We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burnham-On-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven
Save
You added Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Marine Drive, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 1LA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
May Half Term From £365
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never Again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I first went to Haven at Burnham on Sea at Easter 2012, and whilst it wasn't a "bad" holiday, it wasn't particularly brilliant either.

We returned at October break 2013, having booked a "Luxury Plus" holiday through Breakfree Holidays.

Now - first things first - the term "Luxury Plus" would give one the impression that they've booked a "luxury" caravan, perhaps with some additional comforts. No - it doesn't. A luxury plus caravan is just a normal run of the mill caravan but is 12 foot wide instead of 10. I had booked "luxury plus" because 2 members of our family travelling with us have lung disorders, one has COPD and the other Cystic Fibrosis therefore it was imperative we had a caravan where there was heating throughout. This is something that I daresay Haven and Breakfree Holidays should get together and discuss, that way, clients know what they're booking. Had I known I was paying for an ordinary caravan, just 2 feet wider, I wouldn't have bothered paying the extra £80 or so.

I had called Haven in advance to advise them of our family issues, they told us they were fully booked and they couldn't offer us an alternative in advance. In the end, the allocations person had read the notes, and put us in a caravan with fan heating in the bedrooms. So that was great - but it could have been a nightmare.

Got settled into the caravan nicely, called to ask for additional pillows (they allocate one per person) and we have 2 in our party with lung disorders, therefore, they need elevation (from pillows) and were advised that we had to go to the "Hire Shop" and hire additional pillows.

Pillows sorted, we had a temperamental fire in the lounge, sometimes it would light, sometimes not. Beds were as expected. DVD player was a bit like the fire, temperamental, but in the case of the DVD player, it's probably just a new set of batteries required.

Entertainment - now here's the reason that we families with children who either cannot afford to go abroad, or who perhaps cannot fly (for example, my 5 year old son has autism and CF, taking him on an aircraft would be a very risky thing to do), somewhat makes us a target audience. In the past few years, I have seen far more holiday camp entertainment than I would care to admit. I have to say that on this occasion it was woeful. I don't know on which planet the Haven authorities think we all come from but watching a pink elephant flounder around on a stage to a backing CD isn't entertainment. Nor is watching the "Sunshine Crew" do exactly the same thing. In fact, the entertainment team seemed lacking completely. A few months back we had a week at Chesil Vista in Weymouth - I would strongly suggest that you send your entertainment team there for a few days to learn how to "entertain".

Mash N Barrel - this was the worst. Went once last time we came at Easter 2012, and had breakfasts, which we returned to the kitchen because the albumen of the eggs was still raw. This time (October 2013) was no different, this time we stopped for dinner. Ordered children's portions of "Roast Chicken Dinner". Firstly, the chicken was "chargrilled" not roasted, secondly, we had to stop when we could see spots of blood in the chicken. It was a lady called Carly who offered to either replace it or change it for something else. No-one fancied the idea of chargrilled raw roast chicken, so asked for chicken tika masala instead. This was almost as awful as the raw chargrilled (not roast) chicken, the sauce was coolish in temperature, and there was a distinct "burning" smell from the dish. It didn't have chicken tika pieces in it, it had chargrilled chicken in it again. Fearing that it was the same chargrilled chicken that we'd already sent back to the kitchen, it wasn't eaten. Needless to say, we won't have another meal in the mash and barrel again.

Swimming Pool - last time (Easter 2012) we were advised to remove our shoes to walk from Reception to the pool changing area, the shoes to be to be put in the "shelving areas" at Reception. We learned last time that it wasn't a good idea to put your shoes there, as you come out and find that someone has taken a like to your shoes and don't get them back again. We didn't go swimming this time due to some of the reviews that we had read.

Bouncy Castle - I read with interest the information on the Haven pages about a new soft play area in the Show Bar. It's not soft play, it's a bouncy castle. There were big kids climbing up the walls and scaling the roof and bounding around without care compromising the safety of the smaller children. Probably one of the worst aspects of trying to improve a failing entertainment unit by adding an item that I'm actually surprised they don't charge for - they charge for almost everything else.

I think my one pet peeve about the complex o

All in all, it's dated, not what it appears. It's very expensive for what it is, and frankly there are other sites that are cleaner,

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burham H, Guest Relations Manager at Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review.

