We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, nice food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Ambra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Ambra to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Ambra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Statale 146, n. 8, 53045 Sant'Albino, Montepulciano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sant'Albino
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mechelen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great location, nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Villa Ambra is very well located to visit the region. The rooms are good value and although the hotel is close by the main road, it is still very quiet. If you have the opportunity, eat in the hotel: their restaurant is very good. Nice italian food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    28
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanbornton, NH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

After having a very pleasant stay last year at Villa Ambra, it was an easy decision to book again for our recent trip to Italy. We used Villa Ambra as our base, as it is conveniently located to many of the beautiful and historic towns in the region. Our hosts, Marzio and his sister Catia proved again this was a great place to stay and provided wonderful hospitality. Our room was both extremely comfortable and very clean. We found it to be very quiet and with the added availability of internet, we were able to keep in touch with family at home. One of the greatest things we enjoyed was dining at the hotel each evening. Catia provided a varied menu of delicious dishes unique to the region which were prepared with fresh produce from their farm and local products from the area. We also enjoyed Marzio's wine which was quite good and very reasonably priced. If you are planning a trip to the Montepulciano area, Villa Ambra is definitely a great place to stay at a very reasonable price and its owners trat you like family.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

For the second year running, we stayed at Villa Ambra for a few nights prior to taking up a week-long booking of a nearby self-catering farmhouse. As with last year, we thoroughly enjoyed both the hotel and the owners' on-site restaurant, which is of the highest quality. We were greeted as old friends, and nothing was too much in the way of customer care. We even got served a free additional pasta course during our evening meal, because the chef thought we would like to try it. Some of the rooms do not have balconies, and others are at the side or rear, rather than the front, but for a short stay this was not a problem. Overall, a very good quality family hotel in superb countryside setting, with easy access and ample on-site parking directly off the main road.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanbornton, NH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

We were travelling from Amalfi on our way to Lucca and decided to spend a few nights in the Montepulciano area. After driving past a number of other places, we decided to take a chance on this one. It turned out to be a very pleasant surprise as we spent two nights here and enjoyed the hospitality of Marzio and and his lovely sister. The room was quite comfortable and very clean. The hotel was quiet and with its location off the main road it provided a nice country setting. We did not eat there our first night, which is regrettable as the meal we had on our second evening was quite good and certainly plentiful with seconds being offered. The service was great and you were made to feel like one of the family. Should we be in the area on future trips, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Our room was spacious with a balcony (overlooking the main road unfortunately). The bathroom was small and the shower was tiny probably one metre by one metre, challenging to say the least as I was 5 months pregnant at the time. Room was spartan but comfortable enough. Swimming pool was very nice. The food... sensational. Breakfast was usually some leftovers from the previous night and usual continental fare. But dinner was another thing again. More food than you can possibly eat. Same table every night and if you have any wine left your bottle stays with you on the table for the next night.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port St Lucie, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

We stayed three nights at Villa Ambra and can't say enough about how wonderful Marzio was. He and his staff went out of their way to be helpful, making phone calls for us, helping us to find car repair, pharmacies, directions, etc. When his English failed him, he whipped out his Italian-English dictionary and we were always able to make ourselves understood. His sister, Catia, is the chef at the hotel restaurant and it was the best meal we had during our vacation at a relatively reasonable price!! She is also warm and welcoming and went out of her way to make sure that we enjoyed our dinner. This was a complete dinner from antipasti to dessert and Catia's Teramisu was fabulous! In addition to the wonderful prepared food, there was a salad bar that included a cheese and deli meat tray, several vegetable salads and potatoes. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and was very generous - juice, cheese, deli meat, homemade yogurt and packaged yogurt, fresh fruit, pastry, croissants, cappucino, cereal and milk - everything was on a buffet table and you could take as much as you liked, except for milk and cappucino. We each ordered two capuccino every morning and there was no extra charge. The rooms were large, clean, and comfortable and there is a small elevator which meant that we did not have to carry our bags up the steps. The only negative was the shower, which was a bit small, but it was a minor inconvenience. There was plenty of free parking at the hotel and it is an easy drive into Montepulciano. We used it as a base to visit Montalcino and Orvieto as well and we were between 40-50 minutes drive through beautiful countryside from each of these places. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Food and helpfulness of the staff
  • Disliked — Size of the shower
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

Stayed just one night and I'd say I'm overall happy with our stay. Hotel was very clean, room was a bit small but otherwise OK, and had a nice bathroom, and a large terrace (without view). Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was standard, with mainly continental offerings. Swimming pool looked good from my hotel room window, but I wasn't tempted as it was a bit chilly out. Ideal for those traveling by car as it is a little out of town. Ample free parking space is a plus. Value for money all round.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and bathroom suite
  • Disliked — Style of room was a bit dated and small
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Ambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ambra

Address: Strada Statale 146, n. 8, 53045 Sant'Albino, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano > Sant'Albino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sant'Albino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Ambra 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Villa Ambra is situated in S.Albino, a few km from Montepulciano and ChiancianoTerme. It is easy to reach by A1 highway, exit at Chiusi - ChiancianoTerme, and by train at Chiusi railway station. The position of the hotel is exceptional, with the Tuscan hills on the background, and next to art, history and culture centres. The rooms are clean and comfortable. In each of them you can find a Sat-TV, telephone, private bathroom with hair-drier. Some rooms have a balcony and those without have an independent air-conditioning system. A lift, car-park and services for disabled are available. Villa Ambra is also a high quality restaurant and traditional dishes are served. The guests can find fine wines and olive oil, besides other typical products. A genuine affection to the guests and a comfortable atmosphere make the stay at Villa Ambra a very pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Ambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Sant Albino
Hotel Villa Ambra Italy/Montepulciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Ambra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.