We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Park shame about the mash and barrel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burnham-On-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven
Save
You added Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Marine Drive, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 1LA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
May Half Term From £365
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Margate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Park shame about the mash and barrel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Mouldy slimy yellow lettuce and over cooked peas were the worst of the four meals we suffered at the mash and barrel. The manager was aware of the chef's incapability to cook however this did not prevent the chef from serving hundreds of customers whilst we stayed at the site. We were given no compensation for the £40 a time meals that failed to be of edible standard.

The park on a different note was pleasant all on one level - on the burnham-on-sea highstreet making it accessible. The spar was well stocked. The staff happy and excellent at customer service. The staff went to all lengths to make it a pleasant stay at the site and the caravan was clean and tidy ready for our arrival. We were also given a free nights stay! We extended so we could take in the local area and enjoy the facilities more.

Only criticism about the parks facilities was that there was no breast-feeding provisions and that the pool side had no-where to put a young child whilst blowing up inflatables. Maintenance issues were reported but were not resolved prior to my leaving. Maintenance such as a loose floor tile in ladies bathroom and no lock on the disable loo at the pool side. Also more clearly marked pedestrian crossings and paths around the rear of the facility were needed to make returning to the caravan safer.

One of the guests said that this was the only pool at haven they were asked to leave due to crowding in the pool.

On whole the site was a nice place to stay and the entertainment certainly kept the children happy - despite the appalling weather:(

The ducks /geese/swans were having babies so best to keep hold of little ones when out and about.

Room Tip: upgrade as much as you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    156
    58
    26
    19
See reviews for
299
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

we just got back today from family break for four days, we booked online and it only cost us £150 for a long weekend with myself, my partner and 2 toddlers
.when we got there we got upgraded to a 2011 caravan due to an error with our accommadation allotment, it was very clean and al the beds were ready made and really comfy, we had no problems with the caravan site it was very clean and the staff were very polite.
my 3 year old loved the entertainment, the locations are lovely and there`s lots too do on site , the swimming pool was clean, the on site bar The Mash and Barrel was ok but the prices are very steep and the food quality was not very good. the meal we had on arrival was over cooked and tasted burnt and the carvery we had on the sunday was not very good either, the roast potatoes were not cooked too my liking and the gravey was just like water (that was the only thing that we didnt like the rest of the meal was passable) also the onsite shop is not recommended as the morrisons just down the road offers far better value for money and choice.
the pizza place (papa johns) on site is spot on food was freshly made and delivered too your caravan or table at night in the show bar and they also do special offers which are well priced compared to the mash and barrel, . the man who served us and delivered the pizza is very polite..also would like too say thank you too the lady on reception (rachel i think) she was very helpful.
i would recommend this Haven too anyone with children and who wants a nice break way. it was that good that we actually booked another holiday in couple weeks in which we will be staying in safari tent, we cant wait.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

I have just returned from a weekend at Haven Burnham-on-Sea. We often visit the park a couple of times a year and stay in caravan accommodation, this year we decided to try out 'glamping' and booked 3 nights in a Safari Tent! We have NEVER camped before and we had an amazing time!! They tents were fully equipped with a full sized, comfortable double bed, full-sized bunk beds and a further full-sized single bed. I was very pleased to see that the beds were already made-up on arrival! We had a kitchen with cooker rings, microwave, a good selection of cooking utensils, pots and pans! There was even a rail to hang your clothes up! The tents are spacious and offer a great introduction to camping (the luxurious way!). The kids particularly liked collecting water from the tap (located just outside the tent)! We had electricity and aerial connection (we even hired a flat screen and dvd player for the duration!). Outside, you have your own decked area and a gas BBQ. The Safari tent was located within it's own 'exclusive' village (we were one of 8 tents) and offers a great alternative to a typical caravan holiday but still enjoy the full Haven holiday experience! You have parking nearby and the use of a newly refurbished shower / toilet block only 1 minute walk away. The kids (and we) loved it! The only problem I have now is getting the children to want to stay in a caravan again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed here with our daughter and three grandsons aged ten, twelve and fourteen for a week at the end of May. Previously we have stayed at numerous Haven sights, but this was definately the best. Our caravan was sited on Cypress lawns which was a quite well spaced area with most of the vans having verandars and a grassed play area at the rear. The site itself has mature trees and shrubs with well kept lawns and flower beds. The public areas are kept nice and clean with friendly and helpful staff. There are numerous activities for the children some of which have to be paid for. The two swimminf pools and games arcade were a big hit with our boys. Out of the site the promenade is outside the back gate and Burnham town is only five minutes walk away, with a Morrisons supermarket and all the usual small high street shops. The Rotary used bookshop is well worth a visit at it is huge and the books priced at 3 for £2. For a day out there is a bus from the site to Weston Super Mare, takes about an hour as it goes via Brean. Don't forget your bus pass! A very enjoyable week suitable for older people and younger children, not a town for teenagers looking for a wild time.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We have been to this site a few times now and we were very disappointed this time.