The Luxury Plus grade of holiday home is the equivalent to our Deluxe. These are 12ft wide models with a gas fire in the lounge. If you are booking through a 3rd party company like Breakfree and are looking for a holiday home with heating in the bedrooms, you would need to book a Premier. These equate to our Deluxe Plus holiday homes and have fan heating in the bedrooms for when the weater turns a bit more chilly. I am glad that we had a holiday home with fan heating in the bedrooms to offer you.

I am sorry if the our entertainment was not to your expectations, we do our best to cater for everyone who is holidaying with us and entertainment can be a very personal preference.

Our Mash and Barrel team would have done their best to look after you if they had been made aware of the concerns you had while dining with them.

We are very excited at Burnham about the pool development which is going ahead over our closed season. The pool will be 50% bigger with new features, a new Reception and new changing facilities too!

If you’d like to email me on burnhamtripadvisor@haven.com with your feedback about your stay with us, I can personally look into this for you.

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Park.


Pippa Jarvis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    156
    58
    26
    19
See reviews for
299
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had never been to a Haven before always trying to avoid them and only booked this as an extremely last minute weekend away, the price was too good to turn down, so we didn't know what to expect.

Upon arrival the grounds were well kept and security was spot on, we pulled up to check in, which went smoothly, then followed the map to our static caravan, which was clean and spacious and better than we had expected. There were a lot of facilities on site, the majority you had to pay for though the pool area looked clean but was too cold to go in. The restaurant food was fine, a bit pricey, but everywhere was clean. The entertainment wasn't bad either, although we couldn't stay too long.

You cant fault the security of the site we even saw them escorting back some young lads, of about 13, who had been shouting around the site.

I would come back here as there was lots to do in the surrounding area

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burham H, Guest Relations Manager at Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and for letting Burnham be your first visit to a Haven site!

I am so pleased that your holiday home was everything you wanted it to be for your quick get away.

All of our teams work so hard to make sure our Park is everything our guests are expecting and need during their time away, whether it be for a quick break or a family holiday.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Burnham in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Arrived here sat 27 oct. So wish I didn't. Site looked very run down after first going through the abrupt security gaurd. Got our keys, seen the room from the outside, thought omg. Went in,the smell of disinfectant was so strong could even go in for 5 mins. After opening windows we went in, had a look around ( full of mold in every room). Wasn't clean. Electrics looked unsafe. Genrally the place was so run down. I wouldn't keep an animal in there. After seeing this went straight to reception. She said we could clean, it needs knocking down i said ( being nice). So disipointed we come straight home. Can't think what it was like before watchdog went in there 3 years ago. Never again people.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burham H, Guest Relations Manager at Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for you recent trip advisor review.

I'm so sorry that your allocated holiday home was not what you were expecting. Our Accommodation Team do their best to prepare the holiday homes and if things are not quite right then please always come back to see us in Reception. We can ask the Accommodation Team to pop down and rectify your concerns or look at moving you into an alternative holiday home which would be more to your expectations.

If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me on burnhamtripadvisor@haven.com and I will do my best to help.


Pippa Jarvis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were booked into the Haven Burnham-on-Sea holiday park Friday 9th August to Friday 16th August 2013. We arrived one day later (Saturday 10th) and upon a swift check-in we were allocated our “Prestige” caravan. Sadly, this did not live up to our expectation. We had to contact reception to get someone to clean the shower/shower room and remove a broken table. Also two dining chairs had to be replaced. In addition we asked maintenance to attend to a broken flagstone (which was the main step into the caravan) and also fix a light switch. The park was full so we were unable to be allocated another caravan. These problems were dealt with promptly and fully by Haven.

In terms of the site, the public areas are very well kept, clean and tidy. The lake is beautiful and we enjoyed being able to have a walk round it. The indoor pool area is quite small and at busy periods the changing areas are not really big enough to deal with the number of people. We have heard however that it is due to be refurbished. Nevertheless we went to the pool most days and the children really enjoyed it, even managing the outside pool as well.

We also found the playground area to be really good and as it is enclosed within the entertainment complex it was a safe area in which to allow the children to play. It had modern equipment and a reasonable amount of seating for parents.

