We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to take your stress out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palumboreef Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Palumboreef Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Palumboreef Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Uroa, Uroa, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Uroa
Arusha, Tanzania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best place to take your stress out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My name is Ciara,a Tanzania woman..i went to these resort and stayed more than a week,,its the quite place,cool place, enough privacy,variety of food,drinks as well as fruits.they offer hot water for 24 hours.close to the beach,big swimming pool,and every Friday after dinner the have drama from Zanzibar peoples,Hope you will enjoy and like it....If you plan to travel,Please think about staying at Palumbo reef,hope you will enjoy your holiday..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dearest Ciara,

Thank you very much for this great review following your stay at Palumboreef Beach Resort

I was very pleased to see that you relaxed and enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we will have another chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindly Regards,

Giuseppe S.A Yussuf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    284
    94
    27
    13
    11
See reviews for
67
193
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ealing
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I'm just back from a wonderful vacation in Zanzibar.
Every thing here in this Resort was superb.
The beach clean and quite. There was a great sand bank in front us.
The food was WOW! an amazing mixture between Italian and local food. I've tried, for the first time in my life, spaghetti with sea urchin. I've seen a lot but I've never think that was comestible.
When I go on vacation I don't like to stay in the swimming pool but this invited me every day for how beautiful it was.

Thank you every one
Big hug to all staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in 205, beach side view and pool view, very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo P, Direttore at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear John and Lucie, Thank you for your beautiful review! You can not imagine the pleasure we felt nothing that we were perfect for you. Thank you! Next time you come in Zanzibar we promise you to give a discount of 50% on the Total amount of the quote. See you soon then! An affectionate greeting from Pablo, Palumbo and all the Staff of Palumboreef and Samaki Lodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is located on the east coastline of Zanzibar, in the Uroa village (not necessairly next to a very good beach which in October was dirty of algae). There are two high tides and two low tides during 24 hrs so it is not always possible to swim in the ocean (if feasible, however, the water is obviously very warm).
The nature is beautiful, but the local people simply do not care about the cleanness. It is rather not possible to have a peaceful walk along the shore or in the village (too many people nagging you - sometimes aggressively - to buy something from their " beach shops").
The hotel itself is nice and its staff helpful. The rooms are clean, however, the taps and other bathroom untensils are covered with rust and not of a good quality.
The menu is very humdrum and monotonous (as a rule the Italian food is served).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Akka,
we thank you for your feed back even if we don't agree totally with things you said.
Is really rare that someone complain about the menu, that is changing every day.
The food is Italian, really tasty and sometimes the hotel is even organizing Zanzibarian nights with all the "local cuisine "that guests can try.
Anyway we hope that you had a great time and we will be happy to see you again in Zanzibar!
Greetings from all!
C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palumboreef Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palumboreef Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Ora Resort Palumbo Reef Hotel Uroa Village
Ora Resort Palumbo Reef Hotel
Ora Hotel Uroa Village
Ora Hotel Palumbo Reef
Palumboreef Beach Resort Zanzibar, Tanzania
Address: Uroa, Uroa, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Uroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palumboreef Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Palumboreef Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palumboreef Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.