We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great cowgirl weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundance Guest Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sundance Guest Ranch to your Saves list
Sundance Guest Ranch
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   2591 Kirkland Ranch Road | Box 489, Ashcroft, British Columbia V0K 1A0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Kids and Youth Discounts!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Langley, WA
2 reviews
“Another great cowgirl weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I brought my 2 daughters up this year and we had a lot of fun. Dave, the new barn manager and Lauren, the new cook, are holding up the reputation for Sundance being a peaceful, relaxing place to ride some beautiful country and eat some amazing food...they also bring some great new ideas. The staff are very accomodating and helpful and friendly. It's a great place to come on your own or bring friends/family. We loved the wranglers, the kitchen staff and the office gals.....Home, home on the range again! Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    26
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
96
60
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Spring Cowgirl wknd!! What more can a cowgirl ask for..great fun/rides/food and what beds..slept well..laughter was free.. wranglers and horses, fantastic..If you like to ride and have fun: Sundance is the place to be!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I only wish I found it years ago. I plan on going back again and again. Great for the solo traveller. Staff os so accommodating. Food is fabulous. the horses are happy and well taken care of- it's all about the horses. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was my first trip out in the country let alone at a horse ranch. It turned out to be the best last minute trip decision I have ever made. The obeisance was great. The horses are magnificent, beautifully trained and friendly. The guides are friendly, informative, experienced and makes you feel very comfortable. The office staff helped me with questions and concerns regarding my food allergies and were very accommodating and worked around them. Anyone who has food allergies knows how hard it can be to have great food being served and not be able to experience it and at Sundance I was able to just that. That solved I was able to relax enjoy myself and let loose. The roons are very clean, cozy and the beds are awesome! Lookout everyone at Sundance I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

You'll eat well here and you'll sleep like a baby! The views of rolling hills, tumbleweed and watching "the jingle" (when they let the horses run out to graze each night) will take your breath away. A hot tub would be a worthwhile addition due to the stiff muscles after riding but they do have a nice outdoor pool. Everything is done for you and all you have to do is come when the meal bell is rung. You'll be well taken care of by the amazing wranglers who are enthusiastic and supportive. Regardless of your riding ability, you'll fit in.

The only down side is the early booking policy. You'll pay a fairly hefty deposit to book and won't get it back if you cancel (they offer credits if you return within the next year, but no refund). I cancelled four months before my trip date and lost several hundred dollars. This really turned me off from booking again because it made me feel a bit like a revenue source, rather than the "family" feel I had otherwise had.

Room Tip: Ask for a "deluxe room" for just a few dollars extra. They are limited, but much larger an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourSundanceHosts, Manager at Sundance Guest Ranch, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for the kind words, Joanne. We are very sorry to hear that you found our cancellation policy to be onerous, and sincerely hope that you will find time to return for a fourth visit with us, and to use the Letter of Credit that was issued at the time of cancellation for the full amount of your booking deposit, and that was extended, from our usual 14 months from the date of the original booking, to a full two years. We long ago decided against installing a public hot tub due to health concerns, but you are absolutely right that the heated swimming pool can help with the sore muscles – and of course there’s always Sue, our wonderful massage therapist. Most of all, thank you for your generous review of our wonderful wranglers – they are always thrilled to get a mention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The best ranch for a great ride, a real home feel to the ranch..if you want to spend time with your daughter, girl friends old and new, with the same interests as you.. ie: riding great horses, being served great food.. and being treated as a special person, this is the place for you..The scenery is fantastic every time you go.. We were very lucky this year as it only rained at night and we woke up to snow all around.. so beautiful.. Thank you Sundance, Have just booked our 2013 wknd..

Room Tip: the Tack room and #19 are the best because you get to wake up to the horses coming in from the field...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Between our visits to Sundance Ranch, we tried a ranch in Montana. While it was very nice, and the little cabins were an upgrade to the motel-like rooms at Sundance Ranch, we found it cost about 50% more, and was much less of a true ranch experience. Sundance has the best horses, the best chef, and the best value of any of the other western ranches we've visited or researched. We've been there about 6 times now, and don't see the need to go any place else.

Room Tip: The Rodeo and Buffalo rooms are worth the upgrade charge. For a quieter night, ask for a room away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundance Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Guest Ranch

Address: 2591 Kirkland Ranch Road | Box 489, Ashcroft, British Columbia V0K 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Ashcroft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ashcroft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundance Guest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is it - this is your ranch, only four hours from Vancouver, Canada! Whether you're looking for a horseback riding holiday with a bit of adventure, a family vacation at a dude ranch where even the kids will have fun, or just some place new where you can really get away from it all, you've found it. Sundance Guest Ranch is located in the warmest, sunniest spot in Canada with sweeping, panoramic views of the wide open Thompson River Valley that are so beautiful, they're ridiculous... but that's not it. Sundance Guest Ranch is just an easy four hour drive from Vancouver, Canada, making us a perfect weekend getaway destination... but that's not it. Sundance Guest Ranch serves absolutely amazing food that goes well beyond what you might expect from a "dude ranch"... but that's not it either. Sundance Guest Ranch runs a herd of over 100 happy, well-cared-for horses with thousands of acres of spectacular and varied terrain to explore, and the horseback riding is truly wonderful, whether you're looking for relaxing, instructive or exciting... but even that's not it. When you've just gotten back from a ride, and you're sitting on the lounge deck with your favourite drink in your hand, watching the herd gallop out to the field for the night and laughing with someone you've known ten minutes like you've known them ten years... lean back, put a foot up on the railing and look around... you're close, close to knowing why we say: "The first time, it's a vacation - after that, it's coming home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Sundance Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Guest Ranch Hotel Ashcroft

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundance Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.