It all started off by a phone call I received the day before going to say that they didn't have enough caravans for the amount of people they had booked in. They wanted us to move to Doniford Bay but I said no as we had made the mistake of going there the previous year. They were really unhelpful on the phone but eventually agreed that we could still go. It was a very stressful start to our holiday and why on earth ring people the day before! The lady said apparently they had ordered a load of new caravans that hadn't arrived which had caused the problem but I find this hard to believe. If this was the case surely customers should have been notified a few weeks ago and not the day before.

We had upgraded to a so called deluxe caravan but it was awful, very basic and very old. We were due to go into the caravan at 3.00 p.m. but the cleaners didn't arrive until 3.00 p.m. which makes me believe we were given the wrong grade of caravan. We were finally let in after 3.30 p.m.

We asked for parking next to the caravan as we had two small babies with us. We were told that this wouldn't be a problem when we booked. At this park most of the parking is in bays a distance away from the caravans but normally only a couple of minutes away. The park was so full that all the spaces anywhere near our caravan were taken so we had to park a good 5 minutes walk away - not ideal with such young children. I really think Haven should warn you about this.

We went to go to the Restaurant one night and it was filthy so decided not to go in.

All in all a terrible Haven holiday and we certainly won't be rushing back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

This place saved our holiday after the holiday centre we originally booked was nothing short of horrendus we checked out of there and made our way to Haven burnham on see hoping they would have something available and they did not dissapoint, we turned up last minute and was offered a "Safari Tent" - dont be fooled by the word tent frstly it is Huge, set out on a raised decked area. Inside it consists of two bedrooms one with a solid wood double the other a single and two bunks. The living quarters had a table and stools, cabinet and moder clothes rail as well as worktop, sink, two ring electric hob , fridge and microwave. It was exceptionaly clean & modern. The icing on the cake was the gas BBQ.

The park was equaly as good as you would expect from haven with all the usaul entertainment, pool was fab and could not fault anything. Also a big shout out to Darren the touring warden who was on hand and happy to help always. We stayed for 6 nights & did not want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We have stayed at Haven in Burnham on Sea before and was thoroughly looking forwards to this stay. Unfortunately quality has gone out of the window across the board on this site and the family holiday has taken a bashing along the way. What used to be excellent is now average.

Having picked a Platinum described as “Platinum - simply the best; if you're looking for truly special and spacious family accommodation with that extra "wow" factor, these holiday homes offer you the best of everything and in a prime location on the park.” our expectations were soon shattered.

The van was superficially clean, the floors hovered and sides wiped by nothing else. All the fitted furniture shelves were dusty and obviously not touched. The front of the fire was missing, exposing sharp edges and making it unusable, the taps in the bathroom came off in your hand, roll holders fallen off the wall and left on the floor. etc. It might have been the “best” at some point in the past but a lack of maintenance had seen it fall into a state of disrepair.

Never mind we had the “Prime Location” to enjoy. Interesting use of the word prime, I would have though it meant best but it seems it meant on the main road for the site, with a lovely view over the main car park right next to the club house. Simply the best, we very much enjoyed the thumping of disco and noise from the car park.

The evening entertainment has for kids have been changed this year. Gone are the days of Rory and Bradley teams playing games with the kids on stage to win points. In fact this year I noticed use of videos to bring in characters, which I suppose cuts down on staff costs. There is little chance for the kids to get up on stage anymore. There seemed to be very little competition at all from what I could see.

Gone are the kids drinks from the bar as well. They used to have a series of sipper mugs which you could refill. I suppose they were not making enough money out of the children with these as now you can only buy one size of drink for £1.80 a go.
Congratulations to the management team at Burnham, in a just a couple of years you have taken an excellent family holiday experience and turned it into a very average one.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven

Address: Marine Drive, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 1LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Burnham-On-Sea
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Burnham On Sea Holiday Park Hotel Burnham-On-Sea
Burnham On Sea Holiday Park - Haven Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burnham on Sea Holiday Park - Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.