We went to the show bar a few evenings and watched one of the earlier kids shows. The kids thoroughly enjoyed it and whilst it might not be to everyone’s taste the staff did make a real and noted effort. As a venue it was pretty noisy and chaotic however we only went for the earlier kids shows, so this is probably to be expected.

The site shop was small and only had a limited selection. We did however use the Morrisons which was within walking distance along the sea front and Asda which was a few minutes drive away.

The beach is a bit disappointing as it has sinking sand and the sea is too rough to let children in. However this is a geographical quirk and not Haven’s fault.

As with Haven sites there was a range of extra activities, such as a climbing wall, water walkers, trampolines, karts and whilst our children loved these activities, 2 x tickets for each ride suddenly becomes expensive.

In terms of things to do outside of the park we did a trip to Wookey Hole and Weston Super Mare. Both were really good.

Overall, the sites public areas are very pleasant, we made the most of the pool and got what we wanted form the entertainment. We still had a good holiday despite the accommodation not being to the standard we expected (from previous Haven experience).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burham H, Guest Relations Manager at Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent trip advisor review. I am sorry that your holiday home was not to your expectations and that we could not move you to an alternative one, I am glad to note that all of your concerns were rectified by our team. I do hope you were much more comfortable after the work was completed for you.

It is true - we will be getting our pool refurbished over our closed season. It will be 50% bigger with a new reception and new changing rooms too! We hope you come back to see this.

I am glad you found lots to do on and off site. We do offer extra activities and there are plenty of places in the local area for our guests to visit.

We hope to see you back at Burnham next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colerne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a week away it was our 5 month old daughters first ever holiday and the only thing we could find to fault was the Sunday carvery none of our party enjoyed it everything tasted like frozen or reheated food. That aside we can't complain the caravan was gorgeous so clean and warm it even had toys in the cupboard! The swimming pool was really nice and for the baby not to big or cold. The evening entertainment was fantastic and our little one was fascinated by anxious the elephant. Very very hot in the show bar though proberly to encourage us to drink more!
Short walk to the sea front and burnham shops and close by to Weston super mare and Wookey hole.
There were 5 very sad faces when we left but we are already looking at booming next year

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burham H, Guest Relations Manager at Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. We are sorry that you had to leave us too, I am so glad you all enjoyed your stay with us. I apologise that the carvery was not all you had expected it to be, we do our best to keep improving on the service and standards we provide and I will be passing your feedback to our Mash and Barrel Manager for her attention. If she had known about this while you were dining with us she would have done her best to make sure you left our restaurant happy. We look forward to welcoming you back to Burnham in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently had a week's holiday here. My husband wanted to do a bit of fishing in the lakes which he enjoyed (and caught a few fish). We had a lovely clean and comfortable caravan and on arrival a delicious breakfast at the Mash and Barrel.

It's lovely to have the town and beach just a short walking distance away.

We intend to return here at some point for a holiday again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burham H, Guest Relations Manager at Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent trip advisor review. I am so glad that you and your husband enjoyed your time with us and he enjoyed fishing on our lakes! We are very lucky to be so close to many things and our local town of Burnham on Sea. We look forward to welcoming you back to Burnham in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent the weekend at devon cliffs Haven the start of October and two weeks later were lucky enough to be asked to go to Burnham on sea Haven- so glad we did Devon cliffs is supposed to be Havens flagship park but could seriously learn a lot from Burnham. Burnham was clean, better kept, security was spot on and could be seen without being unreasonable. Smaller park, but MUCH better managed. Better entertainment, fantastic caravan. Love the bouncy castle in the show bar. Friendly approachable staff. Only one silly point - the Sign outside the Spar shop said open till10pm (where also told that by security) but they closed at 9 and does say that on the door. Why the different times? Does it Chang with seasons? A little confusing. Otherwise well done Burnham will be booking for next year! Great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burham H, Guest Relations Manager at Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our bouncy castle was introduced this year and children have loved it since the second it arrived!

The Spar shop opening times do change throughout the season and I would like to thank you for bringing it to our attention that the signs differ. I have spoken to our Spar Manager to get this changed so there is no confusion.

We look forward to seeing you next year!

Pippa Jarvis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven

Address: Marine Drive, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 1LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Burnham-On-Sea
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Burnham On Sea Holiday Park Hotel Burnham-On-Sea
Burnham On Sea Holiday Park - Haven Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.