We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend with friends” 1 of 5 stars
Review of George Hotel & Courtyard Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added George Hotel & Courtyard Restaurant to your Saves list
George Hotel & Courtyard Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Square, Crewkerne TA18 7LP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crewkerne
Aylesbury
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A weekend with friends”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had been invited to an 80th birthday celebration in the area and booked into the hotel. We were checked in by the barman, there being no-one else available. The rooms were thankfully quite separate from the bar/restaurant area. Our room was fine although the decoration was a little tired. We showered and changed and went off to part one of our weekend celebration. The mattress on our bed was very thin and the pillows had waterproof covers that crackled every time we moved. Breakfast was served in the restaurant area. I asked for a slice of dry bread with my breakfast, but was told they didn't do that! Full English breakfast was quite greasy, but edible. Fried eggs were broken, but still served. Tea and coffee were plentiful. We went off for stage two of our party and returned about 9.30pm to find that our rooms had not been serviced. The only staff available was a young lady behind the bar, who had no knowledge of the housekeeping side. A little later, a young man appeared with clean towels. Both these staff apologised. The hospitality tray was lacking for the second morning and I had used up the sanitary disposal bags. Bins weren't emptied, floor wasn't hoovered, etc. Breakfast on our second morning was extremely greasy and almost inedible. On checkout and complaining about the lack of room servicing, the housekeeper was called and said that she thought we wanted the beds left as we had turned them down to air. There was no apology and a very surly response to our request for a discount, which we did finally agree upon. There was a constant stream of staff through the restaurant on both mornings carrying mugs of tea/coffee. A highly unsatisfactory experience.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
4
5
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Not impressed with this place. Aside from all the signs telling you not to smoke or you're out, not to damage the linen or you'll pay for it etc, it was grubby and smelt damp. Maybe worth £20 a night but £80 a room is a joke for what we got.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Friendly welcome after a long drive was nice. Paid £40 B&B, so got a single room with shared bathroom. Oh so dated but very clean. Never understand faded pictures that look like the car boot unsold stock. And hand written signs...such a no no. Chest freezer in the hotel entrance bizarre as well. Had a couple of beers in the hotel bar, but the barman was having a bad day. No smile, was texting rather than look at me to serve, frequent cigarette breaks then followed by a tirade of swearing at the poor barmaid in the lamplight bar opposite. He also snapped at me for trying to catch a glimpse of the Jubilee fireworks with a glass. Awkward! Clearly not in the Jubilee spirit! He wasn't much cheerier in the morning, this was rectified by the friendly and smiley waitress. Nice cooked breakfast, limited choice on the buffet - some fresh fruit/croissant would have been nice, but overall very good. Had a good night's sleep so overall, because I had to be in Crewkerne it was all fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Good location in the centre of Crewekerne, directly opposite the Townhall, where you can park free from 6pm to 8am, only stayed one night but never saw a traffic warden! had a good nights sleep, room was clean and comfortable. Although some would say 'dated' in need of redecorating etc, this didn't cause us a problem, good supply of hot water. The access to our room(6) was via a quite steep staircase but it did have rails each side, no so easy carrying cases though. Excellent cooked breakfast! Staff were warm and welcoming. Recommend the 'Bengal Fusion' indian restaurant just over the road I like my indian food and this was some of the best i've ever sampled! Would definitely stay at the George again when revisiting our relations who live in Crewekerne!

Room Tip: We had room 6 which is a double with another single bed as well, immediately at the top of the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

we were quite worried about staying here after reading previous reviews, but found this hotel excellent. The hotel was very conveniently located with lots of parking nearby. The room was spacious, quiet, well located, very clean and comfortable.
Hotel staff were very friendly and check in and check out was very easy. The breakfast was excellent.
Would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights with some family members. Had stayed a few years ago and not enjoyed so was not looking forward to it and also after reading some of the dreadful reviews on here. Anyway, my room was a reasonable size with 2 single beds...very old fashioned with cheap furniture and a funky carpet which also went into the bathroom, (yuck), which had a awful 1970's orange bathroom suite. The whole place is in desperate need for a make over but saying that it was pretty clean and the beds were very comfortable. Tea and coffee is available in the room including fresh ground and a caffetiere which I thought was a nice touch.

My room overlooked the courtyard which was a bit noisy with people sat outside drinking, also with window open the smell of cigarettes would come into my room, if I stayed again I would ask for a room overlooking the rear.

Breakfast was very nice and lots of local produce was used which pleased me. The lovely lady serving could do with another hand though as it is rather slow and you have to keep asking to be topped up with coffee as she only filled a tiny cup with her coffee jug. Why can't you have a jug each? Also the breakfast is served only between 8.30 and 9.30 even on a Sunday which is a bit limiting.

Overall though it was not as bad as I was expecting, there are no other hotels in the Town so it is a bit of a captive audience situation. It was comfortable and relaxing but needs a lot of money spent on it to bring it up to standard. They need to clean their windows too!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We recently stayed here while on a family roots pilgrimage. I traveled with my uncle and two cousins and we loved our stay at the George. Frank and Maureen were so friendly. The food was great and a good value as well!! We booked a Bed and Breakfast package for 3 nights and it was very reasonable and the breakfasts were very good..lots to choose from and no shortage of food either. We would definitely stay here again and given the chance we will!! Thanks Frank and Maureen!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to George Hotel & Courtyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel & Courtyard Restaurant

Address: Market Square, Crewkerne TA18 7LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Crewkerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crewkerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel & Courtyard Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your George Hotel & Courtyard Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel & Courtyard Restaurant Crewkerne, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Hotel & Courtyard Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.