We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Serena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Serena to your Saves list
Hotel La Serena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Alba 10, 03590 Altea, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and it was wonderful. One of the rooms had a problem with the air conditioning and the staff changed one couple to another room with no fuss. The internal architecture is a treat. The upstairs terrace had a great view over rooftops to the sea and was a wonderful place to watch the sun go down.
The hotel is away from the main hustle and bustle of the old town but thus is easily reached by a short walk (4 minutes) albeit up a steep hill. Another reviewer mentioned the lack of a TV. I cannot remember if there was a TV in the room - why spend time watching TV when there are great views and the old town to explore?
The staff were lovely and very helpful. Teresa in particular added greatly to our stay and it was a pleasure to talk with her. She was delightful and very efficient.
Breakfasts were very good with enormous choice and omelettes on request. The restaurant was superlative. On both nights we had a 5 course tasting Tapas style meal. The flavours were wonderful and it was a treat to have the chef talk with us about his food and the dishes he had produced.
Staying at La Serena was a pleasure capped by the privilege of tasting food from a chef who is creating some of the best food we have tasted in Spain.

Room Tip: If for some reason there is a problem with your room, tell the staff. They will do there best to res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laserenaaltea, Propietario at Hotel La Serena, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much Paul

Your opinions and recomendanciones have been a gift to us. You can see that I have begun to respond quickly to all our loving clients (also those who are angry with us). I did not think that was offering to answer not the image that I did not mind your opinion, and is quite the opposite. This hotel did not open for me to be happy, was opened to offer a place where Spanish and foreigners enjoy a very special environment such as Altea. We like this work, we like Mediterranean food and people we visit. We care about how you feel and the things they do enjoy.
Thanks for all the comments and for giving us the vision that a customer may have of us.

We look forward to return


Elia and Javier (chef)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    20
    6
    9
    7
See reviews for
13
80
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and found La Serena to be the ideal getaway for a relaxing break. This is a tremendous hotel experience. A relaxed and informal atmosphere throughout, from check-in to check-out, means that you get to enjoy the wonderful rooms, take in the views and the gorgeous poolside setting undisturbed. That said, help and top quality service is never far away.

The food on offer in the restaurant is really fantastic. There is great knowledge at this hotel of local foods, wines and oils. We especially liked trying locally sourced white wines and some fantastic olive oils as well.The fish recommendations are based on the quality of stock procured that day, so menu advice is offered so that you get the freshest, best produce on the plate.

The breakfast on offer was always top quality as well, with fabulous fresh fruit and homemade bread and cakes as well.

We spent a lot of time by the pool sat out on the poolside chairs and enjoyed great poolside service - when you need it. That's the key point of this hotel. You are left to your own devices, to relax and build your stay the way you want it to be. If and when you need something, such as a beer by the pool or a quick bite to eat, then the staff and owners are always around to help out.

When out and about in Altea and the surrounding areas, again the staff and owners at La Serena are very well clued-up about nearby beaches, great places to eat in the town as well as suggestions for day-trips etc.

Overall then, a fantastic hotel to stay at. Great staff, a wonderful balance achieved to how they help guests enjoy their stay, wonderful food and a really cracking set-up with well-designed rooms thoroughly clean throughout and a gorgeous pool to relax next to.

We could not recommend this place any higher, and look forward to calling in again one day.

Thanks to all at La Serena for a great stay at your lovely hotel, saludos y abrazos a todos.

Michael & Sarah

Room Tip: We took an upstairs room with a balcony. Great views to the sea, the pool below and the old town on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laserenaaltea, Propietario at Hotel La Serena, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Many, many, thank you very much Michael and Sarah

It's all so easy with people who do not come with an idea left closed advise. Life is full of big brands that give the same thing as you are and you need to be what you need. There are times when you just need silence, and here it is, sometimes you want some advice on the area, and you accept a tip, and others just a little attention and we try to give it. Nice to have people traveling to enjoy the good things we have in Altea and Spain, something unique that touches your heart only if you can hear this.

We will be waiting for you to continue taking care of

Elia and Javier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Upon arrival very casual greeting from staff and this atmosphere continued through the stay. Any request was immediately and effectively dealt with, but the staff stay out of your way and will not disturb you. Feels like staying at a friends house with maid service as needed.

