We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Style, but no substance” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Serena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Serena to your Saves list
Hotel La Serena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Alba 10, 03590 Altea, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Altea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“All Style, but no substance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel is in a great location and looks very stylish, however like a good handful of the other reviewers, found the hotel and service lacking. The welcome was poor - on arrival we were simply handed a key. For half of our stay there was no hot water and the air conditioning in our room was not working. The paint work was shabby and wifi only available in one small room within the hotel. We would have loved to have tried the amazing food described by others, however after several requests gave up. Although only 10 rooms, the hotel lacks the personal touch - and the owners made no attempt to introduce themselves or solve any issues, leaving all communication to their staff.

All show, would not say this was value for money or plan another trip here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laserenaaltea, Propietario at Hotel La Serena, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay and also would like to ask apologize for the inconvenience .
 Normally, when someone arrives at the hotel , we asked them if they need anything and if you know the area. In this case , the person who answered spoke very little English and so that night I put a note in his room, along with a bottle of champagne and sweet , with my personal phone and telling them that if they needed anything , will not hesitate to ask . The schedule of a hotel is long and sometimes not coincimos with clients in the areas.
On the subject of air conditioning , is the first I have heard of it. Sometimes we have minor problems when the client 's comments, we solve them quickly. Sorry I could not fix it at that time.

Certainly , the wifi signal is very faint in the old town and continue looking for a solution to this problem as we are aware that today is very important. So far we have only managed to improve the signal cable connecting directly .

Thanks again for your comments that help us be better


Elia Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    19
    5
    9
    7
See reviews for
12
78
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have just returned from a very relaxing break at La Serena. The hotel is in a lovely quiet position and is near the old town and the beach. The old town comes to life at night and is a great people watching place. Food at La Serena was superb and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Top 10 room well worth the extra with large terrace and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laserenaaltea, Gerente at Hotel La Serena, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.

delighted that you have enjoyed your stay in Spain. I would add that Bellaguarda neighborhood, which is La Serena, is the oldest area of ​​Altea, also the most unknown and there is no public estableciento the area allowing us to enjoy the silence and the light of Altea without the disadvantages of tourist noise but only 5 minutes walk from the most happening area. And we agree with you, it's a delight to see people walk ...

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We tasked our friends who we were going with for a few days to find 'somewhere' on the Costa Blanca. It was their Ruby Wedding. And they came up with this 10 bedroom gem. Other friends were a bit sniffy about the location. ('It looks a bit near Benidorm').

Elia and her husband run the show. And it is a mark of how brilliant everything was that we ate in on three of the four nights.She delighted in doing grub for my husband who is a strict veggie. The food was as good and often better than a top class restaurant. A must for people who like 'quirky' non chain hotels.

Our only niggle was that while the bill was presented to us in Euros it was converted to Sterling, without any mention to us, by the time we paid by credit card.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laserenaaltea, Propietario at Hotel La Serena, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.

Benidorm is unique in Spain. and as unique, not anything else around. It is much more common to find villages like Altea and hotels like ours.

We apologize for charging them without telling sterling, the exchange rate was better in pounds but we have taken note of this and preguntamso customer. It is the first that takes a surprise to see that this is cheaper but deberíamso have asked them as we do now

Kind regards

Elia Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

La Serena, nestled into the gorgeous whitewash of old Altea, is a fantastic experience. A thoughtfully designed, comfortable hotel; food for the soul, largely locally sourced and the most generous hospitable welcome imaginable. In particular, our 2 girls were wonderfully catered for (fresh pasta made for Little Miss Fussy). A must visit.

Room Tip: The extra for a sea view is well wroth the expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laserenaaltea, Propietario at Hotel La Serena, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much Ben

You and your family are among those customers who leave more than you take: you are a lovely family and it was a pleasure that we chose to spend a few days relaxing with us.
We will be happy to teach your child to make bread on your next visit.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had a brilliant stay there just after new years. The owners are very kind and helpful and great cooks! You should try the restaurant if you stay. An excellent and relaxing stay to escape the daily grind. Location is perfect, as next to the old town and if you're lucky you get a room with sea view.
Highly recommended, if you want to spend a few days in Altea

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laserenaaltea, Gerente at Hotel La Serena, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. Very representative of what we want to convey to our clients: well located, quiet and aware of what our customers may need. That's how we first saw this place and we love it.




Again, thank you very much

Elia Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Ended up here enroute to the mountains it's not really advertised as a place for children but we were made extremely welcome - especially as we were travelling with a child in a wheelchair. We had rooms at the top of the hotel, including one overlooking the sea with a wonderful balcony for relaxing in the evening. The rooms are basic but wonderfully dark with the shutters and an extremely efficient air con system – we had the best night’s sleep of our entire holiday here. An added bonus for us was no TV. Breakfast was an organic delight with a wonderful array of food - the children loved the terrace and the swimming pool was perfect with its shallow area. Nothing was too much trouble and the freshly baked cookies in the afternoons were delicious. Unfortunately, the restaurant was not open but we were told by several people how good it was. The location was not ideal for pushing a wheelchair up and down the very steep hills but it was so worth it for the views and ambience. Parking under the hotel meant it was very easy to get the wheelchair in and out. Thank you.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the bay are wonderful for their sea view and the stars at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laserenaaltea, Propietario at Hotel La Serena, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.

We have difficulty writing in English, but today we have taken a little time to thank everyone for their comments. Especially when we visit other countries and we can show you something from our hospitality. Your children are wonderful and you are very courageous to come to places like Altea, full of hills. Life sometimes has some difficulty but everything is easy if you will.


Again, thank you very much


Elia Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Six years ago we first met the art of Elias cooking at Cocoroco in Hotel Serena.
Now it is impossible to visit Altea without at least one 5-dish meal served by Elia and her crew.
From your first step in the restaurant you are taken on a gourmets dreamtravel. Tradition and quisine nouveau in a symbiosis that we think is unique. Every time we feel as if Elia has been waiting for our visit, always eager to present a totally new dish or an unexpected twist of an old favorite.
Elia! Please keep that spirit and may the food be with you.
See you soon!

Love from
Eva & Göran Tell

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laserenaaltea, Propietario at Hotel La Serena, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much Eva and Goran

We believe that the best way to please our customers, we enjoy what we do and will continue to think so.

See you soon

Elia and Javier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Serena

Address: Calle Alba 10, 03590 Altea, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Altea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Serena 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2005 we opened La Serena Altea, hoping to welcome travelers with our hospitality , show them the beauty of the Mediterranean and help them to discover all the little secrets and the gastronomic identity of this area. Today we can say that we have become one of the most appreciated hotels in the Costa Blanca, especially due to our delicious food and personal care for our guests . The whole team of La Serena, with Elia Albert as hostess, will warmly welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel La Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Serena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.