We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Par 3s and an overall stern test of golf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burnham and Berrow Golf Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Burnham and Berrow Golf Club
Burnham-On-Sea, England
44-1-278-785760
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Golfing
Attraction details
Kent, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Par 3s and an overall stern test of golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We found course to be in excellent condition and the clubhouse staff helpful and friendly. This is a true golfers' club with strong traditions. On the course the par 3s are exceptional - a member told us that "if you can play them without mishap you will generally complete a good round of golf".
We stayed in the Dormy House and found it to be good but a little basic. Breakfast and supper were good and overall the accommodation costs plus green fees package was very reasonable.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A good average course, nothing really special though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Compared to other courses I played in Wales and Scotland, this one is pretty basic really.

A few very nice holes but also some quite average ones. Finding the fairway off the tee is not very difficult usually. I imagine you could score well here. I played on a very still day which probably made me feel the course is easier than it usually is.

Good practice and club house facilities. Very nice bar/lounge with great snacks.

More expensive than most courses (I paid 75 GBP). As a single player, they set me up with some members who have a fun comp each Friday. Those guys were really friendly and welcoming to their visitor.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a hidden and gem and should be played. Pure links course over sand dunes. We played with caddies in 30 mph winds. Found 2 birdies but it was a struggle.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Pack your white socks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a very good golf course. We played on a calm day and it is still a good test of golf from the yellow's.

A good mix of blind tee shots, doglegs and testing par 3's.

At £75 (Friday) it is quite expensive but I think good value compared to some other courses (Saunton is doing £200 for a tee time which is good value).

Breakfast Bap was very good and all the staff really friendly.

If you are playing in shorts then bring your white socks (or buy a pair from the shop for £5).

I think this is a very very good golf course. Is very testing at times with some long carries but the rough is nowhere near as dense as other links courses.

Would defo play again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“One Of The Best Links Courses You Will Play”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Burnham & Berrow really is one of the best links courses you will find anywhere! Having played most of the top links courses in the UK & N. Ireland, the only one that ranks as an equal in difficulty for me, when the wind is blowing, is Royal County Down.

I understand that the last reviewer has an issue, and is not happy, but it is sad that people let emotion get in the way of what is essentially a review of a golf course. I certainly don't agree with him about the back 9 and I am positive I am not alone in that! The 10th, 12th, 13th, 14th, 15th, 17th & 18th are all very good holes with the 16th having a relatively easy tee shot (as long as you miss the thick rough to the right of the fairway - but the green can be a nightmare to negotiate! The 11th is difficult especially into the wind and is ranked 2 for good reason, it certainly is not a guaranteed par! I am sure that if half the course were so weak, it would not have been chosen for the Brabazon and The British Boys Champioships in 2011.

If the last review is anything to go by, perhaps the bad spelling (12) and poor grammar was the cause of the confusion?

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burnham and Berrow Golf Club also viewed

Berrow, Burnham-On-Sea
Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset
 
Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset
Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset
 

Been to Burnham and Berrow Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burnham and Berrow Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.