Vera.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo P, Proprietario at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Vera,
We thank you a lot for your perfect advertising about us..you are very kind!
Exactly this is our secret..we offer a nice and quet accommodation, Italian food and much more hospitality we can...taking care personally of our guests, trying to arrange everything for the best holiday!
Is the perfect place for relaxing and at the mean time for discovering the beauties of the island.
We are happy that everyone is enjoying in Palumboreef and we will be glad to see you again in Zanzibar with us!
Many tanks from all the staff!
Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, the Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Actually we stayed in Samaki Lodge which is close to Palumbo Reef Resort and we used the restaurant in Palumbo Reef and the swimming pool and the bar, too. We spent there ten nights in January 2013. Hotel is surrounded by nice garden and has a gorgeous white-sand beach, nice pool area, very helpful staff and security provided by Masai warriors. A fish village and locals fish from their dhows just offshore.
Food was tasty - chicken, beef, rice, chips, pasta, fruits, cakes. Seafood was always fresh, having been caught the same day (several times while having breakfast we saw fishermen bringing a big tuna or swordfish).
We have been to two trips with a local guide called Jerry whom you can meet on the hotel beach at the place where a bed service is provided. A man usually wearing a cap with peak and a bag on his shoulder speaks English and Italian and a bit Czech, too. We were pleased with his taking us to Stone Town, Prison Island and Spice tour thanks to his friendly approach and a good price. We recommend his service warmly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo P, Proprietario at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
You had the chance to try both hotels!
And from what you are writing..it was perfect!
Samaki Lodge is a secluded hotel, for people they want a very quiet place, and with his 32 rooms can offers all the facilities for a perfect vacation.
Even Palumbo Reef with his 100 rooms, all well located, provides for the best accommodation.
Our beautiful garden give the possibility to enjoy the nature having also the total privacy.
In fact, like you are saying all the rooms are surrounded by tropical plants and the atmosphere is really perfect to achieve a complete relaxation in both hotels.
At your disposal, the beautiful white sand beach, still uncontaminated!
Our management is appreciated and we are renowned especially for our cuisine.
The restaurant offers always a big variety of fish, meat, pasta, vegetables, desserts and exotic fruits, everything really tasty and fresh!
In short, we can offer everything is necessary for a perfect holiday!
So, dear Pesakar, we thank you and we wait you to come next time, maybe with some friends!
Greetings!
Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My name is Ciara,a Tanzania woman..i went to these resort and stayed more than a week,,its the quite place,cool place, enough privacy,variety of food,drinks as well as fruits.they offer hot water for 24 hours.close to the beach,big swimming pool,and every Friday after dinner the have drama from Zanzibar peoples,Hope you will enjoy and like it....If you plan to travel,Please think about staying at Palumbo reef,hope you will enjoy your holiday..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dearest Ciara,

Thank you very much for this great review following your stay at Palumboreef Beach Resort

I was very pleased to see that you relaxed and enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we will have another chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindly Regards,

Giuseppe S.A Yussuf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ealing
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I'm just back from a wonderful vacation in Zanzibar.
Every thing here in this Resort was superb.
The beach clean and quite. There was a great sand bank in front us.
The food was WOW! an amazing mixture between Italian and local food. I've tried, for the first time in my life, spaghetti with sea urchin. I've seen a lot but I've never think that was comestible.
When I go on vacation I don't like to stay in the swimming pool but this invited me every day for how beautiful it was.

Thank you every one
Big hug to all staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in 205, beach side view and pool view, very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo P, Direttore at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear John and Lucie, Thank you for your beautiful review! You can not imagine the pleasure we felt nothing that we were perfect for you. Thank you! Next time you come in Zanzibar we promise you to give a discount of 50% on the Total amount of the quote. See you soon then! An affectionate greeting from Pablo, Palumbo and all the Staff of Palumboreef and Samaki Lodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is located on the east coastline of Zanzibar, in the Uroa village (not necessairly next to a very good beach which in October was dirty of algae). There are two high tides and two low tides during 24 hrs so it is not always possible to swim in the ocean (if feasible, however, the water is obviously very warm).
The nature is beautiful, but the local people simply do not care about the cleanness. It is rather not possible to have a peaceful walk along the shore or in the village (too many people nagging you - sometimes aggressively - to buy something from their " beach shops").
The hotel itself is nice and its staff helpful. The rooms are clean, however, the taps and other bathroom untensils are covered with rust and not of a good quality.
The menu is very humdrum and monotonous (as a rule the Italian food is served).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Akka,
we thank you for your feed back even if we don't agree totally with things you said.
Is really rare that someone complain about the menu, that is changing every day.
The food is Italian, really tasty and sometimes the hotel is even organizing Zanzibarian nights with all the "local cuisine "that guests can try.
Anyway we hope that you had a great time and we will be happy to see you again in Zanzibar!
Greetings from all!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palumboreef Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palumboreef Beach Resort

Address: Uroa, Uroa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palumboreef Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Palumboreef Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ora Resort Palumbo Reef Hotel Uroa Village
Ora Hotel Uroa Village
Ora Hotel Palumbo Reef
Palumboreef Beach Resort Zanzibar, Tanzania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palumboreef Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.