We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Darling buds of Somerset” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lower Severalls Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lower Severalls Farmhouse to your Saves list
Lower Severalls Farmhouse
Lower Severalls Farm, Crewkerne TA18 7NX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Crewkerne B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Darling buds of Somerset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Initial impressions were not that good - the place reminded me of the ramshackle farm that Pop Larkin scurried around in on TV a few years ago. And the road signage, crudely daubed on an old door, looked more like the sort of thing a tramp might have done, to indicate a friendly place to stay the night. Which indeed it was.

The room itself was fine. Comfortable, warm and with a good shower and a strong wi-fi signal. The breakfast was something else again. It was fit to grace the table of any 5 star establishment. Fresh orange juice, homemade jam and lemon curd, 'proper' bread toasted to a T and a woodburner glowing amber, in the old farmhouse dining room. From 'full English' with amazing quality bacon and mushrooms, to a fat fillet of Haddock with a softly poached egg burst over the top, breakfast was always wonderful.

So ignore initial impressions that you've entered a run down country garage, fill your nostrils with the sweetly scented air from the monstrous pet pig and thank your lucky stars that you found this hidden away little gem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed for three nights B&B in the ground floor stable conversion.

Lovely accommodation and the breakfasts were fantastic. We were made to feel at home and had the freedom to wander round the gardens . You must go and see Kooni the pig!!

Great value as well and would definitely recommend

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I were guests at a family wedding held at Haselbury Mill, which is a short walk away and so this was a very convenient place to stay. We stayed in the Jasmine room which is very well equipped and decorated large room. (We were sad that we didn't have more time to enjoy it as we only stayed the one night.) The Jasmine room has a cosy but modern on-suite bathroom with both walk in shower and separate bath. When we stayed they had a badminton net up in the back garden which was great fun. The cooked breakfast is prepared with good quality fresh local produce and is made to your liking and requirements. There is also a selection of quality branded cereals to choose from and we were welcomed to the table with freshly made pancakes. We certainly hope to use this B&B again, and for longer next time.

Room Tip: Access to the Jasmine room is on the first floor up a steep narrow stone staircase, so disabled acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were attending a wedding at Haselbury Mill which is just a stone's throw away, so Lower Severalls was perfect.
We stayed in the Lavender room which was very comfortable.
The breakfast was to die for! I'd read about the pancakes so requested them and was not disappointed. All organic food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed here on the recommendation of a local, whilst I was working in a nearby town, whose four star hotel is too haughty, pricey and made too many mistakes on my several stays there.

Lower Severalls Farmhouse is an absolute delight and, even for the jaded business traveller is a real tonic to return to after work, with good, free Wi-Fi (sadly necessary for all of the evening Emailing), a truly capacious room with tables to work at, a sofa to sink in to and a very comfy bed. There are many additional, thoughtful and welcome touches ('fridge in the room with fresh milk, a small kitchenette area with microwave combi oven, cafetiere with ground coffee, towelling robes, slippers etc, etc).

Mary and Mike are friendly, unobtrusive hosts who offer a personal service and a quality of offering that outstrips the many four star hotels I stay in as part of my job. If I could stay in a place like this every time, being on the road would be an absolute pleasure.

It is a bonus that there is a very good and well priced bar and restaurant (Haselbury Mill) literally just over the road.

One small point is that signage could be clearer. There's lots of it, so you know that you are in the vicinity, but clearer direction signs guiding one from the main road would be helpful (I should say that Mary did Email me a map of how to find them). This really is detail though.

Summary - a high quality, very comfortable, quiet place that exceeded my expectations and more than met my business needs. I will return (maybe for leisure next time)!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A lovely comfortable spacious room. Perfect for our stay while attending a wedding in nearby Haselbury Mill. The breakfast was delicious especially the pancakes and full English breakfast.
We would definitely recommend a stay and look forward to returning.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulberry18, Owner at Lower Severalls Farmhouse, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review. Mike did enjoy hearing about your engineering experiences in different parts of the world, they seemed very similar to his. We'll look forward to seeing you again, best wishes, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for one night for a friends wedding at the barn just over the road. When we got to the b&b we were early but they were fine with us goin in early to get ready for the wedding. We were amazed at how lovely and spacious our room was. The bed was so comfy to sleep in, we had our own little lounge area and the bathroom was so big. I have to say this is the niceset place we have stayed in and we have checked in to many a place around the world. You have to try the pancakes at breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lower Severalls Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Severalls Farmhouse

Address: Lower Severalls Farm, Crewkerne TA18 7NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Crewkerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Crewkerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful rolling hills of South Somerset, a 17th century Ham stone Grade 2 listed long house with a converted stables and loft adjacent. Rooms are apartment style, spacious and all en-suite. Breakfast in the farmhouse is varied, locally sourced and served with homemade bread and preserves. Visit Britain 4 stars, Silver and Breakfast awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Lower Severalls Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Severalls Farmhouse Crewkerne, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lower Severalls Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.