We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas Lunch 2012” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Haselbury Mill

Haselbury Mill
Haselbury Plucknett, Crewkerne, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Crewkerne
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Ilminster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Xmas Lunch 2012”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were not happy with our Christmas lunch, the barn is a lovely building but too many people, hot and stuffy, poor commercial quality food which sounded super on menu but basic in reality.
Loud music, made conversation almost impossible the whole thing was too big and this was reflected in the overall quality and standard of food. Staff were hard working but they had too many people to cater for properly. We will not be wasting our time or money here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    24
    10
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sevenoaks
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“christmas day lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Having had a wonderful meal on two previous Christmas days we were eagerly anticipating this years indulgence . The venue was beautiful, and the staff polite and attentive but there it stops. The starters were adequate I had ravioli with crab and lobster absolutely delicious but so small (one piece barely 2 inches square with four chopped up pieces of something dotted around the plate) almost an insult really. The meat as stated in their Christmas blurb was Not carved at the table but served plated up with the roast potatoes, Yorkshire pudding and congealing gravy already on the plate. It all looked the same colour and most unappetizing. The vegetables were only adequate. People who ordered monkfish did not even get any potatoes. The desserts were okay but my chocolate tart did not taste very fresh. There were far too many people and it took ages to get our food. It felt a bit like a canteen at times noisy,hot, airless and not special at all which at £65 a head was a shame. We also had to get up from our meal to order a specific drink allowing food to go cold. Very disappointing and alas an experience not to be repeated. Had I known the mass of people that would be there I never would have booked.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saintes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Christmas Day Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Do not recommend Christmas Day Lunch as we had to wait an hour for each course. The canapes were not generously given out ( I only managed to get one before they were removed); my ravioli starter was tiny and though delicious barely scraped my tongue and was starving by the time the main meal was served at 2.40 which was very good ( but not carved in front of us as stated in the menu). The staff and atmosphere were very pleasant but could not make up for the unmet expectation afforded by the brochure and the backache from sitting from 12,30-3.30.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife, my 104 year old mother and myself have always gone to the Sunday Carvery when we are in Crewkerne.. The beef and pork is simply the best I have ever eaten and that is all thanks to Laurie the Head Chef who slices your meat exactly as you like it. The vegetables are cooked to perfection and the sweets are superb. The coffee is also excellent and served with fresh cream. After that a trip to the bar where Minnie and Roger are the perfect hosts. If you are in this area we would strongly recommend a visit.
And don't forget to look out for their special events

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haselbury Plucknett, Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in ta18”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Haselbury Mill is now by far and away the best place to eat in the TA18 area. The setting is great and the greeting always welcoming

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haselbury Mill also viewed

Haselbury Plucknett, Crewkerne
 
Crewkerne, Somerset
Crewkerne, Somerset
 

Been to Haselbury Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haselbury Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.