Minor maintenance issues indicate a need to freshen the facilities, however none of these dampened our stay. Excellent location within walking distance to beaches, train service to other towns, shopping and dining.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laserenaaltea, Propietario at Hotel La Serena, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks Ron

We still remember the moments that we provided in the pieno. Sometimes we do not want our guests leave

With best wishes from Spain


Elia Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel is in a great location and looks very stylish, however like a good handful of the other reviewers, found the hotel and service lacking. The welcome was poor - on arrival we were simply handed a key. For half of our stay there was no hot water and the air conditioning in our room was not working. The paint work was shabby and wifi only available in one small room within the hotel. We would have loved to have tried the amazing food described by others, however after several requests gave up. Although only 10 rooms, the hotel lacks the personal touch - and the owners made no attempt to introduce themselves or solve any issues, leaving all communication to their staff.

All show, would not say this was value for money or plan another trip here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laserenaaltea, Propietario at Hotel La Serena, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay and also would like to ask apologize for the inconvenience .
 Normally, when someone arrives at the hotel , we asked them if they need anything and if you know the area. In this case , the person who answered spoke very little English and so that night I put a note in his room, along with a bottle of champagne and sweet , with my personal phone and telling them that if they needed anything , will not hesitate to ask . The schedule of a hotel is long and sometimes not coincimos with clients in the areas.
On the subject of air conditioning , is the first I have heard of it. Sometimes we have minor problems when the client 's comments, we solve them quickly. Sorry I could not fix it at that time.

Certainly , the wifi signal is very faint in the old town and continue looking for a solution to this problem as we are aware that today is very important. So far we have only managed to improve the signal cable connecting directly .

Thanks again for your comments that help us be better


Elia Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have just returned from a very relaxing break at La Serena. The hotel is in a lovely quiet position and is near the old town and the beach. The old town comes to life at night and is a great people watching place. Food at La Serena was superb and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Top 10 room well worth the extra with large terrace and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laserenaaltea, Gerente at Hotel La Serena, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.

delighted that you have enjoyed your stay in Spain. I would add that Bellaguarda neighborhood, which is La Serena, is the oldest area of ​​Altea, also the most unknown and there is no public estableciento the area allowing us to enjoy the silence and the light of Altea without the disadvantages of tourist noise but only 5 minutes walk from the most happening area. And we agree with you, it's a delight to see people walk ...

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We tasked our friends who we were going with for a few days to find 'somewhere' on the Costa Blanca. It was their Ruby Wedding. And they came up with this 10 bedroom gem. Other friends were a bit sniffy about the location. ('It looks a bit near Benidorm').

Elia and her husband run the show. And it is a mark of how brilliant everything was that we ate in on three of the four nights.She delighted in doing grub for my husband who is a strict veggie. The food was as good and often better than a top class restaurant. A must for people who like 'quirky' non chain hotels.

Our only niggle was that while the bill was presented to us in Euros it was converted to Sterling, without any mention to us, by the time we paid by credit card.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laserenaaltea, Propietario at Hotel La Serena, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.

Benidorm is unique in Spain. and as unique, not anything else around. It is much more common to find villages like Altea and hotels like ours.

We apologize for charging them without telling sterling, the exchange rate was better in pounds but we have taken note of this and preguntamso customer. It is the first that takes a surprise to see that this is cheaper but deberíamso have asked them as we do now

Kind regards

Elia Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

La Serena, nestled into the gorgeous whitewash of old Altea, is a fantastic experience. A thoughtfully designed, comfortable hotel; food for the soul, largely locally sourced and the most generous hospitable welcome imaginable. In particular, our 2 girls were wonderfully catered for (fresh pasta made for Little Miss Fussy). A must visit.

Room Tip: The extra for a sea view is well wroth the expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laserenaaltea, Propietario at Hotel La Serena, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much Ben

You and your family are among those customers who leave more than you take: you are a lovely family and it was a pleasure that we chose to spend a few days relaxing with us.
We will be happy to teach your child to make bread on your next visit.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel La Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Serena

Address: Calle Alba 10, 03590 Altea, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Altea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Serena 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2005 we opened La Serena Altea, hoping to welcome travelers with our hospitality , show them the beauty of the Mediterranean and help them to discover all the little secrets and the gastronomic identity of this area. Today we can say that we have become one of the most appreciated hotels in the Costa Blanca, especially due to our delicious food and personal care for our guests . The whole team of La Serena, with Elia Albert as hostess, will warmly welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Serena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.